We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaminuka Game Reserve

Chaminuka Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We only had time to walk the Cheetahs but it was a great experience and very educational.
We took the back road to get there which was an experience all on its own.
There are many things to do at Chaminuka and i would certainly go back there again the next time i am in Lusaka.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank john F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    81
    25
    4
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get up close with the Elephants!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Brilliant ! we saw most of the big 5, ask for the Safari trip with a commentary. The drinks were a bit on the dear side but the food was great....the children really enjoyed it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Towella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Book in Advance and Pay through the Nose”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did not know you had to book in advance but the people on reception were 'willing' to book us in. If you want to pay USD 50 for a lunch then go ahead, if you want to pay USD 80 for lunch and some activities then go early to enjoy them. We chose to get back in the car so we cannot say if the lunch is worth USD 50 or if the activities were good or otherwise.

We did visit the Cheese factory, although we were told you could only do so if you had paid your USD 80, but frankly you can buy the (very nice) cheese for the same price in Shoprite.

Otherwise a total waste of time for somebody unwilling to part with USD 400 for a family day out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Itsmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

a good place to relax for a day. Not much of game drive to see. Food is good. But very very expensive for the remote place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nateshnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a great time and I would like to do it over and over again. We enjoyed a game drive, thereafter we were treated to a sumptuous lunch (all the food was very fresh). We then went on a boat cruise and around 4pm, we went for a cheetah interaction. We got to walk with the cheetahs, caress them and even play with their tails...We were not able to spend the night but, it is a place to be at for that relaxing and breath taking experience away from all the hustle and bustle of life!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tovika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaminuka Game Reserve also viewed

 
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
Lusaka, Lusaka Province
 

Been to Chaminuka Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing