We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banda Inns
Nearby Hotels
$159
$145
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
$261
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
$189
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$130
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$49
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$103
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
105
41
7
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
41
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstank hillfree laundrybeautiful gardenthree weekshome away from homeclothes washingpower supplylaundry servicegreat place to stayrooms are spacious and cleanyogurtinteresting peoplebusy kampalawalking distancevisit kampalahot watersteven
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 157 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent a week in Banda Inns, and I can say I have truly enjoyed the stay. The entire place is very cosy and relaxed. There is good food - especially a fantastic breakfast - and the wonderful staff is very attentive and always looking out for your well-being. Kampala can be a busy city, and this is the perfect place to take a breath.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Banda Inns is a cosy place at Tank Hill in Kampala. Its a family driven business and has a homey feel to it. It is simple, but has everything you will need. The breakfast is nice with fruits, toast, different egg options and waffles. The staff is very nice and the rooms are clean. The owners are knowledgable about Kampala & Uganda and always willing to help. They also offer tours at fair prices.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank qindakusowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Banda Inns is a nice place to stay for a few nights. The garden is an oasis - a great start into the day having your breakfast on the cozy terrace with a nice view into the nicely arranged garden. We enjoyed going for scrambled eggs and omelettes every morning and the staff was very nice. One day there was a darker wholegrain bread/toast, which was very delicious. The Internet is working perfectly. The rooms are okay, working for the hospitality industry myself I would renew/fix a few things, but to be honest I have expected less. After the first night we got a more comfortabel moscito net which was a very nice geste. What really was a pitty, is that it one day took ~3 hours until our room was cleaned, but the dustbin for example was not emptied, there was no toilet paper and the towels were forgotton. The fan in the room is very strong but also very loud. The furniture on the terrace could be renewed (the cushions) a little aswell. This are not big issues at all but could be avoided. If possible make sure that the Askari opens the door when you get back home at night.. depending on his mood the dog can be a really good watchdog ;).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Kenegy

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

1. We pride ourselves with good housekeeping. It is highly regrettable you experienced slow and sub-standard cleaning during your stay. Banda Inns will revise it's housekeeping procedures and improve the staff training to make it consistent.

2. Banda Inns have different fan types mounted on the wall and for the table. We are aware that some of these fans are a bit too strong and will replace them within the shortest possible time.

3. Some of the furniture on the balcony has just been replaced, however Banda Inns will continue to replace the older furniture over the next few months.

Innkeeper
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My first stay at Banda Inns was peaceful and enjoyable. The staff are extremely friendly and efficient. Food was delicious. Atmosphere is a peaceful, green oasis just outside the city. Transportation and excursion arrangements were always reliable. Fast internet available throughout premises. The bonfire BBQ was fantastic!

Room Tip: Upstairs corner room was bright, spacious with plenty of fresh air, with a huge, private veranda just outside the door.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you Darcy!

We enjoyed your company along with your group and are happy to hear you enjoyed your last night's BBQ. We would also like to thank you once again for the free advise and fine tuning of our WiFi network you provided during your stay. The internet connection is now stable and reliabe, much appreciated by other visitors and ourselves.

Innkeeper
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Its a nice place to stay, not too far of the city. Easy to find.
Personnel is realy friendly. The food is average but the breakfast is ok
Rooms are for EU people a little bit outdated but for Uganda is a good and safe place to stay. Overall its a good place to stay.
Wireless works good.
We start living here in Uganda and we spent the weekends in Kampala. So Banda Inns could be the hotel for more stays.

Room Tip: Nice veranda on the first floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank You for your feedback!

Steven
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews