We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in quiet setting”
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel in quiet setting”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Really comfortable lodge just outside of Kampala. Be prepared for a taxi ride to town, but the ride helps orient you to the city, so it's not really a disadvantage. The pool is quite nice and refreshing after a day exploring the city. The dinner took a while to deliver, so be prepared for leisurely eating. Breakfast is pretty typical, and the staff quite friendly. Ask for the Spanish omelette. Wifi pretty reliable and location safe. This was my first night in Uganda and I was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AHB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    150
    44
    12
    10
See reviews for
70
114
45
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blankenberge, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

we had a three night stay in Cassia Lodge . the view on the Victoria is so different every morning and evening , the mist, the clouds, by clear weather,... overnight with the frogs making their lovesongs, and allways so quiet and peacefull. you should forget the slums you came through as you arrive in this garden of Eden... Johan and Els are great guests, we love the discussions, the exchange of experiences, the backgrounds of Uganda, the political questions,..
we like to come back and come home in this place, now for the third time, with 39 volunteers at the beginning and end of our medical mission to the poorest people in East Uganda.
'chapeau' for the kind reception, the food, the garden, the rooms... hope to see you again in two years (or earlier...) Peter and Veronique Vandendriessche-Lamoral

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damme, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The view on Lake Victoria is splendid! The management is helping you to direct you to the safaris and to explain the African culture and how the Ugandans live. Cassia Losge is the place to be to start to travel through Uganda and its neighbourging countries.

A remarkable plus point is that the hotel can easily manage groups of 40 pax.

Jan Cordonnier

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location looking over lake Victoria. The beds are comfortable, the staff are friendly and the food is great. If this had been an overnight stop I'd have given it full marks.
But it wasn't my plan to sit by the pool for a day and recover from the long flight was spoiled when the locals arrived. The hotel allows access to the pool area for the locals and their children for a fee. So a planned peaceful day became a headache as I listened to the kids scream and fight and bang on, well anything really. Would not stay again

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samsungKampala, Owner at Cassia Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
I would like to thank our estimated client for appreciating the views, the rooms, the staff and the food at Cassia Lodge. And...the fact that he wanted to give us five stars...if the locals would not have been at the pool on Sunday.
These -so called- locals are kids of our neighbours They are allowed to use our pool. The symbolic fee is 5000 Ugsh (1,5 euro).
This is part of our social responsibility towards the local community.
In Africa, and Uganda in particular, one cannot do business in a cocoon.
I really feel sorry that our client could not rest during that particular Day. But I wonder why he did not ask to be shifted to another room -far away from the pool..
Anyway dear client. Accept our apologies.
Cassia Lodge will always try to be a home for Bazungu (whites) and for locals (we call them Ugandans). With respect.
Johan, M.D. Cassia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Splendid view on Lake Victoria from one of the most vivid places to stay of Kampala. Good restaurant with beautiful terrace, visited by a unique mix of locals and tourists. Owners are a former European MP for Belgium and an well-known journalist.

Room Tip: Rooms ground floor air-conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GroepC-eet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This lodge has a great view of Lake Victoria from a hill top. The rooms are well done but are a little older, The beds are little hard with great pillows. TV and fans are provided. The rooms have a balcony or patio. The restaurant has very good food, European rather than local but very good with great outdoor seating. There is a nice pool and garden on site.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed 1 night arriving late and leaving early the next morning. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The shower was hot with good water pressure, and the wifi worked. There was no air conditioning but a floor and ceiling fan. We had to keep the floor fan on low as it was a little noisy on any other speed. The mattress was a little saggy but we were so tired we never really noticed. There was mosquito netting but since it did not surround the bed nor was it attached to the wall, it was not the most effective netting. We did not experience any mosquitos in the room so this was not a problem. We had late night supper of soup and a drink in the restaurant when we arrived. No complaints about the service or late night supper. We left too early in the morning to get breakfast but they did offer to package us up a breakfast – which was nice of them – however we could not eat it. The breakfast consisted of some kind of sandwhich with very old bread and a boiled egg. One look was enough to turn me off and one taste was enough to turn my husband off. . We never had use of the pool but it did look tempting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#12 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Property: Cassia Lodge
Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cassia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing