We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for a low quality hotel”

The Courtyard Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #24 of 51 Lusaka B&B and Inns
Lusaka, Zambia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive for a low quality hotel”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I paid 150 US$ per night, no functioning restaurant (it is there but there's no food), breakfast is minimal (some cereal and cooked breakfast, but no fruits, juices etc.), I felt unsafe (room are easily accessible from two sides and located on the ground floor), in my room half of the lights didn't work, the safe was not secured, the water kettle didn't work and my shower barely allowed me to wash my hair with warm water. I left for intercontinental which is half the price and 20times the service. It's a wonder this hotel has any quests at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed one night here and expected more for the star rating and price. No bar, food poor, room just ok and staff disinterested. We were told we could meet with the Manager at 07.00am and when we asked for her when we checked out we were told she is not at work until 09.00am. The place is secure and night watchman helpful.
Over priced and disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Located in the Capital at Lusaka . Its at best a 3 star property but as expensive as a 5 Star . I understand this is the norm in Zambia. The rooms are large , opens onto the courtyard . View is good with green all around but then Lusaka is a green city .

The hotel staff are friendly , the hotel has at most 25-30 rooms. The restaurant is on first floor and access is through the lobby via a circular staircase- most inconvenient . Though the hotel has all the amenities the quality of construction is poor . The location of hotel is not good , there is nothing on either side of the hotel. If you do not have a transport you cannot move out and there is only "wilderness" on both sides of the hotel. Lusaka is like an overgrown village but lovely . I stayed there for a week but since I was without transport I was "stuck" at the hotel and immobile. I had to make do with the hotel food , which was not quite to my liking . Breakfast is a buffet but with limited options . They did not even have butter on breakfast table - they tried to pass of a Vegetable Oil concoction (Brand name of Sprock) as butter .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiranNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lusaka hotels

Pietermaritzburg, KZN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spending three nights in this hotel was a terrible nightmare! Mosquitos in the room were unbeatable, even after they sprayed with insecticide! The breakfast was more of a horror morning exercise! Walking up the weak staircase to the breakfast place was as unpleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrinceCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

we reached the hotel at midnight and all the lights were off as they claimed that they dont want to be exposed to the people outside the hotel, as for the room :( the A/C is useless and no variety in TV channels, the bathrooms are very tight, the bed is comfortable, and imagine that when my friend asked for a lighter orr matches, they couldnt find any!!!
and as for the breakfast, it is something that i have never seen before!!! nothing to eat, nothing to drink, just few few little things.

Room Tip: dont go there :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baha h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My business partner and I stayed at this establishment on the night of the10th July 2012. Our experience was not pleasant. To begin with my door of my room would not lock and just opened from the outside with a gentle push. My room was full of mosquitoes which is unusual in the African Winter. The water pressure in the room was pathetic and to run a bath would probably take an hour. The following morning one of our business partners joined us for Breakfast. He ordered tw fired eggs and some Macon (Pork Products not served). The cost US$17.00. When confronted the manager was totally indignant and said that her prices were competitive with hotels in London and New York. The staff on the other hand were friendly professional and clearly terrified of their employer. I will not stay here again, for $150.00 per night I am sure there are other better establishments.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingola, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel is centrally locates within the business centre of Lusaka, very close to Arcades shopping centre.
it has a decent parking ares and all rooms are on one floor.
Breakfast is searved upstairs which may be an inconvenience of the elderly and thos who have trouble walking as it means climbing a spiral staircase.However room service is available.
Quality of breakfast was average, Other food is good though.
Rooms are quite big but quality of linens are not great.
Overall not a bad choice for one or two nights if you wish to be close to the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
1.5 mi away
Southern Sun Ridgeway
Southern Sun Ridgeway
#3 of 32 in Lusaka
389 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka
Protea Hotel Lusaka
#10 of 32 in Lusaka
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
2.3 mi away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 32 in Lusaka
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#1 of 32 in Lusaka
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtyard Hotel

Property: The Courtyard Hotel
Address: Plot 25280 corner of Thabo Mbeki & Nangwenya Roads | Manda Hill Centre, Lusaka, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lusaka
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Jovago.com so you can book your The Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing