We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice place, but could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Bougainviller

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Bougainviller
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Kampala
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This review is for the restaurant only. Most of my colleague are staying there short term because of proximity, the place seems ok. The restaurant is good, the menu is simple but constant. The restaurant definitely has that french feel, but the service is sooo lacking ...

The staff seem in a hurry to fly off in the middle of your ordering, but not to bring you a simple glass of wine (the wine is not that good). My colleagues told me that the breakfast is minimal and it is really hard to get it before 7h15 ... and just ordering a scrambled egg can take half an hour ...

The place is clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    11
    3
    9
See reviews for
4
9
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

the hotel is very quaint and feels like a little piece of France in Uganda, the staff are very competent and knowledgeable. There are supermarkets within walking distance and the food is excellent. I particularly enjoyed the little courtyard garden off the restaurant with vines and lights, it was truly restful after a hot, hard days' work

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have stayed in Le Bougainvillier for the period of three days and I have encoutered the affection and friendship from the owner to the least cleaner.
The climate will remind you of being at home and you think to be back for the service rended to the clients. The personnel is professional and treat thye client with all respect.
As long as I have to be at Kampala, Le Boungainviller will always be my home.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clement K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for ten days on a business trip. It is, as described in another review, an oasis in the city. You walk through the doors and enter a different world, away from the dusty hustle and bustle of an African city.
I found the owner to be friendly and all the staff, without exception, to be very friendly and only to willing to help make my stay more comfortable.
I was there over a weekend, and asked the front desk to help me with touristy day trips. The lady was only too happy to help and made suggestions and gave plenty of guidance. She then made phone calls to arrange a driver/guide for me.
The bottled water in the fridge in my room was charged for, but it cost US$1 and not 8 as claimed in a previous review. This is an average price for bottled water in Africa and I was quite happy to pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulu, Uganda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've stayed at bougainviller several times in the past few years and have come to believe that it is the best value for money in town. It is such a struggle to find a place to stay in kla that is quiet, safe, clean, slightly luxurious, and has all the western amenities you want while staying in the "big city". I have stayed at other more expensive options in town (200 per night range) and am almost always disappointed in some way. I also love this hotel because there is a lovely quaint feeling you get wandering through the brick pathways and gardens. My only complaint is the service can leave a bit to be desired but the shower is high pressured and hot, the food is consistently good, the beer is cold, and the private patios in some of the rooms are a precious hideaway from the stresses out in the city. I will always recommend this place first when asked.

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor rooms on the restaurant side of the hotel, though the first floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is my "home away from home" when I'm visiting Kampala, the hotel is a favourite with the company I work for.
The rates are good, the rooms are perfectly furnished for both business traveller and tourist alike, and it's something different from all those nameless atmosphere-less big chain hotels.
The Bougainviller offers spacious rooms divided in to two sections. Until now I had always stayed on the "pool side" of the hotel, but this was now the first time that I was on the "French village" side opposite the road.
Again very nicely done, you would swear you were in a small French village. The rooms are slightly smaller than on the "pool side" or at least mine (nr 33) was, but still generously big enough to have all the space you need.
I usually only always had breakfast while staying here, which is excellent with fresh fruit, toast, juice and a variety of egg dishes to chose from, but this time we finally ended up eating in "Le Bistro" as well, the hotel's restaurant.
Great food, all done with the special French touch, and great wines. If you're nice to the owner, Bruno, he might get you one of his special bottles.....

If I could think of anything that could need improvement it would only be the lighting on the "village" side of the hotel. I arrived late at night and nearly broke my neck on the stairs as I couldn't see the steps.
Apart from that nothing to complain, the wifi was working perfectly (and is for free/ included in the price) and I always had plenty of hot water to shower.

Room Tip: Depends on what you like, the "poolside" rooms are in general bigger and are closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was there on a business trip with several colleagues and we still speak about this horrendous experience until today and even considered legal actions but decide to laugh about this and warn other travelers instead.

The property is nice, a French oasis in Kampala with a restaurant serving average/decent food and wine and charming rooms named after famous French singers. The breakfast is underwhelming at best but ok for the room price (bon rapport qualite / prix).

Big downside about this hotel is the owner, a rude french speaking man who went out of his way to make our stay miserable. Our group was in shock at the poor level of customer service wereceived during our various business dinners and particularly at check out. After a conversation with him to provide feedback, he made it clear that our feedback was not important as the hotel with only a few rooms is fully booked all year round.

We vowed never to return to this property and would encourage other to do the same perhaps only then owner will change his outlook.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LolaN1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#19 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#13 of 93 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.1 mi away
Emin Pasha Hotel
Emin Pasha Hotel
#18 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
4.5 mi away
Ivys Hotel
Ivys Hotel
#32 of 93 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
J-Frigh Hotel
J-Frigh Hotel
#47 of 93 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bougainviller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bougainviller

Property: Hotel Le Bougainviller
Address: Plot 1-7, Katazamiti Road | Kiswa, Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 93 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 5 kilometers away from the heart of Kampala, Hotel Le Bougainviller offers you a unique Mediterranean flair: surrounding a lush terraced garden with a swimming pool and plenty of private hideaways to sit and relax, our hotel rooms are accommodated in a number of luxurious bungalows that combine the comfort of international hotel standards with the charm of a 'village provencal'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Bougainviller Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing