We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep away”
Review of Banda Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banda Inns
Ranked #1 of 195 Kampala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep away”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed one night at banda In Kampala and that was too long. We booked it because we read great reviews of this place on trip advisor. The room itself was OK, but not clean and the bed was not comfortable and the rooms are not ensuite as I anticipated.

The service was not great save for the owners. Keep away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We regret to hear about your unpleasent experience after staying with us. Banda Inns have a system for cleaning of rooms, that have in the past given us high customer satisfaction and still does. Obviously this was not followed in this case. We have revised our procedures and hope such an incident will not happen again.

Feel free to contact us to the discuss the matter further at tamale@bandainns.com.

Steven Tamale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    40
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
24
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My work is in the Muyenga neighborhood of Kampala, which makes Banda Inns an ideal lodging. I visit Uganda 3-5 times a year now, spent a good part of 2007 in Mbarara and have enjoyed a good amount time in the country as a graduate student and now non-academic researcher. Banda Inns is home away from home with comfortable rooms, convenient breakfast, DSTV in the common living space, wireless, free laundry and reasonable rates. The owners have great suggestions for getting around the country and offer a relaxed environment for a pleasant short term stay. There are decent restaurants in the area and even a wine bar within walking distance. For someone traveling on NGO work or looking for a space where the children can run around a bit, the value is great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiguinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank You Chiguinda for the feedback! It's always a pleasure hosting you.

Steven
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Banda Inns is located in a quiet location out of city centre, but still close to several restaurants and good connections to the centre. Rooms were good and clean. The thing that makes this place one of my all time favorites is the people who run this place. They really made us feel like home.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeemuJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BandaInns, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank You TeemuJa for the feedback!

Steven
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I arrived in Kampala without a hotel booking. A friend/colleague suggested going Banda Inns and I was happy I listened.

The hotel is situated in Muyenga, Tank Hill. A place outside the busy centre but in an area where many NGOs reside.

The costs are low esp. if you compare them to standard hotel rooms. I stayed at a room on the first floor. Nice spacious room. The spiral stairs up can be a bit challenging for some

internet woorked fine at reasonable costs

Staff is very friendly; breakfast is good and it’s nice to sit and enjoy breakfast in a garden environment.

There is no problem in organising a shuttle to town and almost all taxi drivers know to find the place. I liked it very much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We've just come back from our family trip to Uganda, where we mainly stayed at Banda Inns. Steven and Asteria and the other staff working at Banda Inns made our stay very special. It was so nice being able to get to know Ugandans more personally than we would have managed in a larger hotel and we really appreciated this. We were also very well taken care of by James and Kafero on our trips aorund the country. Thank you so much for a fantastic stay!
Anne Bjorlykke, Bergen, Norway

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Bjorlykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at Banda Inn in early April 2011. We arrived late on a Fri eve and decided to hang out on the patio Sat. Morning. While on the patio one of the gals working there asked for our key to clean our room. Over an hour later we went in to our room.....my entire suitcase was a mess, and everything out of its place! I went through it....knowing exactly what I had because I only brought a carry on for myself. There were 8 clothing items missing from my bag , 3 clothing items missing from my friends bag and $200 cash from my friends backpack...very obvious her wallet was out of place. We went to speak to Kafeero the manager...he seemed distraught and said he would find our things or reimburse us $$ for the items missing....he said this was the policy of the hotel. To make a long story short...we left on tour the next day and told him to contact Great Lakes about our things amd we would come by when back. We called Kafeero upon return and he told us to stop at the hotel and speak with Esteem. When we got here she said they looked everywhere , did not find our things and would not be reimbursing us. She then proceeded to call us BLACKMAILERS !! I was shocked at how we were treated, let alone someone who works there going in our room and robbing us ! All employees were still working there when we returned. There are many nice reasonably priced, SAFE hotels to stay at in Kampala.....do not stay at Banda Inns !!! Lock your things if you do and don't let anyone go in your room. This was a terrible way to start our time Uganda, a wonderful country and many trustworthy honest people. Everything stolen from our bags were newer and totaling over $300 not to include the $200 cash stolen.....definitely not worth the $75 a night room at Banda !!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ltravel4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Banda Inns, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Management regret to hear about your bad experience at Banda Inns. New procedures have been put in place to prevent similar incidents happen in the future. We advise all visitors to keep valuables locked up in their suitcases or bring valuables to our locker for safe keeping (free of charge).

We are open to discuss the matter further. Feel free to contact us at tamale@bandainns.com.

Steven Tamale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Very beautiful garden, Friendly and proff mangement. Staff very polite and eager to do whatever to make you feel at ease. The shuttle service is excelent. Good breakfast. good fee for service internet connection. Rooms vary, some are fairly new on first floor and some are older and on groundfloor. All are clean with sheets changed twice to three times a week. The first floor rooms are the best .

Room Tip: High value for money in an open/warm atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
3.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
8.8 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
2.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 100 in Kampala
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#13 of 195 in Kampala
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banda Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banda Inns

Property: Banda Inns
Address: 2497 Lubbobbo Close | off Tank Hill Road, Kampala 3785, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Bed & Breakfast in Kampala. Peaceful and quiet neighborhood, ideal for holiday or business trips. Short distance and easy access to town. Many restaurants in the neighborhood. Full breakfast and laundry included in all prices. Airport pick-up also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Banda Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing