We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It ticked all the boxes of what I needed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banda Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banda Inns
Ranked #1 of 174 Kampala B&B and Inns
cape town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It ticked all the boxes of what I needed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had to go to Kampala on business and the main client was within walking distance so he chose where I was to stay. If you need to be in the centre of all the NGO's and have a quiet spot this is it!!

It is a clean & comfortable spot with a garden setting. It is owner run, the breakfast is great. I tried a number of different dinners while staying there for the week and all were good.

There is a great coffee shop 5 mins walk away if you need a great cappuccino try Care Kawa.

There is unlimited free FAST wifi as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fundionafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    38
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
23
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've been visiting Kampala for the last 7 years and have stayed in two other hotels/guesthouses there - both very central. It was nice to be in Muyenga - a pleasant suburb - for a change.

I booked Banda Inns this time and stayed there for about a week. I could not have been happier with it and really enjoyed my time there. Nice, clean, tastefully decorated rooms, decent en suite with hot water, good service, friendly staff and guests. A really nice, relaxed and hospitable atmosphere has been created by the owners, who live on site and run a pretty tight ship. Free wifi. The house is lovely and the gardens are beautiful. There is a large balcony at the front with big, comfy sofas amongst the flowering tree tops - perfect for relaxing after a trip into town. Good breakfast every day that often left me too full for lunch. I had dinner there a couple of times too - delicious tilapia.

I was initially a bit worried about being less central than usual. I like to be able to go in and out of the centre easily without having to taxi everywhere. I was relieved to find public transport to be incredibly straightforward from very near the hotel. The matutus (locally called taxis, but holding 14 or more passengers) run regularly from the main road straight into central Kampala.
Near Banda Inns are some good dining options, such as Cafe Roma, Ethiopean Village Restaurant and Cafe Kawa. A Barclays bank with 24 hour ATM is nearby and an Italian supermarket.
I hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Portal, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I spent a week at the Banda Inn and was very pleased with the stay and accommodations. The staff very extremely friendly and helpful, the food was above average, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. On a map it appears that the hotel is far from the city centre but for someone used to big cities in the U.S. it's actually not far at all (not like staying in Brooklyn and trying to go to Manhattan in the day like I thought it would be).

The neighborhood has everything you need to be comfortable and content for a short or long stay. Within 5 minutes walking distance there's a great cafe, a very nice supermarket, an ATM, numerous delicious restaurants, a top-notch hospital and plenty of boutiques for shopping.

I'm planning on returning to Kampala soon and I'll be very disappointed if the Banda isn't available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at Banda Inns for four days in mid-August and was very pleased with my time there. The owners were very friendly and the room was more than adequate. The bed was quite large and the breakfast was great. I particularly enjoyed the french press coffee option and the Nutella availability. Banda Inns is just off Tank Hill road at the bottom of the hill, and it is very close to Cafe Kawa and the Italian Grocery store. I was very happy to have daily laundry service too! Drawbacks - the fan in the room was loud and it can take more than 24 hours to get your laundry back. Overall, I hope to stay here again and would highly recommend it to all travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed several nights and the hosts were very accomodating. They have good food and a comfortable night's sleep. Wifi is available in the room, which is not often available in 2 other places we stayed in Uganda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WFrank60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladsaxe, Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

In September 2012 I stayed in this nice, cosy family inn, where there is a wonderful garden. I really enjoyed staying because the host family is relaxed and service minded. The breakfast is served on the terrace and you have a list of optional dishses that you order the night before. Thank for a great week.

Room Tip: The rooms on first floor are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen9260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went back to Uganda for the first time in many years and found Banda Inns the perfect place to stay. Great value for money, good location, excellent service, lovely garden and overall a very comfortable place to spend any amount of time. I will definitely be back, both to Kampala and to Banda Inns!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#16 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.0 mi away
Papaya Holiday Home
Papaya Holiday Home
#4 of 174 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Property: Banda Inns
Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banda Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing