We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridgeway Hotel Lusaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
“Ridgeway Hotel Lusaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

A very pleasant stay, made even better by the warm and friendly hotel staff. The pond in the breakfast room/restaurant with bright yellow birds flying back and forth to their nests during breakfast is well worth the experience. Clean, comfortable, good connectivity and a nice, tranquil atmosphere all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    187
    50
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
30
17
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic Of The Congo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I am very satisfied with the service I received during my stay at the Southern Sun Hotel Lusaka. The room was spotless: clean, well aired, welcoming.
The staff was very helpful, attentive and polite.
In general, I had a very pleasant stay at the Southern Sun Hotel Lusaka.
Albert T.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while on business more than once. It is comfortable, serves good food, offers a good ambiance, and the weekly sessions where guests get together offer a huge networking opportunities and a different form of dining. There is a community of business travellers during the week and the place can be very busy. The staff is helpful and organised a shuttle to take us to the airport in the morning, and were willing to go the extra mile. I would stay here again. It is closer to a number of companies, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwaziQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed here when it was the Holiday Inn about 5 years ago (i'm just getting round to writing some reviews!). The place is well located, just on the outskirts of the city, it used to have an Irish themed bar attached, but I think this has moved to Woodlands now. The rooms were spacious, clean and the staff were very friendly. There always used to be a small croc in the water pond near the reception which was quirky.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeesterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed at the Ridgeway again last week on business and had a good stay.

The rooms appear to have all been renovated and the bar has also seen a makeover since I was there last. The staff are as pleasant and helpful as previous and the food buffet or a la carte was of a good standard - not always imaginative but good.

The hotel is still the same design as before and there are a new newcomers to Lusaka that may have a few nearer amenities but the Southern Sun Ridgeway delivers consistently which is why I have always stayed there and will probably do so next time.

One negative is the airport shuttle - insist that they reconfirm that it is going to operate especially on late arrivals!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitwe
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I could not enjoy my sleep because of mosquitoes. Need to be spraying the rooms and also provide mosquito repellent. Secondly, the locking system for room 219 needs attention otherwise leaving it in this state will be very venerable and compromise on the security of customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Well established garden with many old trees surrounding.Very centrally positioned and close to main amenities.Very attractive pool area with beautiful grass surroundings.Excellent food .Very peaceful athmosphere and bar

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the entrance as it is quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lusaka Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
3.7 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Ridgeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Property: Southern Sun Ridgeway
Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing