We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked the Stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banda Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banda Inns
Ranked #1 of 174 Kampala B&B and Inns
Thorn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liked the Stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

BandaInns is a great B & B for people like business travelers. I traveled to Uganda and stayed at this guest house where I found clean rooms, warm welcoming staff and peaceful environment. However, I was troubled by the working conditions of staff who worked hard to meet guest's needs. When other staff are days off, only one person is left to do the cooking, cleaning and laundry for guests. This leaves them so worked up and tired some of whom end up having complications. I had also never seen a lady untrained who opens the gate beyond 7.30pm in the night. This is unethical and besides the guest house does not have a guard to protect the premises at night which troubled me so much. I hope management looks into these issues, otherwise everything was okay to me as a traveler.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Staff are lacking/ need more help
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AVDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    38
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
23
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

This is a wonderful, simple and peaceful guest house on the outskirts of Kampala. It is well situated and within a walking distance of nice shops and restaurants. They offer clean, well-kept rooms and plenty of Ugandan hospitality. Though the menu options are a bit limited, the meals are well prepared and hearty. Steve, Asteria and the staff are very generous and welcoming and the environment is homey and family-oriented. They offer many additional services, such as airport pick up, car hire and WI-FI, at reasonable prices. This is an excellent place to stay if you are traveling on business or on holiday with your family. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Peaceful, relaxing environment
  • Disliked — More menu options would have been nice for lunch and dinner.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wakesho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2007

My wife, our one year old daughter and I stayed at Banda Inns during our first trip as a family to Uganda. Banda Inns was very accommodating, well located to the office where I work in the Muyenga area of Kampala, and close to several good restaurants (Cafe Roma and Indian Summer). The service at Banda is excellent, the rooms are comfortable, and the staff are friendly. Added perks include free wireless and free laundry - both very helpful bonuses during extended travel with family. I have recommended Banda Inns to friends and we plan to return each time we're in Kampala.

  • Liked — Location near to non-profit offices
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiguinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

The owner of this B and B is Steve. He is half Ugandan and half Norwegian. A really nice, honest man who will look to try to accomodate you and make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very simple (as is true for most mid range budget places in Uganda). But the rooms are clean. There is running hot water. Note that he location is slightly out of the city and is a $6 taxi ride (called special hire) into downtown. This is also a plus becuase it is very quite. The clientelle seems to be mostly foreign NGO types. There is wireless internet for free. The cook, Rose, is also pretty good and will prepare a full entree (tilapia or spagetti with meatballs) for $6. There are good restaurants within walking distance; for Italian go to Cafe Roma and for Indian go to Indian Summer. Note there is no street sign for this B and B and is hard for a taxi driver to find. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alexbblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2007

Banda Inn is a relax, calm and homey place to live in.
I was there with my husband and my 7 year old son as we had just come to Uganda to settle for a new position. The staff was very nice, welcoming and helpful. Steve the owner and his associate Dorothy gave us sound advice and help when it was time to get transportation, rent a house, buy furnitures, employ house staff and many more. The Inn staff and Rose especially made sure that we felt at home and were extremely helpful for looking after our son as we were running around town. That was greatly appreciated.
The rooms are nice and quiet . You can either be isolated or mix with the different guests in the living room or the veranda when you feel like it.
The food at the Inn was very good and Kabalagala is a treasury of cheap and excellent restaurants (try the Italian ice cream or the Abyssinian Cafe nearby) if looking for a change.
The area is so nice we finally settled nearby. Our son was very sorry when came time to leave, but Steve made sure to give him something to remember the Inn: we walked away with a lovely puppy !
Note: the staff sure works hard just as does the owner and every body at the Inn, but they did get days off during our three weeks stay. It is misleading to suggest otherwise. The working atmosphere was excellent as far as I could see.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OshunKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2007

ETHICAL TOURISM? We were deeply troubled by the working conditions of staff. We stayed for a month and LOVED this guest house - it's clean, peaceful, homely and the staff are second to none. HOWEVER, in the month we stayed there, the three women who work SO hard to meet the needs of all the guests, never had a single day off. They work for three or four months at a stretch without a break, even though they are all married and have children. We raised this issue with Steven the owner [ who is an extemely helpful host! ] and he says he is aware that this is not ideal. We would very much like to return here next year........? We hope there will be more staff to carry the workload...? If you are concerned about ethical tourism please raise this issue with Steven as we did.

  • Liked — The extremely friendly and heplful staff.
  • Disliked — The FACT that the staff work for three or four months at a stretch without getting a day off!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthCoastLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

I stayed at Banda Inns on my first visit to Kampala this past August. The property is really quiet and beautiful, the staff are lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean, the showers are hot, and the internet connection is good. The breakfasts on the terrace were especially nice. The place is really affordable (especially in comparison to the ridiculously expensive place we stayed later, downtown, where there was no hot water ...) and is above the pollution and noise of Central Kampala (though maybe not so convenient, unless you have a car). My only complaint at the time was that they were doing construction to add additional rooms, which made for some noise and dirt during the day. But once the construction is complete, I expect that Banda will be even more fabulous.
(Amy Hill, Center for Digital Storytelling, Berkeley, California, U.S.A.)

  • Liked — Friendly, warm, relaxed
  • Disliked — Construction noise and debris, but that is temporary : )
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank A_from_Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
8.8 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#17 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
2.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.0 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#3 of 174 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Property: Banda Inns
Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banda Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing