We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property in central Kampala”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Very nice property very close to Parliament and major business activities in Central Kampala. It's located in the middle of a park, far from the hustle and bustle of this African metropolis.
Renovated 2 and 1/2 years ago, it shows opulence and luxury.
The standard rooms are large and clean with all the necessary amenities and a spacious marble bathroom.
Buffet restaurant is good but with limited selection: service is efficient and waiters are polite and helpful.
The only remark: I had a rate of 220 USD per night but at the check in they said the rate was 238 USD: I complained and the attendant promised to fix all which he never did. Upon check out I thought it was too complicated to raise a complaint for 18 USD a night overcharge: however this left some bitterness in my mouth.
In any case, I warmly suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Kampala Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 660 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2008

I stayed at the Serena on business in Nov 2008. This hotel was built by Edi Amin during his rule, but looks as if it is newer. It must have gone through a refit a few years back. The rooms were great, the staff very attentive and the amenities were wonderful. The room was a little hot, and the air conditioning (while quiet) did not seem to adequately address that, but for an emerging country, the hotel was wonderful.

FYI - the lunch buffet is wonderful. Lots of fresh fruit and local and western dishes.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank membermay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This hotel really suited our business meeting for a week in March 2008. Beautiful property with great business facilities and very responsive and attentive staff to meet your every need. I would return again in a heartbeat. They really are first class, safe, clean, and comfortable at this hotel. The rooms are huge and look out over a well manicured and lovely garden area. No complaints whatsoever. The pool is awesome and the food very tasty. Catering and events department there was great as well.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wseattlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2008

We have stayed in a number of Serena Hotels in East Africa. While all Serenas are excellent, this is the best so far with quality rooms, excellent restaurants and superb service. The grounds are lovely, the rooms are comfortable, the health club is terrific, the pool is very good and the restaurants (particularly the Pearl of Africa) are excellent. The service in Serenas is by far the best in the region and this is of a very high standard. The Serena's attitude is that without clients they have no hotel - so they do everything they can to make their clients feel welcome and at home. As with all Serenas, the hotel shows special appreciation of repeat guests. The few minor complaints we have had were all taken seriously and acted upon. For example, during the Commonwealth Meetings security guards damaged bags in inspection. Management immediately addressed the issue. Staff are professionally trained and supervised to assure consistent quality. From housekeeping to the front desk/concierge to the restaurant staff to senior management, this is a first class and professional operation from top to bottom.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank echandobuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

Arrived at 8.30 am local time, after two flights via London, tired & dirty. Room ready for us. Fantastic.
Rooms large, clean good views. Air conditioning works well, not too noisey.
The double bed was the most comfotable I have slept in for some time, Housekeeping was excellent throughout our stay they called mid afternoon, did their bit and again in the evening changed towels turned down etc unlike some European Hotels.

Breakfast very good, Rest of the food was ok, but not European 5 star but fine considering.

If required pack lunches are provided again they are ok,

All in all a good hotel in a very safe location with very good staff that try to please.

Stayed: November 2008
Thank dundrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

i did not stay overnight at the serena but spent a day there as i was staying elsewhere during my visit to uganda.
With members of my family we first choose to have snacks and drinks around the pool area,the views were stunning,loved the gardens and were served by a waiter that had his customer service all worked out...
we had tea which was great .
we stayed on for dinner and had the waiter give us all the options of dining...outside,verandah,indoors...just made it easy and we dined indoors the Ugandan food was fantastic,great variety,the team that served us were great and dedicated.
i left the hotel feeling happy,looked after and thinking...when can i visit next? I live in the u.k.but visit uganda often....will visit serena again soon.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank nfero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

The Kampala Serena was a very nice five star hotel with all the amenities you could possibly want. Lovely pool area and gardens and really spacious, clean and attractive room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FionaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 103 in Kampala
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $300 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing