We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Watch out!”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

First night there (my organization provides the hotel with regular business) they put me in a first floor room adjacent to the outside terrace where there are people drinking and eating at tables within 10 feet of the bed (outside sliding glass door) and I was unable to fall asleep until very late. I travelled upcountry for a few days then returned and enjoyed a more comfortable 3rd flood room (after complaining). Even then the terrace noise is conspicuous. Really don't see how someone who needs a decent night sleep can do so on the front side of the hotel. My last morning I asked for a newspaper to read as I had breakfast and was told that I was not entitled to the complementary newspaper (delivered to rooms) as I was checking out! This after having complained about the noise from that first night. My conclusion -- generally nice, business hotel but poor design and even worse customer relations skills of the front desk. I will not go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    49
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
2
5
11
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Spent first few nights at Sheraton then found this hotel and moved. I loved the Metropole. Price was great, the rooms are new, bright, cheery and clean. I gladly left behind the rusted out fixtures and dirty Sheraton bathrooms for a happy and clean hotel. I would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommi2five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

I stayed at the Metropole Hotel for six nights. It is a solid business hotel, with some charms but not without its faults.

Good: -
1. Spacious, clean, air-conditioned rooms. As other reviewers have noted, try to get one facing the golf course; they are much quieter than those facing the busy road.
2. Comfortable bed.
3. Excellent (hot) water pressure from the shower. A must after a long day in the humid weather.
4. Location - reasonably central, not far from downtown, restaurants, etc.
5. Excellent breakfast; dinner was average, but in no way bad.
6. Staff were attentive and pleasant.

Bad: -
1. internet access did not work well most of the time. For most of the week, it simply did not work after 7pm until early morning. If you're stuck, you can walk 7 minutes up the road to Bubbles O'Learys Irish bar, which has free wireless until 7:30/7:45ish each night. This is a safe walk from the hotel - my female colleage and I did it twice (in the dark) without any problems at all.
2. Staff are sometimes a little slow and don't always anticipate simple things. For example - with no in-room dialling guide, I called my colleague's room via the reception desk. It was only on the last morning that they told me how to do it directly.

Those business travellers looking for 4 or 5 star service should stick to the main brands; those looking for 3/3.5 star service for $100 a night would love the Metropole. It is also suitable for tourists and general travellers. Note that there is no business center (that I saw anyway), nor a pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gearoid9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Probably a good hotel for a few night’s stay, but definitely a good bet for a one-night stay when arriving late at night since its 24-hour coffee shop and room service serves huge and well-prepared snacks in less than 30 minutes. The rooms are quiet, clean and spacey, featuring everything you might need – including air conditioning. And though the huge breakfast of the next morning may well make you consider a longer stay, it’s a pity the property lacks a swimming pool or a spacious garden. A welcoming experience by all means!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20thCenturyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I am a regular traveller to Kampala, and dislike being ripped off by the larger and impersonal hotels. Of the smaller hotels I tried, the Cassia is way too far out of town to be useful for business, and the Humura has little idea of the needs of the business traveller. This hotel, on the other hand, is great. Good location, close to Garden City Mall - although be careful, walking there and back not a good idea due to muggers lurking in the golf course at night! Great reception areas, nice quirky furniture, very modern and minimalist. Excellent wireless internet all over with the best speed I've ever got in Kampala! Rooms oddly shaped, but modern, very clean - with a fantastic bed (linen changed daily, and no blankets - only modern duvets), and great shower. TV for the UK traveller is crap - no BBC, no Sky, only one movie channel. Previous reviewers are right - do NOT take a room other than overlooking the golf course. Good choice of two restaurants - one a great authentic Thai restaurant, the other a so-so sort-of BBQ. Breakfasts are grea.t The staff, including front desk and manager, are very helpful. Only downsides as I've said are the poor TV choice, and the fact that there's no gym and no pool - although you can run on the golf course before 0730 in the mornings if you like!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierre_fromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This hotel is a real "find" in Kampala. It has character and many nice extras. For an extra $10 you can have a business deluxe room with a bit more space, a desk with computer, internet connection, and a few other niceties. The location is handy to the Garden City Mall and not far from the main "business" area of the city, yet it is fairly quiet and serene (for an otherwise crazy city).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimiinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Really great stay, so new and clean, staff efficient and really customer oriented. I will get back! A pity that is missing a pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#15 of 101 in Kampala
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 101 in Kampala
194 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 101 in Kampala
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 101 in Kampala
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.7 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#30 of 101 in Kampala
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Property: Metropole Hotel Kampala
Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Kampala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com and Agoda so you can book your Metropole Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing