We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
17
52
53
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
52
53
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course busy road within seconds nice breakfast pleasant stay rooms are clean stayed here for nights agatha channels kololo greenery
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 141 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2016

I stayed for one week during May 2016 in this hotel. it was business trip. it is so poor hotel although not cheap. The bathroom is awful & everything is broken. No towels until i asked for it. The air condition has a sound like a pneumatic drill working in the room. Breakfast with no varieties. Plus i was reserving for early check in & Late check out & they agreed & my company paid the full but upon check out they ask for extra night.
The only advantage of this hotel is its location as it is near restaurants & cafes & 10 minutes walk from acacia mall.
Free WiFi is available.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropole K K, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Rafik,
Greetings from Metropole Hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us. We usually urge our guests to inform us in case there is an irregularity in maintenance or housekeeping concerns. We operate 24/7 who can attend to them so that we do not destabilize the guest’s stay.
Regarding the early check in and late checkout we have terms and conditions that we give to the guest when confirming the booking and we always attach them as well while booking which indicate the percentage charges.
Breakfast, we are in correspondence to the many guests who come from various parts of the world in order to satisfy their desires as far as the variety we are giving a extensive choice of continental breakfast menu.
Best Regards,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Last week i stayed at the Metropole hotel for 2 nights after about 7 months. It felt good to be back to this hotel after such a short time. I take note that thought this hotel has been one of the good places i have been, i was however a little disappointed by the deteriorating state of the hotel. It appears like the hotel is now running down. In the room, the bedding are tanned and can testify of better days and hosting multiple guests. A diner order that could in the past take 10 - 20 mins took about 45 mins!
I also noted the reduced number of guests, i guess thanks to the deteriorating state of affairs.
Someone needs to take action.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moses W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Mr. Moses,
Greetings from Metropole Hotel.
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, your feedback is very important to us. We shall take a serious concern regarding the matter with very keen attention.
We kindly apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us was highly appreciated.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Strong points:
Friendly and welcoming staff. Located a short walking distance from some great restaurants and the golf course. Quiet and spacious rooms.
First floor restaurant had good food.
Room service was quick.
Appreciated laundry service and personal explanations.
Breakfast had good selection to choose from.

Management to look into:
Pay attention to maintenance - my bathroom had issues.
Unacceptable delays in getting a taxi.
Some of the breakfast food did not taste very fresh.

Room tip: Choose a room away from Acacia Avenue.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gpariyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropole K K, Guest Relations Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala. Hope you are keeping well.
We appreciated your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.
We shall take a serious concern regarding all issues you have mentioned with a very keen attention.
Your feedback will be discussed across departments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience.

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2016

We had left our wallets etc in the room when we went to eat at the hotel restaurant. A couple of hours after we got back, my father couldn't find his wallet. We searched up and down to no avail. I went to check the restaurant to see if he may have left it there, but no luck. Lastly, I went to the reception to tell them about it. They made a semi-sincere effort to locate the waitress who served us but no luck there either. But just in case, I made a point to mention that the money in the wallet doesn't matter, but the cards, license and other info are very important and that we would appreciate having it back if found.
Anyways, we both went to a conference the next day and we see the wallet badly hidden under a paper bag on the table! I know for a fact that we didn't miss looking for it properly. So it was there, minus the money. Anyways, be very careful when leaving your stuff there in the open.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wameqr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Dear Our Esteemed Guest,
Thank you for choosing Metropole Hotel for your stay. It is extremely unfortunate to hear about this incident and we can understand your frustration and we really apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay at the Hotel. As per our earlier communication the floor corridor and the entrance to the room fully investigated this incident upon receiving information and CCTV footage was reviewed. Only housekeeping maid and supervisor went into the room for turn-down services while guest was inside after housekeeping and when you went to restaurant no one entered in your room. In all our guests rooms we provided safe deposit boxes for all your valuables.
Please feel free to contact us whenever you think we can be of any assistance. We shall be more than delighted to hear from you!

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Metropolitan for a few nights only and found it a peaceful and well managed hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms where simple but fine and well maintained. The kitchen is fine but perhaps not special but certainly OK. Perhaps it is a bit isolated but that's not much if a problem as taxis are readily available and cheap in Kampala. In short, I wouldn't recommend it for a longer leisure trip with a family but for the traveler on a business trip it offers excellent value for money.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2016

Thank you for your stay with Metropole Hotel Kampala. Hope you are keeping well.
We’re so delighted that you had a chance to experience your stay with Metropole Hotel and we really appreciate your detailed review and great comments. Thank you for highlighting all the elements that contributes making a stay at Metropole such a special experience.
Please feel free to contact us whenever you think we can be of any assistance. We shall be more than delighted to hear from you!


Kindest Regards,

Metropole Hotel Kampala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews