We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality, makes you feel at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalulu Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalulu Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #27 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
Kampen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great hospitality, makes you feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a very good stay at Kalulu. Have been there for 4 times within 3 weeks, each time one night. We had a private room wich was very clean, with musquito net, we slept very well. The compound with its cosy and sociable bar and with its various fruittrees and its swimmingpool was wonderful. The locality of Kalulu Backpackers hostels was very convenient to us, close to Great East Road (coming from the airport) and close to Cairo Road and not far from the InterCity bus station. The kindness and hospitality and service by the owners was great. They also helped us very well in arranging taxi's, also from and to the airport. In short: a very good stay, very recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
9
21
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed here and at Lusaka, and preferred Kalulu. Neither are terrific, but Kalulu has a much, much better kitchen, common areas, and showers/sink areas. However, the food is probably better at Lusaka BP- I never saw anyone eating the restaurant food at Kalulu, no one was around at breakfast even though they supposedly served breakfast, and the menu is quite limited.

The double room was nice and airy and came with a fan. Would stay here over any of the other backpackers in Lusaka though nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Excellent bakpackers, the best Ive stayed in whilst travelling throughout africa. Very friendly owners Clio and Shawn do everything to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Great price for camping and brilliant facilities (especially the kitchen) means a great value stay for backpackers. A true little retreat in a busy hectic Lusaka!! Only wish every city had a backpackers like this one - we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

After hopping from one hostel to the next in Lusaka, I knew I had found my base camp the minute I cycled into Kalulu Backpackers. It's exactly what a long term traveler needs: the prices are fair, the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and the wifi reaches to the garden pool :) The best thing about Kalulu however is that it doesn't feel like a tourist trap. Unlike the other backpackers, the owners of Kalulu are some of the most accommodating people you will meet and on weekends the bar/restaurant is always a jolly mix of friendly locals, travelers, and the occasional curious rabbit...thanks for getting it right! ;)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balthazar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Kalulu was a very nice little haven in the middle of the city. Close to essential parts of the city for travellers, it still gives you a serene and peaceful feeling, with a pool to dip in during the hottest parts of the day and plenty of places to lounge among the rabbits. Very nice staff. Thank you for a pleasant stay in Lusaka Kalulu!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liemertje S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Cleo (from Ireland) and her husband Sean (from Zambia) run this friendly backpacker place. All the essentials (kitchen, pool, nice clean rooms or a lawn to set up your tent) are there, plus a bar and pool table. Honest and democratic prices. Kind staff help you when needed. We stayed there with Mom, Dad and our 3 adult children. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Me (Linda from Holland) and my boyfriend (Joe from Zambia) stayed in Kalulu Backpackers from november 28th, till december 1st 2011.
We enjoyed this nice new goodlooking hostel with very kind staff.
We could really relax en feel at home here...

Hostel opened september this year, so still a bit under construction, but they are improving every day and definitely become a really great place to stay in Lusaka!

Kalulu has also a swimmingpool and a nice bar. Lies in a quiet street, but It´s also close to the big busstation and a shoppingcentre. You should go there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 78Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 31 in Lusaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lusaka Backpackers
Lusaka Backpackers
#6 of 96 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Natwange Backpackers
Natwange Backpackers
#2 of 96 in Lusaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
Wanderers Lodge Lusaka
#10 of 96 in Lusaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalulu Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalulu Backpackers Hostel

Property: Kalulu Backpackers Hostel
Address: 20 Broads Road | Fairview, Lusaka, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and secure, Kalulu Backpackers Hostel is perfectly located close to the bus and rail stations, two of Lusaka’s largest shopping malls, and the city centre. With a mixture of dorm beds, private rooms, and camping, we have accommodation to suit everyone. You can enjoy a delicious meal from our cafe, or cook up a feast yourself in our fully equipped communal kitchen. Relax by the pool, enjoy a drink at our fully stocked bar, or take some time to explore the sights and sounds of Lusaka. Our experienced staff can advise you on any travel queries and can help book tours or activities you may want to sample while visiting Zambia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kalulu Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing