We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my Congqing chicken”

Ranked #87 of 291 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved my Congqing chicken”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner at Fang Fang on a Sunday. Got a nice table in the garden at sunset. Great atmosphere. Colonial Africa meets China. I chose the small dumpling soup which was fine but not spectacular. After that the house fried rice and Chongqing chicken. I was warned it would be spicy and yes it was. Just right. Portions were big so I took a generous serving back home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvw1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    55
    19
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average food, high prices, poor services”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Africa has selection of good Chinese Restaurants but this one is definitely not among them. Aware that prices in the menu are stated without VAT, so you can easily end up surprised when you get the bill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Augustas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good service, but bland food...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We've both dined at the downtown location and had take away, and my main frustration is the blandness of the food. Their is little spice or variation to the options on the menu. Also recommend avoiding the tofu dishes... However, if you're craving Chinese, the downtown location is very accessible.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bucketlisters202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food in Kampala”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Right in the centre of Kampala this restaurant serves good Chines food at fair prices. Service is good but not excellent. Beware, portions are large. One starch serving is more than good enough for 3 people. If you choose to sit outside, take some mosquito repellent and keep arms and legs covered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Mills_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Racist and Unscrupulous Waitress”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

While the food is not bad (though very oily), the service provided is terrible. I have been going to Fang Fang occasionally for years and will NEVER go back. I was extremely disappointed during my last visit. As per usual, we received our bill with no proper breakdown of the items we ordered, so was forced to question the waiter/waitress what was being charged. After referencing the menu to decipher the bill and calculating the cost, I discovered we were over charged (surprise, surprise!) Our waiter brought this to the attention of the head waitress who had prepared the bill. After realising she was wrong, she became very defensive and starting yelling racial slurs and saying that ''All Indians never want to pay their full bill'' This was very upsetting to me as we were not trying to underpay, merely pay what was rightfully owed and wanted correct clarification. It is not acceptable to be cheated in the process and racial abuse is completely unacceptable. If you still insist on going to Fang Fang, be sure to ask for your bill to be explained, translated into English and double check the math yourself as this behaviour seems habitual.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fang Fang Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Fang Fang Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing