We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, cozy place; a bit of a sanctuary in Kampala.”
Review of Banda Inns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banda Inns
Ranked #2 of 224 Kampala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Banda Inns was a great place to stay. The room was very comfortable, the food was good, the beer was cold and Steven and Asteria are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 155 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

The hotel staff was very friendly which makes you feel very comfortable and welcome in the Banda Inns. I will surely come back there if I will return to Kampala. The situation of the hotel is very quiet, what makes you can sleep very good. The food is very good, and you can be very flexible in the time you would like to have your dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanatWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

This is the second Easter running that we have stayed in Banda Inn.It was a pleasure to return again to stay here. For a group of about 20 it is an excellent place to stay since we make up most of the guests and therefore feel 'at home'.
Steven and his wife are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeacherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Kampala can be very stressful--it's busy, crowded and high-paced. Banda Inns was the perfect place to retreat to--it was blissfully quiet, safe with beautifully manicured grounds and a friendly staff. One of the best things about it is Banda Inns is locally run and owned, so you can still get a really good taste of Uganda without sacrificing the basic comforts you'd expect from home.

I had a lot to accomplish in Kampala in a very short period of time, and I could not have done it without my driver Rogers Masaba--who was not only savvy and painstakingly honest but he also had tons of insider information about how to get things done at the cheapest prices possible. Since Kampala has a brutal bartering culture--this was a huge help and gave me lots of peace of mind. His number is [--] or you can email him at [--] and tell him Jen sent you. This guy was gold.

Asteria, the co-owner of Banda Inns, was the perfect host. It was great to chat with her at the end of the day and get her perspective on my project. I also was impressed with how safe my things were at Banda Inns. Asteria runs a tight ship while infusing the whole place with warmth and comfort. The girls working for her are gems. If you're relocating to Kampala and need temporary housing or just need to relax, this place is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenlemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

My 2nd visit here ... and I can't imagine going elsewhere. Banda Inns is located atop lush Tank Hill in lower Muyenga ... where it is peaceful, green and leafy, wifi wired, within walking distance to a fabulous Italian supermarket, an innovative wine "bar" and fairly good Chinese, Ethiopian and Indian restaurants and yet only 15 minutes to city centre via boda boda (motorbike taxis).

What brings me back, however, is the tranquil, serene garden ... and warm hospitality chez Asteria and Steven and their lovely staff. Whatever your day plans, it is simply nice to come "home" ... to clean safe environs and that je ne sais quoi quality of feeling at home.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
Thank janinaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our group stayed at the Banda Inn for nine nights in November while we visited orphanages in the Kampala area. I stumbled on the website through a "google" search and the entire group was SO glad. Asteria, Steven & crew were not only helpful - they made us feel at home and were available whenever we needed them. They hosted a BBQ on our last night there that was fabulous!
We cannot say enough good things about Banda Inn. We will be going back in 2010 and hope to stay there again. The website clearly depicts the physical aspects of the accomadations but it can never portray the gracious spirits of our hosts! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Simple, basic accommodation. Charming and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PensionersWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Makindye Country Club
Makindye Country Club
#1 of 224 in Kampala
111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Biyem Hotel
Biyem Hotel
#4 of 224 in Kampala
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apricot Guest House
Apricot Guest House
#3 of 224 in Kampala
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#15 of 224 in Kampala
38 reviews
1 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#8 of 224 in Kampala
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: $25 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing