We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Review of Banda Inns

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banda Inns
Ranked #1 of 209 Kampala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed in Banda Inns for a month (May-June 2014) and it made a foreign city feel like home. Ours was a group of 13 people from a university, so we were pretty needy. Whatever we needed, Steven and Astaria took care of it. They arranged airport transfers, daily transportation to wherever we needed -- sometimes even picking up very late at night, cooked our meals, did our laundry and reconfigured the rooms to how we needed them. Whatever it was we needed that day, we could count on them, and it was all for a very affordable cost.

Great staff -- both good at their jobs, and also friendly and great to get to know. Delicious meals. Safe transportation. There is WiFi throughout. The rooms even come with power strips for your U.S. plugs and USB ports; they think of everything. Laundry and breakfast are included in the price (the breakfast includes both a continental spread and made-to-order meals, including omelettes, waffles, etc.). It's within walking distance of some restaurants, bars and stores, but like I said, if you want to go somewhere outside of walking distance, you can order a ride. I would recommend this place to anyone traveling to Kampala.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are newer and have a good view of the city.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Thank you Audrie for the generous review. It was a pleasure hosting your group because they were organized and very well behaved. We hope to see you again next year.
steven, Banda Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Banda Inns
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 151 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

I feel very much at home at Banda Inns, having stayed there for 3 weeks in March 2014 and 3 weeks in November 2013 on work assignments. The place itself is very quiet, peaceful and green and located in a central but pleasant area of Kampala (Muyenga). The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Wifi connectivity, power supply and showers work very well (which does not go without saying in Uganda), a laundry service is provided free of charge. I expecially enjoyed fresh fruit, omelette and cappuccino for breaktfast sitting on the lovely patio, overlooking the beautiful garden. Stephen and Asteria and their staff are the friendliest, most helpful and reliable hosts one can imagine. I will definitely stay with them again!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor have their own terrace with a view of the Kampala hills.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2014

Thank you Andrea for pointing out the 3 areas we are proud to promote WiFi connectivity, stable power supply and hot shower. We highly appreciate your stays with us and the rest of your group, and hope to see you again in the near future.
steven, Banda Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My friend and myself stayed one night in Banda Inns. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. Breakfast was excellent; the best in Uganda. The owner Steve is very helpful and friendly and makes you feel at home. We could even leave our luggage (free of charge) whilst we were travelling to Jinja. If you are staying in Kampala this is a germ!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 155Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

It is the third time I stay in Banda Inns. It is simple but perfect. The first place with enough power connectors in the rooms, perfect WIFI all over the place, caring staff. Coming in after working hard at 9 pm they do not hesitate to prepare some food for you. Rooms are clean, place is quiet, owner and staff is friendly. Your laundry will be washed for free, the breakfast is o.k!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank WillemvP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place is quite hard to find if you are not paying attention. The signs are quite small and hidden. Coming from the Sheraton to Banda Inn is quite an adjustment, but the rooms are clean and had all the amenities.

+1 Clean Basic rooms with mosquito nets (try to get the rooms upstairs, more sunlight) The
rooms downstairs are a little bigger, but it was very dark
+1 Great service, laundry fresh fruits and breakfast available
+1 cable TV in the living room

-1 Get last minute rates that are 20% off online. I had trouble processing the payment but the owners honored the price anyway after much debate and proving what the price is online. 90 Euros for a room for 3.
- 1 should try to get mosquito nets in the living room and missed my breakfast order

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are better
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I traveled to Kampala to adopt my daughter and had the joy of staying at this wonderful and very convenient location. Appreciated the cleanliness, the great food, the wonderful staff and of course the dear owners and thier two boys! Can't wait to go back and visit!!! I stayed her for 2 months with my father and daughter!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krlubiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hidden gem in Kampala located in Muyenga area. I discovered in by chance thanks to review on this site. The place can be difficult to locate given that there are no sign posts other than a small sign on the wall of the property itself. Banda is very clean and homey, I stayed for four days and had a wonderful time of it.

The rooms are nice and spacious (if you get the single self contained ones) with a mosquito net to ward off this pesky beasts. A small reading table, chair and lamp are also provided; banda inns has complimentary wireless internet for guests which is reasonable fast. The showers are good with high water pressure. Breakfast at Banda is wonderful; guests make a selection which is then freshly prepared, seasonal fruits, toast and juice are also provided.

The staff at Banda are great and the owner, Steve is always on hand to deal with any serious issues. When settling my bill, my account was accidentally debited twice but Steve was kind enough to e mail about it and follow up to ensure that the transaction was reversed. If you are travelling to Kampala, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Small, busy place, book well in advance to get the better rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
660 reviews
2.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#14 of 209 in Kampala
38 reviews
1.0 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#5 of 209 in Kampala
50 reviews
4.1 mi away
ICU Guesthouse
ICU Guesthouse
#8 of 209 in Kampala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: $25 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing