We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bit of luxury in Kampala”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have been in Kampala for the month and use the excellent gym facilities at the Serena daily including the odd meal or drink. I also stayed there for the weekend. It is an excellent hotel - clean, well-designed, comfortable, good food, and most importantly very well-trained and welcoming staff. The only downside is that it is far and away the most expensive place in town, but also the best.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Peter,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and the rave review on our property and service!

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the health club services and our other amenities.

With regards to your feedback on pricing; we have very competitive pricing as compared to the other hotels in the same segment however, Management guarantees value for your money through the superior product offered and the best of the Serena Hospitality.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon .

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 689 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here last Oct 2013. Hotel is cozy and quiet. Atmosphere is so relaxing and comfortable that one should have after a long day of work.

Room is spacious and clean. Liked the Breakfast. A lot of variety.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Occasiontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear "Occasiontraveller",

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and rave review!

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we exceed all of your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is my go-to hotel in Kampala. Each time I visit, it seems that the little details keep on getting better. This time it was the selection of pillows available in the room. The food at the dining rooms remain high quality and good tasting. The beer price at the bar has gone up unfortunately. Too bad. The only place to stay in Kampala. The staff are excellent and I think the management is doing a great job.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are nice. Great sunrise in the morning. Very green and peaceful. The 4th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Drssyoon,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments and rave review!

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we exceed all of your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

With regards to your feedback on the beer pricing, I can definitely assure you that like our rooms, the food/beverage and other guest services pricing is very competitive as compared to the other hotels in the same segment. However Management promised to guarantee value for money and always offer the best of the Serena Hospitality.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is one the best hotels in Kampala, the staff and management seems to take very careful comments from their clients.
The ambiance and atmosphere of the hotel was excellent.
I do highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Asha Y,

Please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing time to send us your invaluable comments.

We truly are honored and are very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable. Management promises to continue striving to provide a superior service/product in the industry.

We thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

It will be a pleasure hosting you.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Best hotel in Kampala, centrally located in the city. The hotel has fabulous amenities such as a gym and spa, selection of good quality restaurants serving quality food. The rooms are spacious, clean and very well maintained. The best part of it all is the friendly staff and most efficient service, makes you feel most welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Mohamed E,

Please allow me take this opportunity to extend my appreciation to you or choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and for sparing valuable time to rate our service and outlets.

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed all of your expectations that made your stay with us comfortable. Management promises to continue striving to provide a superior service/product in the industry and the best of the Serena hospitality.

Thank you very much for your patronage of our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back, it will be a pleasure hosting you once again.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A key ingredient to hotel excellence is management's response when a guest is made unhappy. The Serena is lovely in all the ways described by other reviewers; clean, spacious, elegant, comfortable beds, well-appointed bathrooms, wonderful gym, beautiful pool, good food, quiet meeting spaces, strong wi-fi, convenient well-stocked gift shop. I also found the management was genuinely concerned and responsive when staff members made two serious errors that disrupted my sleep and my comfort for two different nights during my two week stay. I will stay at the Serena for my future business travel to Kampala.
Unrelated to the errors I experienced, please note that the Serena is the go-to hotel for Uganda's government officials, and the management is sometimes commanded to fill reserved rooms. Serena will seek similar accommodations for disappointed arriving guests in one of the nearby hotels, if needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drsh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Drsh99,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and you for your rave and detailed review of our property and product.

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed most of your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies where we had a lapse in service.

Thank you once again for your invaluable commendation and we look forward to hosting you again.

kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights during business trip, the hotel is nice, the garden is lovely, and the many outdoor spaces make it truly nice. the rooms are nice and super clean. the service is excellent, the breakfast is lovely.
it is probably the only place to stay in Kampala.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Wael2011,

Thank you very much for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your recent visit to Kampala and you for your rave review of our property.

We are truly honored and very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed most of your expectations.

Thank you once again for your invaluable commendation and we look forward to hosting you again.

kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 107 in Kampala
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 107 in Kampala
221 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#10 of 107 in Kampala
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $271 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing