We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Choc Chilli Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gerritz - CLOSED

Gerritz
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: Phone +260-97856040; Fax +260-255682 email: gerritz@microlink.zm
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Choc Chilli Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This restaurant is in the heart of Lusaka, yet feels like you're out in the middle of nowhere with its tranquil setting. Its very peaceful.
I only had their chocolate chilli steak, which was one of the most amazing dishes I have ever had.
The staff were very friendly and the owners shared a schnapps with us at the end of the evening, really providing that home away from home feeling.
It was a pity to only have found this place on my last day in Zambia, but it has not been forgotten!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanineC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Smecht Gut!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Great and unique. Gerritz himself is a treasure and so are his dogs. Great get away spot that serves authentic German food. The second time you go they know you. Closed on Saturdays to public as this is a big catering spot. A little off the beaten path so make sure you go with someone who has been or make sure the taxi driver knows the spot. Great spot and a unique experience in Lusaka.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Acieu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wunderbar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A taste of Germany in a relaxing atmosphere. Love the dogs who are part of the hosting crew. Great life stories from the owners. Food is great and service was as you like it. Good to hear a good German accent and the language spoken all around you.

Helpful?
Thank Acieu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not my first visit, and certainly not my last.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

There is a diet section to the menu: my selection was Canadian salmon with vegetables. Salmon was tasty, vegetables turned out to be sliced apple, yellow and red peppers, uncooked with tahini sauce.

Nice light meal.

Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Gerritz and Siri are great people and serve very good food. I have often eaten here and often use their catering service for parties or functions. they do it all and well.

The place is unique, charming and not your typical high end place. Un pretentious but great. The host couple are great, lovely people with big hearts. Pony tail (that's him) and red hair (her).

you can come for business, friends meeting, with kids.. all welcome and accomodated. we have often used it for watching football on his big screen (which you'll not notice until then).

did i mention that the food is nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sievers2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerritz also viewed

Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing