We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine for work related stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel Kampala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Kampala
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fine for work related stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights when visiting our Kampala office colleagues.
+ The bed was fine.
+ had internet.
+ staff was nice
+ breakfast was good
+ thai restaurant had good food

- The toilet was very very cramped and had a very unusable design. The water from shower would splatter all over the toilet, toilet paper placement was awkward.
- they only had wired internet in the room, wifi in the lobby. Overall, the internet was slow.
- they used to take away every single piece of towels when we go to breakfast, and had to call them to get anything back before their usual time (which was hours later).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
2
5
11
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice Room,spacious,Internet available though slow,good breakfast,excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Very clean and modern. No complaints. only stayed one night..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Pros:
- the room size was adequate
- food from the continental menu was good
- internet speeds were good - both in the room & in the lobby
- the bartender was good. he fixed me a non-alcoholic drink to relieve nausea due to turbulence
- i liked the breakfast options which changed daily

Cons;
- nastiest part; bed sheets were dirty!! the bed was well made but i was shocked to find stained & dirty bedsheets underneath. i had to call the reception 4 times & wait for more than 20 mins before someone came to change the sheets. the bed was also badly made up after that but id rather that than stained sheets!
- i tried the Thai food once & gave up as it was too salty
- my room was on the 1st floor but next to the outdoor restaurant. which means i had to keep the shades down otherwise people at the restaurant could have seen me walking in/out of the bathroom!
- shower doesnt have a curtain/door meaning water was all over the floor. you have to be real careful
- i only counted 9 channels..so its pretty boring if you're relying on TV
- on my 1st night guests couldnt sleep as music was loudly blaring from a party next to the hotel

next timei think ill stick to Golf Course Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the golf course & on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nairobi_ciku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed here for one night after a late night arrival from Nairobi. I had always driven past it and decided to give it a try. All it took was a phone call and the pleasant front office staff booked me in.
On arrival I found I could only use a credit card subject to a 4% surcharge, so I paid in Uganda shillings. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The hotel is contemporary in design, a change in Kampala, and the lay out of the lobby was very nice complete with piano player.
My room on the third floor faced the golf course that wa obscured by trees. The air conditioner was not very effective and seemed to spark alot. Though there is an option to open the sliding doors onto the balcony and close a screen door to keep the mosquitoes out.
The bed was very comfortable, there was a TV with a few satellite channels, the fridge was empty.
The bathroom is very neat and well laid out. The shower did not have a door or curtain and thus water would splash all over the bathroom floor....very dangerous.
I had dinner on the terrace, which was rather deserted, though I get the feeling if it was not the easter weekend it would be packed with people, the ambience was great. I had a nice Thai curry.
The 5am wake up call was on time and the pre ordered continetal breakfast was delivered at 5.30am, though i must say the waiter looked pretty dishevelled, but was very couteous, like all staff at this hotel.
At $118 a night for bed and breakfast, this hotel is over priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NairobiDreamweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I should have written a review immediately after leaving - this is 1 month later - but if I did it would be even worse, since I left upset... Don't write angry, I always say :)
Why did I leave angry? - it took over an hour to check out. I'm not kidding, that's how long it took for them to write up the bill and take money.

Note: i travel very frequently through Africa and Asia, so this review is not written by a "casual" traveler. Your expectations may differ. 

Based on 2 week stay in March 2012.

1 star review is based on the following:
Air conditioning: works intermittently and the controls are all in Chinese, which neither the staff nor I understood.
Noise: hotel workers congregating in hallways and parking lot were loud until after midnight and only quieted after frequent polite complaints (well, admittedly, only the first few times were polite :)
Insects: bathroom was infested with ants, took multiple requests before it was sprayed
Wifi: only in lobby, not room
Internet: required cables (no wireless), which were broken
Laundry: $3 to wash underwear - and no place to hang hand washed items (remember this was a 2 week stay)
Balcony: leaked through to room below mine - requiring workers to fix it during my few hours of weekend rest... Unavoidable, perhaps, but dealt with in a very unprofessional way...
Breakfast: really poor, fruit, my main staple, was not just 'un-fresh', it seemed 'old'.
Bathroom: occasionally smelled like a sewer, probably because plumbing was backing up from other rooms. 
TV: 6 working channels, no movie channels or CNN

   Anyway, I'll stop there. If you are STILL interested in staying at this hotel, I doubt more evidence would dissuade you. I honestly don't mind crappy hotels if I'm paying less, but at this price the problems I faced are unacceptable. Truth is, even cheap guesthouses are generally problem free. 

Oh, I will say, it was a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Not near restaurant, parking lot on one side or busy road on other side. Not sure what that leaves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mac29d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHK_Hotel, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Metropole Hotel Staff and Management Strives to achieve best Guests Satisfaction and All reviews goes along way to help us Improve on our Service Delivery,

We appreciate all The Reviews

Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I am from Uganda and have stayed in so many hotels in kampala while visiting.
But Metropole surely surpassed my expectations- the service was excellent on all fronts ,the room was great and the hotel staff , well,- you won't get better service in town.
I am recommending this hotel to all my friends in the diaspora- USA, Europe and even Africa.
Thank you Metropole
Jude Mugerwa

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmugerwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#9 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#13 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#16 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#47 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#44 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#5 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Kampala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Property: Metropole Hotel Kampala
Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Metropole Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing