We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Cassia Lodge and all I can say is the views are amazing, high up in the hills of Buziga with views of Lake Victoria and rolling hills of Kampala. Staff was great, food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    150
    44
    12
    10
See reviews for
70
114
45
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Although I only stayed at cassia lodge for 1 night I'm impressed with it. It is located at the top of buziga hill which allows you to enjoy a great view of lake Victoria and Kampala city. Meals are very good and not too expensive. The rooms are clean and you can enjoy your wine on the balcony. friendly staff.

Room Tip: room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

After 10 days working in dusty Kampala it's fantastic to arrive at Cassia Lodge. Nice lodge, not too big with a charming swimming pool and surroundings. The lunch was great and my friend and I had both fish dishes- very Good. The relaxing part of it ended when 10-15 kids entered the pool. They were screaming, yelling and running around the whole area. The kids were not guests- only visitors for the day. We bothlove kids, but would not reccomend this place as the best place outside Kampala to rest and Get a quiet moment reeding a book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinkampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Whilst the views are fantastic, the management of this place is very poor. We were confirmed by the assistant manager (Susan) for two nights but upon arrival were told there was no room for us on the second night! I have never experienced this before.

The food you pay for was good standard (but not cheap by Uganda standards) but the breakfast was woeful - there were even flies on the sausages and tomatoes! We were also woken very early by a loud gardener with a mower outside our window - despite our complaints nothing was done. Would not return to stay but would visit again for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickAtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samsungKampala, Owner at Cassia Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Normally I dont respond to reviews of customers.
I always do respect their personal -subjective- views.

However, in this case i feel obliged. I would like to emphasize that the client was informed in advance that Cassia Lodge was fully booked the second night. Only in case of any cancellation a room could be made available. This was communicated by phone and by email.
And the client reacted by mail, expressing his disappointment.

I admit that the gardener started cutting the grass around 9 am. But it was a Saturday morning, not a Sunday.
And keeping the compound clean is one of our priorities.

I would like to thank the client for appreciating the unique view and more especially the quality of the food.
Hope to see him back in Cassia very soon for a candle light dinner.

Johan Van Hecke
M.D. Cassia Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here just for a night before leaving for Bwindi. Reached late night and the staff was helpful to check us in and carry our luggage to the room. The room was clean, nicely appointed, had shampoo, body wash, etc. in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The view from the room was nice. The breakfast could have more options and could have been better. The coffee was very good though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed in Cassia Lodge for three full days and nights, after being in Lira for weeks.
It was a very pleassant stay.
Very good and clean room, good staf, nice service.
A fabulous view over lake Victoria and the city of Kampala.
The nice swimmingpool in which you can also enjoy the view.
And we enjoyed the excellent food so much!!! Every day we've been eating so much and so good.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who's coming to Kampala!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvette3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was staying in Sheraton in Kampala and had to move to Cassia Lodge family run hotel business, did not expect to find so idealic place in Kampala, its location is perfect and you one can just wish for
I stayed in Cassia Lodge for 6 nights and must admit I put on some weight..every single meal was so delicious and you just can't resist not to cleaned up the plate :)
Every single employee is so friendly but genuine friendly and you can feel when they smile is a real smile not a smile to extract a tips out of your pocket
The owners, Madam Els and her husband Mr Johan will make your stay so welcomed that you wish not to leave the place for many months..
I would recommend Cassia Lodge to any travaler who whishes to have a memorable brake in Kampala in any sence of the word

Alex Bibanovski
Dubai, UAE
alexbibanovski@yahoo.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
4.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#14 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Property: Cassia Lodge
Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cassia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing