We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cassia Lodge embraced my heart and soul .”
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The Cassia Lodge embraced my heart and soul.
It was such a good experience .
I started end ended my Uganda trip there and it symbolized a perfect start and end from a marvellous, unforgetable, amazing, inspiring journey.
The view is breath taking and by far the best you can expect to see in kampala.
The staff is very friendly and they work at the hotel if it was theirs.
That's so nice to see and the people who think that African people can't work hard will chance their perception immediately after a visit at the Cassia Lodge !
It is a very well organised Lodge and one of the best price value that you can get !!
You can see and feel that the owners, Johan and Els, build this Lodge with their heart and soul . I was lucky to experience the embracement of this natural beauty .

Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy !!!

Gert Melsen
Belgium

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gert6886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 425 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2010

A safe and secure hideaway from the crazy (but exhilarating) city of Kampala.
Well thought out and planned design - every bedroom has a fantastic view of Lake Victoria.
Reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient, made us feel very welcome. I can't say the same about the restaurant, it also has beautiful views but staff were not attentive. Breakfast was impersonal and choices were disappointing.
This is a lovely hotel, the grounds and pool are great for relaxing, the bedrooms are clean, comfortable and bathrooms are modern.
Free use of computers and internet an added bonus.
Once again - reception staff are great.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manorom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We came to Africa as a family - my farther, my mother, my little sister and I. My dad left some 40 years ago and we decided it was time to see where my dad’s routes were.

It was an exhilarating trip to say the least but Cassia lodge and the staff made it all the more special. We were treated as family. The rooms were beautiful the views, extremely special and the whole experience was a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Cassia lodge made the while trip easy and smooth. The staff were helpful and friendly they helped us out with booking tours and our safari and it was all incredible.

We enjoyed spending lazy, hot afternoons by the pool with a lovely swimming pool looking over Lake Victoria. Our evenings were spent looking over views of Kampala city, truly breathtaking!

Don’t forget to pay a visit to Micky’s bar down the hill, very good fun

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank ExplorerAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Our first trip to Uganda with the purpose to visit a school in Lira and to taste the cultural difference between Europe and Africa. Cassia Lodge feels like an oasis in the hectic city of Kampala. We stayed a few days to get acclimatized before driving to the North, and afterwards returned to chill out with the children ( teenagers)
Why we enjoyed Cassia Lodge so much?
Amazing extensive view from the room balconys and the restaurant terrace on the Victoria Lake and Kampala - quiet large and clean rooms with western accomodation - nice swimming pool - free acces to internet - good food, well presented - the little Buziga Hill breeze makes a stay on the restaurant terrace very enjoyable. - staff is very friendly - airport shuttle ( driver had to wait 2 hours , due to flight delay - with big smile) - Management gave us a lot op useful suggestions for our trip in the country and Kampala - storing a part of our luggage, no problem - good price/quality proportion.
The only point: breakfast seems English oriented and rather monotone, but if you ask something else , you get it.
Going back to Cassia ? Yes
Would we recommend Cassia to others? Quite shure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Last month we made a trip to Uganda with the family. Friends recommended us to stay in Cassia Lodge in Kampala. It was the best thing that could happen !
The view is amazing from all the rooms and the restaurant. We enjoyed the big terrace especially to take dinner in the evening overlooking Kampala by night.
The rooms with balcony are comfortable and clean. We can advise the connecting rooms for families with children.
The pool is clean and pleasant to stay with view on Lake Victoria.
The staff gives a sense of family and they are always laughing and ready to help.
Sometimes when the restaurant is fully booked, you need patience but the delicious dishes compensate the waiting time. Sometimes breakfast is a bit poor.
Too bad we missed the barbeque and the dance party, but the owner advised us to go to Miki's Pub nearby Cassia Lodge.
We are already looking forward to our visit next summer !

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

It'is a real nest on the hill around the Lake Victoria with a wonderful view. The service has a very good standard and the swimming pool is constantly cared. The only one black point is the room, that is very spartane and poor of charm.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimi07Naples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I was met by the Hotel's driver at Entebbe Airport, his patience was the very first thing I noticed as he was still there 1 hour and a half after everyone else on my flight was long gone as I had to wait to report my bad missing. When we arrived I was warmly welcomed by all the staff. The room and facilities were superb and the very extensive view of the lake Victoria is breath taking. The pool is delightful and the food is delicious. When you choose Cassia Lodge, you will always return as I will before the end of the year.

Wow!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
209 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
663 reviews
4.8 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 104 in Kampala
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
6.7 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#9 of 104 in Kampala
350 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 104 in Kampala
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $139 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cassia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing