We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Namirembe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Namirembe Guest House
Ranked #11 of 213 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A pleasant stay in a beautiful setting .We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking Kampala .
Shower ,and facilities better than when I stayed 5 years ago .Staff polite and helpful as always ,food good ,barbecue .lovely .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alirowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in a twin room in the new section. It was quite spacious and clean, adequately comfortable and otherwise very basic. The food in the restaurant was fair. The staff was friendly and gracious and went the extra mile to be accommodating. We had to leave at 5 a.m. for the airport and they had packed a breakfast for us to take away long before the dining room was open. They also arranged a ride for us to the airport at that hour at the last minute when our own ride fell through.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJCT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Easy reservation and professional front desk service. Good food and service at on site restaurant. Small convenient gift shop for souvenir purchases. Helpful with all requests during stay. Fantastic view and sounds of Kampala.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pineneedle2160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was a single traveller and I stayed in the new section. It was a very basic, bare bones, white walls, but it had a good bed and a shower, which was all I needed. It was def good value for the money.
The guest house is owned/run by a church,so they don't serve alcohol, and a drink would have been nice with dinner.
Beautiful view at night, it located up on a hill.
No complaints, nice and friendly service, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I used to stay here regularly till about two years ago - when I just got fed up of the place which was ageing ungraciously. It wasn't value for money. I knew there had been a big refurbishment and so I thought I'd give it another chance. REALLY glad I did. Namirembe Guest House is very near the centre of Kampala and yet far enough out to be safe if there's any political problems. The NEW rooms in the main block that has been refurbished are clean, modern, spacious and large. At $70 a night including breakfast they are way cheaper than their hotel equivalents - and better.

Room Tip: DEFINITELY ask for one of the refurbished rooms. More expensive but worth it. And if you want the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBPKabale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for a week while exploring Kampala with some locals. Namirembe had been recommended to me by a friend who visits Kampala often, and he made a great call.

The rooms are pretty spartan, but adequate to the job of sleeping our family of 5. My guess is lots of church groups pass through here, and our time was no exception---some nights were blissfully peaceful, some had teenagers singing into the wee hours.

Although we ate out or with friends most of our stay, we did find the food at the guest house in general to be quite good. Since Ugandan pineapples are the best in the world, and every meal included at least some, they perhaps had an unfair advantage.

What really set Namirembe apart was the welcoming atmosphere. I've only stayed in 2 or 3 hotels in the world where we felt like we left friends behind when we departed. This is one of those places. The laundry, the cleaning staff, the kitchen and wait staff, all were great folks.

Our next trip to Kampala will likely see us staying with friends, but if they're not available, we will definitely be staying at Namirembe again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatthepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A basic and friendly guest house with a beautiful view over Kampala. It is very easy to get around town from here. It can get a little noisy because of the open spaces above the doors (pretty common in Uganda), so I tended to wake up as early as the first guests started their days. But nonetheless I felt comfortable enough in my room. Bathroom facilities basic but working & I was happy with the mosquito net above my bed, even though I haven't seen one bug in my room (it was November).

Most staff members were really nice and helpful. I enjoyed the Ugandan lunch/dinner and breakfast was simple but good enough. I was able to get quite some work done, in the restaurant (wifi & nice gospel music!), the juice bar, the business center and in my room (desk). A walk up to the church is definitely a must, even if you're an atheist like me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 104 in Kampala
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 104 in Kampala
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 104 in Kampala
256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namirembe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namirembe Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 14127 | Plot No. 1085, Willis Road, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: $39 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namirembe Guest Ltd is a Christian establishment owned by the Anglican Church of Uganda and managed by Church Commissioners holding company ltd. Her vision is “to become an ideal home away from home” to all visitors. Namirembe Guest House is an entity established to provide accommodation, food and beverage services to a cross section of guests ranging from missionaries, church workers, businessmen, tourists and other individuals. Corporate clients include Non Governmental Organisations (NGOs), Private Companies and Associations and Government organizations. It is located approximately one and half kilometers from the city centre and right next to the famous Namirembe Cathedral and Church of Uganda Provincial Secretariat Headquarters and commands a magnificent view of Kampala city which was dubbed by one of the guests as “A million dollar view.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Namirembe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namirembe Guest House Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing