We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Kampala!”
Review of Cassia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cassia Lodge
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Erwetegem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best view in Kampala!”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The baseline of this hotel is really not a lie, it really offers you the most beautiful scenery you can find in Kampala. We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip. Excellent place to recover from a long flight or to end your trip in this amazing country. A bit outside the noisy center you enjoy great food, excellent service, clean rooms and not forgettting the relaxing swimming pool. À place to never forget!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JokeHoogewys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    150
    45
    12
    10
See reviews for
71
115
45
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Breathtaking view including very colorful sunrises, friendly and competent staff, nice location outside the bustle of the city, nice pool overlooking Lake Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 231anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We arrived at Cassia Lodge very late after our flight to Entebbe and then the drive to the lodge. Our room was comfortable and when we woke the next morning were amazed at the view over Lake Victoria and Kampala. We stayed at Cassia Lodge again on our last night before flying home and they were very accommodating about letting us keep our room until the evening, this was a real bonus after a dusty days sightseing in Kampala as we were able to shower and change before our flight. The only negative points we would make are that breakfast is a bit lacking in choice and our evening meal took a long time to arrive and looked like it had been siiting around under a hot lamp for a while. Having driven around Kampala we were glad that we stayed here rather than in the citywhich is so congested with traffic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AshteadCandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This was the second time for us that we stay at Cassia Lodge. We didn't see improvements in the last year. The rooms on the first floor are generally fine with a nice view. The rooms have: TV, Wifi, refrigerator, fan, net, safe and a nice clean bathroom.
The food is OK but is EU food, not local and the menu was the same as last year. Serving food and drinks cost a lot of time and you must ask again and again.

Overall: for some nights it is a niece and pleasant place but not for a whole week or more

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights, had a rough time, I had to move elsewhere for the last 2 nights of my stay.

Half the things didn't work in the room, there were bugs in the room, the bed was really hard. The staff were okay, they tried to help out but failed miserably. For some reason staff in Uganda are always really lazy, i had to like scream untill they thought they should do something....which consisted of spraying my room...not a big help...

There are many other places to stay in kampala, do your research before travelling to kampala.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwoko - Luweero
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We choose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and having seen it in passing the year before we stayed. We live in country and have tried various establishments, but this was one of the most disappointing. The layout and decor in the rooms copies the Paraa in Murchison, but the upkeep and cleanliness are no match! The closet doors were warped, the shower door broken, the bathroom ceiling MOLDY!, the room ceiling fan didn't work-nor did the air conditioner. When we asked the main desk for some help with the fan and AC they acted surprised that we were having trouble and said they'd send someone right away. After a good amount of time passed and we'd seen no one, I returned to the front desk. She assured me someone was on the way. When I returned to the room, there was someone there with a free-standing fan! They knew all along that the ceiling fan and AC were out of commission. When we requested a discount for all the trouble they wouldn't budge at all and said the only person who could make such a decision was out of the country!!! Who leaves a major tourist hotel in the hands of staff who can't even make a simple decision?? Let me say again that I live in the country, so maybe the gorgeous views of Kampala and the great food in the restaurant weren't enough to sway me. Because I live and work pretty much 24/7 in a remote area of the country, I needed a CLEAN place that delivered what was promised. Also, we had asked for a room to accommodate our family of five and were told when making the reservations that there would be extra beds moved into the room. There were only three beds in the room when we arrived and when we asked for the extras the staff said it was not possible. It was TOO expensive for all the trouble we experienced!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brittonsinuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our first night in Africa we weren't really sure what to expect. It was a long drive from the airport and what we were seeing on the roads was making us unsure of what to expect. But when we pulled up to the lodge, we were greeted by a friendly, smiling face. Since it was late we didn't get to see much but the view of Kampala from our room was quite beautiful and the next morning we could see Lake Victoria. The room was clean and neat although not much character to it with the exception of the netting which was our first exposure to it. We awoke to a beautiful sunrise. Breakfast was fair. Overall the lodge was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaNord1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
4.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
323 reviews
6.7 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
5.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cassia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cassia Lodge

Property: Cassia Lodge
Address: 15 Plot | Buziga Hill, Kampala 23623, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cassia Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cassia Lodge is located on Buziga Hill, one of the highest hills of Kampala close to Lake Victoria. The environment is cool, with few mosquitoes, and an astonishing view on the lake as well as the city. Excellent international cuisine in a serene environment, conference facilities, business centre, wireless connection, large swimming pool, luxurious rooms with satellite television, bar and balcony overlooking the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cassia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cassia Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing