We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Namirembe Guest House
Ranked #10 of 224 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed at this guest house again for 12 days in December. I have no complaints about the accommodation or the staff, who once again were helpful and friendly. From memory a single room is 72,000/- (ugandan shillings - currently around 3,750 to £1), and a double around 82,000/-. There are some rooms with 3 beds in; some are en suite, some aren't. I had some problems with sleeping, but not because of the accommodation, but again because of inconsiderate guests. I was told by the reception staff that I should have let them know. (They are now in a temporary office a short distance away). Incidentally, there is a security post at the gate with armed guard; also a small craft shop. You can buy cheaper at craft markets, but if you need to buy a gift in a hurry, this is handy.

The guest house is being renovated & extended. The accommodation on the site is in several large units. The most popular block is the one that is being extended. Please don't let this put you off going there. I stayed in a room next to the building site. Work did not start until 9am and was over by the time it was dark (I was never there earlier that this - 6.30pm). The area is kept immaculately clean - the staff work really hard to ensure that the place isn't even dusty outside.

There is a wide range of food items on the menu, which are freshly cooked for you and come steaming hot. There is also a buffet every lunch time and evening. Fridays are barbecue evening. Breakfast is between 7am and 9.30am. Again you can order omelettes freshly cooked and there is a range of other foods/fruit to choose from.

The only reason I have marked this as "very good" instead of "excellent" is that some of the staff have been laid off because of the building work. While the service is still very good, it can take a little longer than it used to for things you ordered to arrive. Compared to other places I've stayed, it is still much better. I am visiting Uganda again in April and will certainly book myself in here again even though I know the building work will still be continuing. Can I give a better recommendation than that?. .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reesiea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 64 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

2 of us stayed for 20days...great experience for on a budget and needing just bare necessities for our missions stay. bed very comfortable and mosquito nets helped so much. Breakfast is at 7am, lunch about 1pm, and dinner 7pm.... breakfast free pay small fee for lunch and dinner. Clean towels daily and tiny bars of soap....showers worked hot/cold toilet flushed -refilled slowly...that was okay.... enjoyed the view and the closeness to Sanyu Babies home... always easy to get transportation... even had my laundry done twice!.... it is done the old fashion way, if sun isnt shinning your laundry wont be returned next day.... Enjoyed stay and enjoyed the food... lots of pineapple Yummy and beans rice veggies and potatoes and cooked green bannanas mashed... matoike I think... I liked it.... good variety... Soda Pop with metal caps and bottled water.....I would stay here again...Staff is extremely courteous and helpful; wonderful smiles and greetings always.. Friday nights are Special Bar-b que chicken pork and beef... never got sick on any of the food here.....ate lots of chips (thick french fries) oh so GOOD... Thanks to all at the Namirembe Guest House for a GREAT STAY..... also it is Christian based and play same music and have a room if you have large groups and want time for meetings or devotions just let them know time and day... they even will bring your food to you.... what service and enjoyment. THANKS AGAIN

Room Tip: great for person or groups on a budget and want nice accomadations and excellent food and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janice f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is a Christian Guest House, owned by the Church of Uganda, so there is no alcohol for sale. I have stayed in Uganda 7 times now and during htis time I have stayed in 2 other guest houses in Kampala. This is by far the best. You have to remember that you are in a developing country though. In Uganda the pressure of water is weak so having water actually come through the showers is a bonus. This guest house had lots of hot water. It is immaculately kept and spotlessly clean.

The usual problems can arise, e.g. they have British electrical 3 pin sockets but the TV has 2 round pins. Because of this our plugs can slip in and out easily and so batteries don't always get charged, but I have found this to be the case everywhere. Like all the other hotels I have stayed in in Uganda, the walls are thin and in the Namirembe there are louvre windows above the room doors. Unfortunately, while we were there on this trip there were a group of very loud Americans who completely ignored the rule on the noticeboard to be considerate to other guests after 10pm and were obviously not capable of thinking of such a thing themselves.

The Namirembe shines because they really do have a magnifenct view over the city of Kampala as the hotel is situated on one of the hills surrounding the city. Be aware that not all of the rooms have this view though. However, the restaurant comprises tables out of doors from which you can leisurely enjoy the panoramic views, as well as indoor tables. Breakfast is beautifully presented and eggs / omelettes are cooked fresh and hot to order. It is possible to have lunch and evening meals there too. On Fridays they have a barbecue. The meals are kind of Ugandan, but with Chips on offer too. You serve yourself from a buffet unless you are having a meal off the menu. Again, I have not had any stomach upset whilst staying at the NGH. Service is excellent, especially from a young waiter called Mike, who really tries to give you his best for the hotel in a friendly but polite manner.

There are very few rooms with double beds, though there are plenty of twin rooms and single rooms and a few family rooms. Some have verandahs overlooking the city and all are en suite. The best place I find is in the hotel above reception, but this is upstairs. There are various buildings of different styles on the grounds. They have a Business Centre with Internet facilites, a hairdressing salon, a juice cafe and the restaurant. There is even a small craft shop onsite.

A twin room costs 82,000/- per night for bed and breakfast and a single costs 72,000/-. (Currently the exchange rate is good for us - almost 4,000/- to the £) This is excellent value for excellent service, excellent food and a fantastic view. I certaily will go there for the foreseeable future and I go a couple of times a year with the charity I represent.

Room Tip: Room in main building above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Reesiea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Geared for modest travelers, the Namirembe GH is connected with the Namirembe ( Anglican ) Cathedral next door. It is popular with missionaries, volunteers and backpackers. Basic accommodation in a great location only 10 minutes from the centre of the city or to Makarere University.. Has a wonderful view of the city from the restaurant patio. Clean and secure. Receptionist Josephine is particularly friendly and helpful. Ask for a room not looking down towards the National Mosque because of the early morning call to prayer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuktukcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

A bit isolated, not much within walking distance. It's comfortable, with average food. Dinner is a buffet and not served until 7PM, which can be a problem. The views are great, but it overlooks the Gaddafi Mosque and the 5AM prayer calls are hard to sleep through. As it's a Church of Uganda Guesthouse it seems to be mostly frequented my Missionaries and is probably not the best place for tourists. But it was comfortable and relaxing overall.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drakeflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

A group of 26 of us stayed for 2 weeks while visiting a children's centre in the area. The rooms were basic but clean and a few had just been painted. The view is wonderful. Staff were all extrememly courteous and helpful. We would all choose to stay there again if visiting Kampala. Yes, there are occasions when showers do not work and things are not completed as they would be in the UK but this is Uganda. When you visit another culture you have to be flexible and adapt to how things are. We felt very welcome by all the Ugandan people and look forward to going back

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at Namirembe for 6 nights and I would recommend the accomodation to anyone who is thinking of travelling to Kampala. It was clean, rooms were basic but always clean and the mosquito net was a blessing. We were lucky and our shower only did not work once during our 6 nights, however this is a small problem compared to what you will see in and around the city. I thanked god for being able to have the bed at night but there are thousands who dont. It is in a great location and the views from the guest house are amazing. the food was also fine and very cheap, there was always something there to eat even for fussy eaters. The staff are very friendly also and will do anything for you. On my return to Uganda, (god willing) I will most definately stay at Namirembe. Also the rooms either have fans or AC.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl_5a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 105 in Kampala
769 reviews
1.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 105 in Kampala
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
1.3 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 105 in Kampala
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namirembe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namirembe Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 14127 | Plot No. 1085, Willis Road, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: $35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namirembe Guest Ltd is a Christian establishment owned by the Anglican Church of Uganda and managed by Church Commissioners holding company ltd. Her vision is “to become an ideal home away from home” to all visitors. Namirembe Guest House is an entity established to provide accommodation, food and beverage services to a cross section of guests ranging from missionaries, church workers, businessmen, tourists and other individuals. Corporate clients include Non Governmental Organisations (NGOs), Private Companies and Associations and Government organizations. It is located approximately one and half kilometers from the city centre and right next to the famous Namirembe Cathedral and Church of Uganda Provincial Secretariat Headquarters and commands a magnificent view of Kampala city which was dubbed by one of the guests as “A million dollar view.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Namirembe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namirembe Guest House Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing