We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much road noise, but otherwise good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy's Creations Lodge
Ranked #5 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

As others have mentioned, the road noise is the outstanding memory of my night at Sandy's Lodge. And you absolutely need a driver or car because it is outside of the city on a road leading out of town. Now, with that said, I found the infrastructure of the hotel very well maintained and charming. The grounds were extremely well-maintained and beautiful The rooms were very large and each is its own lodge with a thatched roof and timber beams. It is that thatched roof which isn't soundproof, and the road noise only abated after midnight, but never went away. The pool is beautiful and you can have drinks outside with that view. I ate three meals at the restauran and all were tasty. I had been warned about slow service, but did not find that to be the case. I will probably stay again since I have business on that side of Lusaka and traffic through the city adds real time to any trip from the airport side.

Room Tip: A poolside room gives you a chance to sit on your porch and enjoy the evening.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TAN31_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Sandy's Creations Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at Sandy's for a work conference, which is probably the only reason I would stay there given its inconvenient location for anyone without a car. That said, I found the rooms to be comfortable and the landscaping--especially around the pool--to be relaxing. The food was uninspiring, which is a challenge because there are no other options in the immediate area. The lunch at the conference center however was much better than the breakfast and dinner options at the lodge's restaurant.

We needed sufficiently large green space for our conference, so Sandy's definitely was a good fit for that. I enjoyed my four days there, but if I was there on personal travel I would have avoided it and stayed closer into the city.

Room Tip: As others have said, try to get a cabin as far away from the main road as possible. Mine was fairly...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrTravelsAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Far away from Lusaka! Rooms close to the main road and too much noise in the evening and night from 18 wheelers. Price is fine. But avoid eating at this place. Dinner is poor, over-priced and service is bad. Eat somewhere else at all costs. About Breakfast?? Do not even bother to go for Breakfast. For the first time in all my travels around the world, you could not eat anything at breakfast; it was a mess and shameful to call it breakfast.

The lodge is mainly used by large groups of people on conferences, so if you are looking for a bunch of conference goers who got on a free trip out of the office for a conference then you have come to the right place. Its better to pay more and stay in a real lodge or Hotel in Central Lusaka.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nairobi_KenyaAspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The grounds and chalets are truly charming.... Clean and modern, well-appointed rooms. Each accommodation is an individual chalet with authentic thatched roof (lots of character!). Had good electricity and Internet. There are two negatives: 1) the food is blah and 2) thatched roofs are not soundproof! Ask for a chalet away from the busy road and hope your neighbor doesn't blare the TV. It's a beautiful venue for a short conference or wedding, but there's no reason to stay more than a couple of nights. Also, it's worth noting this lodge is FAR from the airport, if that's a consideration.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet away from the road. You'll still hear the continuous flow of trucks, but a bit...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahGrapesArney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I've been there in Aug 2011. It looks like to be a very brand new lodge, part of a more ambitious project including Sandy's creation gardening, conferencing, etc. All the rooms and public areas are very well built upo with all up-market facilities available. All room accessories and facilities work properly, although the room service is a bit stuffy. swimming pool is huge and put in a nice spot just outside the restaurant. Restaurant and service are not at top altough food is fairly good. Srious drawback is the vicinity with the highway which makes the rooms very noisy: altough windows frames are very solid and widows are double-layers, the thatch implies all the noise from the road enters the room. By the way, it's a good top market alternative in Lusaka, albeit a bit far from the downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudygiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
0.9 mi away
Twangale Park Lodge
Twangale Park Lodge
#28 of 32 in Lusaka
3 reviews
7.0 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
10.8 mi away
Chamba Valley Exotic Hotel
6.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy's Creations Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy's Creations Lodge

Address: 31 / 32 Farm 4300, Kafue Road | Lilayi, Chilanga, Lusaka 10100, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range: $74 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandy's Creations Resort is one of Zambia's most luxurious attractions. Based in the heart of our famous, beautifully landscaped gardens, we offer a garden centre, cafe, shops and offices, conference and entertainment venues, lodge and apartments, a restaurant and bar. Our Resort is only 11.3 km away from the Lusaka central business district (CBD). Sandy's Lodge features free WiFi, free private parking is available on site, a year-round outdoor pool. Guests can enjoy a meal at the on-site restaurant, followed by a drink at the bar. Guests can enjoy various activities in the area, including golf, horseback riding, visiting the local baby elephant orphanage.. to name a few attractions! The nearest airport is Lusaka Airport, 29 km from Sandy's Creations Resort. Priding ourselves on our fantastic standards, Sandy's Creations Resort strives to create an environment where people share joyous moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandy's Creations Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing