We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fajitas, good value for your money”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Revolucion Mexican Bar and Grill
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Revolucion is owned by a local NGO that supports under-priveleged youths. The landscaped gardens provide a peaceful haven in Lusaka, for evening cocktails or a light lunch. In the evenings the vibrant bar comes alive with salsa classes on a Thurs and happy hour all week 5-7pm. Mexican food is handmade everyday, even the tortillas and salsa and the bar has a fantastic stock of imported spirits or local beer.
Restaurant details
Description: Revolucion is owned by a local NGO that supports under-priveleged youths. The landscaped gardens provide a peaceful haven in Lusaka, for evening cocktails or a light lunch. In the evenings the vibrant bar comes alive with salsa classes on a Thurs and happy hour all week 5-7pm. Mexican food is handmade everyday, even the tortillas and salsa and the bar has a fantastic stock of imported spirits or local beer.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
275 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Excellent fajitas, good value for your money”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The restaurant is about 5 minutes from Arcades shopping center when going by car. One can sit outside under a big tree, or under a roofed area with 2 sides open, or inside near the bar. The kitchen is open so you may watch how your dish is prepared. Until mid 2011 the review ratings were excellent and thereafter the ratings went down. So when I went there for the first time in March 2012, I was a bit apprehensive but the food I ordered was excellent, fajitas, very succulent pieces of chicken served with freshly prepared tortillas, beans, tomato salad and rice (I didn't like the rice, probably spoiled by the high quality Thai rice). When I returned 1 week later with a colleague the dishes we ordered tasted excellent again. So I inquired what had happened and was told that the Mexican owner had personal problems and neglected the restaurant which in turn affected the staff and the quality of food. In my opinion the new manager succeeded in enforcing good cooking again. The portions are generous, the prices are average. Service is efficient and friendly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilovolt500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well - been there”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Hmm - nothing much to say - food fine and good prices though

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mikaelbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mexico in Lusaka”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Very popular when first opened but sadly now nothing special. Situated in the residential area of Roma which is not the most convenient location

Helpful?
Thank PeteLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Level Contributor
142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“HOLA - Mexico in Africa!”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Great fun, no Coronas, but make do with Jose C. And Mosi.
Good menu, fun atmosphere.

"Like" on Facebook for free shot of Tequila (but not Patron!)

Bar is training establishment for local church, staff very affable, bright, responsive.

Food is more tex-mex than Mexico city, but we are in central africa, amazing it is here at all. Encourage them!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank igbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing too special”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We visited this restaurant in our first night in Lusaka following a friend’s recommendation. The food was nothing special and the drinks were somewhat overpriced. Overall a disappointing dining experience

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Revolucion Mexican Bar and Grill also viewed

Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing