We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil place in the heart of Kampala”
Review of Hotel Ruch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ruch
Ranked #32 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil place in the heart of Kampala”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

A nice hotel near Kampala centre. Only 10 minutes walk to Kampala Road, but nevertheless very silent.
Very friendly staff, always open for a small talk. In case of any problems or questions very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Embacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    11
    5
    11
See reviews for
Families
0
9
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I found this hotel through Trip Adviser two years ago and have now used it three times for short work trips to Kampala. It offers great value for $65 in an East African capital. The rooms are clean, bedding very good, and I have had a hot shower, though perhaps not all the time. The breakfast room has expanded to a small restaurant, which I had a surprisingly good in on my last trip. I work for a UK University and the hotel staff go out of their way to help me meet up with students including allowing me to book a small meeting room for interviews. The location is VERY central, walking distance to the city centre, though it is tucked away and make sure that your Taxi driver knows where it is. Lastly I have always felt safe there. No its not flash, buts it is a reliable, safe and clean and has good mossi nets.

Room Tip: basic 65$ is fine, though you pay extrea for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Netgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Apart from not a hot shower, a common issue with this hotel.....for $65, not bad at all.....free wireless, satelite tv, clean, mozzy net, wonderful Indian restaurant adjoining the hotel and very pleasant staff.....and you're smack bang in the business district.....I'll be back....pls just get the hot water fixed

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BaskersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I'm a fairly well-travelled male and was extremely disappointed by Hotel Ruch. The staff are extremely friendly and the garden is also very nice. The rooms are definitely not worth what they are charging and overall, the hotel is in desperate need of a face lift. The TV and wifi were not working for the majority of my stay and everything seems to echo in the hotel, making it quite noisy. I would strongly suggest you stay elsewhere and have heard good things about Hotell Speke and the Imperial.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WineGuy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Ottawa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I had reserved at the Ruch based on the positive reviews and arrived late in the evening from Entebbe. I admit that my first reaction was to tell the driver to continue on to the Sheraton and I would have had he not been the Hotel Ruch driver! The hotel is very much second rate - dark, paint chipped, cement lobby and rooms. My first room had wiring held together by electrical tape; the second room that I was shown had a toilet that didn't work; the third room was OK, but the wi-fi signal didn't reach. I will say that the staff were extremely friendly and eager to please within the limits of what they had to work with. They tried very hard to convince me to stay when I expressed my disappointment.

After a minimal, uninspired breakfast, I checked out and fled to the Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRuch, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
All 3 rooms you were shown were in good working condition, and you did not notify us of any issues in the rooms for your 8 night stay.

Secondly, we offer our rooms at low costs of $60 and less, therefore its difficult to provide 5* facilities for the price of a 3* Hotel.

5* hotels which are nearby go for the rate of $150+ exclusive taxes.

We always advise our clients to notify us of any problems as soon as they encounter them so that we can rectify them without any delay. However, in your case, no problems were reported to reception for your 8 night stay.

We at Hotel Ruch would have understood your concerns for 5* facilities and would have recommended suitable alternatives nearby, which would obviously have to be at a higher cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

With this being my fourth stay at Ruch, it is only appropriate that I give them a fair review. Was here with a few colleagues attending a conference in the nearby Sheraton. Ruch is great value for money, very quiet and the rooms me / my colleagues stayed in had a garden view which was nice. Excellent location, and the staff were very professional and friendly unlike other hotels i have stayed at. Breakfast is standard continental, the Restaurant seating area is not enough to be honest, but on the brighter side, you can have your Breakfast in the adjacent gardens!

Accommodation in Kampala is not cheap unlike Kenya, but you realize this after having had a few visits so word of advice, have an open mind on your first trip to Kampala. Almost forgot this, they have Free Wi-Fi with good reception in our rooms.

I would recommend this heartily to other people, try it out.

For $65 you would be silly not to!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shiply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Hotel Ruch (pronounced: Roach) is priced like a mid-range hotel (65$-150$), but feels like a 15$-20$ youth hostel. The rooms are beyond bland. Water damage drips from the ceiling. Bedsheets and blankets are all polyester. Mosquito nets have gaping holes and colorful stains. Breakfast looks like it was prepared for (and by) a geriatric diabetic. Everything always needs to be immediately settled in cash, but nobody ever has change. And when you overhear the manager on the phone, you get the feeling that hotel guests are little more than an inconvenient necessity in the hospitality business.
In all fairness, non-breakfast food is average, and the location isn't inconvenient. And as the hotel is so unpopular, you'll always get a room if you really need one...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanitoPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
0.4 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Royale Hotel
Imperial Royale Hotel
#64 of 101 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Marie's Royale Hotel
Marie's Royale Hotel
#53 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ruch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Property: Hotel Ruch
Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ruch is a hotel in central Kampala where a warm welcome and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed. Being a no-frills Hotel, we pride ourselves on providing hotel accommodation in central Kampala, Uganda at competitive rates starting from only $70 per night. We are only 5 minutes walking distance from the centre of Kampala with easy access to public transport. Hotel Ruch is in between two 5* Hotels in Kampala, the Sheraton & Serena Hotels ; The city centre, super-markets and shopping centres are less than a 5 min's drive away. Unwind and relax in serene wild-life themed Uzuri Gardens. An experience unmatched by any hotel in central Kampala ; no noise, no distractions, Just you, your thoughts and nature. Excite your taste buds with delicious curries & naans baked in a clay Tandoor, YUM! With a 6-page menu & quality beyond any of the hotels in Kampala, you will be spoilt for choice! We are located in a safe, secure & central area of the Kampala CBD and has ample secure parking for over 30 cars. Relax, have a coffee or read a book all under a traditional hand-thatched roof. We are one of the few Hotels in Kampala giving back to the community by employing local crafts-men. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing