We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wayside Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Taj Pamodzi Hotel(Lusaka)
$197
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$149
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$222
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$180
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latitude 15(Lusaka)
$189
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$127
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$143
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
38
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecret gardensamosasan oasismosquito netair conpool areabeverleynicholasguesthousetesstaxizambiaairportcbd
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 49 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had to stay in Lusaka for a week for work. I read a previous Trip Advisor review and chose the Wayside Guest House. It was brilliant! Beverley was very welcoming and helpful. The bungalow was lovely with good internet reception and facilities including my own kitchen and fridge. The ground were so beautiful if was so relaxing after the dreadful sights of poverty in the city. The food was good - thank you chef Nicholas. It all helped me do my work well. Thank you Beverley. I'd always stay there again if I needed to visit Lusaka.

Room Tip: All bungalows are lovely, some have good internet reception, all are in beautiful surroundings.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This guesthouse is a heaven of peace in busy Lusaka. As soon as you enter the grounds you are surrounded by beautiful trees en flowering shrubs.
Rooms are very spacious with a fine bathroom and a separate room with closet and writing table. In front of the room is a covered terrace with table and chairs.
The welcome is personal and friendly. The extensive gardens are a delight and the pride of the owner, more a park! There is a beautiful swimming pool.
Upon request meals (other than breakfast) will be prepared for you.
We stayed one night following our visit of Kafue National Park and felt sorry that we had to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pensionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We arrived late morning and although Wayside offers bed and breakfast we were immediately offered snacks and made to feel really welcome. The setting is on an old farm with extensive grounds that have been landscaped to create a real oasis in the city. Everything is geared to making guests feel like personal visitors.

Room Tip: All rooms open on to the gardens
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I loved the Wayside Guest House. It was a good value and had everything a business traveler needs - wireless internet, safe, good service, great breakfast, easy communication with manager, airport transfer with sign, etc. The rooms are not fancy but the bed is comfortable and the mosquito net is very big and well placed, so you're not sleeping up against the net at night. The gardens are beautiful - bring a swim suit, there's a nice little pool too. It's not in the city center but taxi into town is 15-20 minutes so why not enjoy a quiet beautiful location instead of the noisy business district.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfilose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Looks very ordinary from the outside, and along a questionable road, but from the moment you enter the gates, we knew we'd found a jewel. The rooms were spotless, well screened, tastefully and simply decorated and provided complimentary coffee/tea/cookies. Spacious verandah, and lovely gardens to wander-make sure you check out the "secret garden" as well!.Pool area and gazebos well kept and very inviting. We stayed there several times over a 2-3 week period, had a few last-minute requests and changes , and the staff were most accommodating and helpful in everything- they even ordered us great Pizza one night!.

Breakfast, included with the room served in a small and cheerful dining room, was delicious, and cooked to order by Nicholas.

Have stayed in some of the larger hotels in Lusaka, which are adequate- the Wayside is by far a better choice, a home away from home, and a great place to relax for a few days as you prepare for your other adventures in Zambia.

Also think it would be a great place for a single traveler- very safe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews