We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly yes, sprucing up- desperate”
Review of Hotel Ruch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ruch
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My collegue & I were here in early June after seeing the facility on the internet and I must say the first impression one gets immediately you drive through is that of a derelict facility. some basic weeding of the pavement edges will do much. Things however lighten up at the reception where the staff is really nice and interesting. The breakfast is balanced but basic and the standard rooms are kinda small with no closets.

Location is excellent and I hope that the ongoing renovations in the garden will be extended to the hotel main building.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Thanks for the review, wamae. Good news, the weeds on the edges have in fact been worked upon. They were actually removed on the day of your departure. In fact, renovation has already been extended to the hotel main building albeit, only to the third floor. However, I believe you were not allocated these rooms as the renovated rooms were all occupied and are very popular as seen from our previous reviews.

In fact, the standard rooms are more than adequate for single persons, and despite the absence of a closet, there is a handy wall attached ledge / rack for clothes. The standard rooms are priced to reflect these facts, hence the pocket-friendly rate of $65 per night.

We DO have bigger rooms with closets at higher rates, these start at $90 per night.

There are significant savings of a standard room over other rooms i.e. A saving of over $25 per night. And I believe this was the reason for your choice of a standard room instead of our Deluxe rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Ruch for a week at the start of June 2012. The third floor had just been renovated. The room was mid-sized-small but spotlessly clean, with brand new bedding and with a nice view of the garden. At the time of my stay this was being landscaped and it should be a lovely, peaceful spot to hang out with a drink when it is ready (by the end of July 2012 probably). The hotel is quite central to town (about a 5-10 minute walk) but very quiet and on one of the hills of the city near a few of the very upscale hotels, banks, airline offices etc so great logistically. The staff are young, very warm and helpful and always available. Nothing was a problem for them to assist with. Breakfast is good and filling: eggs, toast, fruit, juices, cereals, tea and coffee. There is a bar but no restaurant on site that serves after breakfast. However there's a Chinese restaurant around the corner. No complaints at all - I will stay again! Great spot for a holiday base or to get some work done, the Internet was pretty fast and reliable too.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the third floor, which has recently been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Having found this hotel located in Nakasero through the internet and it was pretty clear to me, using Hotel Ruch as a base for my adventures in Kampala. It is a good choice in many ways.
I stayed twice this year with them and was very pleased about the friendly and helpful personnel
incl. Nandish (Mngr). I really like this place and will come again later this year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Even though Hotel Ruch was under construction during my stay, it was clean and quiet. The staff is friendly and kind, the breakfasts are delicious, and there is nowhere in the vicinity as reasonably priced. I'd recommend it to friends, and I recommend it to colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KRSDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was my first stay at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the attention of the staff. The service was excellent and friendly. The receptionist was especially helpful in guiding me in the right direction for a great evening dinner. I will be returning again within the month and know that I will be greeted once again with quality service and great smiles.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rusljbei1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Hotel Ruch, the first being July 2010 on recommendation from a friend. As a field-based researcher, I have a small budget, so I was looking for low-cost alternatives for a couple of nights in Kampala. This hotel provides security and comfort at an affordable price and a great location. I booked a standard room (most inexpensive) via the website prior to my departure and was very pleased with the room. The free wireless internet is a bonus. The staff is very courteous and extremely helpful. They ordered me food from the complex next door and even delivered it to my room! If you are looking for luxury, then go to some of the surrounding hotels. But, if you are looking for a comfortable stay at a lower price, the I recommend the Hotel Ruch.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MDTravProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

A nice hotel near Kampala centre. Only 10 minutes walk to Kampala Road, but nevertheless very silent.
Very friendly staff, always open for a small talk. In case of any problems or questions very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Embacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.8 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 105 in Kampala
27 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#26 of 105 in Kampala
74 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tal Cottages
Tal Cottages
#63 of 105 in Kampala
12 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillside Plaza Hotel
Hillside Plaza Hotel
#74 of 105 in Kampala
2 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#37 of 105 in Kampala
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $63 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ruch 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruch is a hotel in central Kampala where a warm welcome and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed. Being a no-frills Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing hotel accommodation in central Kampala, Uganda at competitive rates starting from only $70 per night. We are only 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Kampala with easy access to public transport. Hotel Ruch is in between two 5* Hotels in Kampala, the Sheraton & Serena Hotels ; The city centre, super-markets and shopping centres are less than a 5 min's drive away. Unwind and relax in serene wild-life themed Uzuri Gardens. An experience unmatched by any hotel in central Kampala ; no noise, no distractions, Just you, your thoughts and nature. Excite your taste buds with delicious curries & naans baked in a clay Tandoor, YUM! With a 6-page menu & quality beyond any of the hotels in Kampala, you will be spoilt for choice! We are located in a safe, secure & central area of the Kampala CBD and has ample secure parking for over 30 cars. Relax, have a coffee or read a book all under a traditional hand-thatched roof. We are one of the few Hotels in Kampala giving back to the community by employing local crafts-men. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing