We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pioneer Lodge & Camp
Nearby Hotels
$206
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$151
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$131
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$129
$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$144
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$143
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latitude 15(Lusaka)
$187
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
roomertravel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
54
61
18
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
61
18
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportsteak and chipsperfect stopoverdry seasontrue home from homegreat east roadpeaceful havenstop oversgreat stopbefore flying homeovernight stopown transportthe location is perfectexchange rateexcellent place to stayother guestsnext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 139 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Second time we've visited this place. We started our holidays (round trip here) in a chalet, then moved the next day to camp on their campsite, after delivery of a rented Landrover. Then we continued our holidays elsewhere, and after a month, we ended our trip at the same place again.
Pioneer Camp is not the conventional safari camp destination, and some people might arrive with the wrong expectations.
We had arranged a pickup from a late flight, so their driver took us into the dark and bumpy road to reach the camp. We knew this road from previous visit, but for newcomers arriving in the dark, this might feel a little uncomfortable.
The chalets vary largely in quality, the ones closer to the entrance are the older ones, while newer ones have been build further down the garden. We slept one night in Pioneer Chalet, an older type chalet, which was very basic and chilly that time of year. But all we needed was a decent bed after a long flight, so it was adequate for what we needed.
Next day we moved to the campsite with plenty of space on the lawns, after they delivered the rental car to us in the morning. Pioneer Camp is an agent for Bushlore rental company (based in S.A.), and the staff of Pioneer Camp helped us out fixing an insurance issue, as well as fixing some small defects of our car. This is where Pioneer Camp stands out in our opinion: very helpfull and knowledgeable staff!
The bar and dining area have a relaxed atmosphere, with visitor types ranging from backpackers to visitors with large cars. We felt comfortable.
We also tried steak for dinner, which was very good (and we loved the company of their three camp dogs, sitting next to our table on the outside terrace).
Finally, we found the owner helpfull and friendly.
Summarizing, we found this a quiet place close to airport and city, with no frills or luxury, but excellent staff. Ideal to start or finish your holidays. For somewhat longer stays we would advise to look elsewhere because of the long and bumpy entrance road.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frank_Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I would echo everything the previous reviewer said. It is a 25 minute drive from the airport, much of it on very unpleasant extremely bumpy road. The chalets described as luxury are anything but. Granted they are large, but are they are very run down, and depressing. They seem expensive for what they are. The idea that this place is out in the country sounded nice, but in fact there is nothing attractive about the grounds.

The included food consisted of a choice of four dishes, no starter or dessert, and was not very appetising.

We would recommend trying somewhere else, even it's just for an overnight stay on the way home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I know Lusaka isn't cheap, and this is no exception - particularly for what you get. "Luxury" chalets are cement floored rooms/bathrooms with no doors to private areas. Everything very old. Quite a drive in/out and charges for this very high considering the type of transport provided and where you are. Try in Lusaka proper where you will get regular hot water and a choice of (decent) food.

Room Tip: There are no 'good' rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed 1 night in June 2012 after a safari holiday in Zambia - used it as an overnight stay prior to flight home early the next day.
Variety of accommodation on offer from camping pitches to luxury chalets - we stayed in the latter which was very comfortable. Friendly and helpful owner. Pickups to & from airport worked seamlessly. The advantage is that you don't have to brave the chaotic Lusaka city centre traffic to get to the airport since Pioneer camp is a short distance out of town. Food limited but cheap and edible. Nice relaxed bar area and the whole camp is secure and fenced.
Would definitely use it again for the same reasons stated above.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We camped at Pioneer Camp a few days ago, the second time we have done so. It's a good place to spend the night, although there is not much reason to linger. Camping is pretty cheap (although not as cheap as advertised on the website!), while rooms are not. Food is excellent, but pricey (roughly USD9 for spaghetti and USD16 for a large steak). Wifi is available, but was so slow when we were there that it was hardly worth the effort. Showers are very warm if not quite hot, and the pressure is good, but as other reviewers have noted the bathrooms are very dark. All in all it is a solid, decent place to stay, although it could use a bit of freshness and sprucing up. We also had more mosquitoes around the bar/lounge area (starting as early as 2:30pm) than anywhere else we have been in Africa in the past year and a half. They were literally swarming around the place! But we don't regret staying there, and the food was very tasty indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews