We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel Lusaka
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Safe & convenient”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I like staying here when I arrive/depart Lusaka because there is a back door into the Arcades shopping center where you can do some quick last-minute shopping, go out for a meal or drink, and get cash from the ATM--all without need of rental car or taxi or walking too far alone. I have also left my bags in storage at this hotel for 4 days and have had no problem claiming them--they were in the condition I left them. There is free WiFi, but the router is near the elevator side of the hall on each floor, so get a room on that side if possible. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is conference center--avoid on popular weekends. Wifi router is on elevator-side of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phainopepla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Lusaka and to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    105
    48
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
23
28
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Traveled to Lusaka for a 1 week business trip. While I've stayed at (and enjoyed) the Taj Pamodzi, I decided to try the Protea hotel per the suggestion of my Lusaka-based colleagues. The value for money is good, and it is conveniently located within the Arcades shopping center. It is also close to a number of good restaurants and shops for traveler comfort.

Protea has a hotel shuttle to and from the airport, however you must come out after collecting your bag. If you tarry too long, the shuttle may leave you. My bag didn't arrive from Joburg to Lusaka, so as I was filling out the baggage claim, the shuttle left me with other passangers in tow. Luckily, as I used my US phoen to call the hotel they sent the shuttle back immediately.

Other than the snafu with the shuttle, it has been a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotelsZambia, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel is conveniently located in a shopping center with diverse restaurants and a place to find almost anything a guest may need.
-Rooms are spacious and well maintained.
-There's a guard on every floor (not sure if this is good or bad).
-Staff are polite and very professional.
-Breakfast is ample and diverse. Their meals are also very good for those who care to dine in.
-Wireless internet (no extra charge) was reliable through and through, but required regular logins.

The bad:
-Rooms are not sound-proofed at all. You can hear everything going on outside the hotel (and I was on the 3rd or 4th floor). Luckily the hote is away from busy streets.
-Pricing is pretty steep for what you get.
-Optional services like laundry are very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Protea has done it again, the usual service excellence, food, clean and s spacious rooms...I might add a little expensive but worth it.
I might add excellent location in the mall...we're you can get all type of food, a movie center and even a bar and casino for a dring if your biz is a success.
Get your PROKARD for good deals at proteas all over Africa, a chain of Hotels that will really give you the best of what is available in Africa.

Well done, well done!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dantes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel Lusaka and to hearing from you again!

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

As is so frequently stated by other reviewers this hotel is comfortable and convenient. Everything in Lusaka is expensive and this is no exception but it has much to recommend it, not the least of which are the very good buffet breakfast and what is probably the best shower I have found in a hotel anywhere.
Booking in is a bit of a bind. I stayed on three occasions in a period of three weeks, and each time had to go through the performance of filling in the long form including passport number, home address, next address etc etc, and then have impression of visa card taken. But that notwithstanding, the service is good, one feels safe all the time (security guards on each floor all night) the rooms are good and have everything that you need and best of all you don't have to fight over expensive taxis as the hotel shuttle is always available and cheaper than a taxi.
No complaints from me but I did encounter a very unhappy family storming out complaining about the noise during the night.

Room Tip: I found my two stays on the top floor less noisy than my night on floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POstcardswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for your words of appreciation regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the negative and positive aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Well situated. Lots to do around the Arcade. Friendly staff. Rooms clean and spacious. TV needs to be replaced. Food okay, but lots of restaurants to choose from just outside the hotel. Needs more parking space for the hotel capacity.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodloverTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is quite new and really comfortable. It is well located next to the Arcades Shopping Centre, which has a few quite nice restaurants.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and a nice buffet breakfast is included.
One comment is that although the hotel s quite new, the finishes are terrible. Paintwork is not perfect, plasterwork is uneven in places and things like the tiling in the bsthrooms Is of poor quality. that is probably the only negative.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The hotel is in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Lusaka, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments regarding your recent stay at Protea Hotel Lusaka. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible.

Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best!

Kind regards,

Khetiwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
2.1 mi away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Lusaka
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Lusaka Cairo Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Lusaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Lusaka

Property: Protea Hotel Lusaka
Address: | Arcades Shopping Complex, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Phone Number:
Location: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Lusaka 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lusaka and within the Arcades Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka offers GUESTS the benefit of being closely situated to the Mulungushi Conference Centre as well as having direct access to shops and restaurants. Our Lusaka, Zambia hotel has four room types to cater for your needs with all the amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel Lusaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing