We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Kampala Serena is one of my favorite hotels in Africa! From the pickup at the airport, to the rooms, the gym and the restaurants, everything about this hotel is excellent. The gym is actually one of the best I've seen on the continent. The rooms are top quality, and the three restaurants are impeccable! From the moment you enter the building, you already realize that this place is in a league of its own. Also, just like at all other Serena Hotels, the staff are almost excessively service minded.

Room Tip: Always make sure you get a room facing the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Håvar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Mr. Bauck,

We are very humbled by your AMAZING! rating and glad that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us.

Thank you so much for taking time to leave a comment and we assure you of our continuous commitment to always make your stay with us the most relaxed and a comfortable.

I thank you once again for your patronage of our hotel and I do look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Kampala.

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for Kampala Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 660 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

I frequently travel to various African nations on business and have a pretty good read on reasonable expectations of the African hotel scene. The Serena Kampala surpasses most of my expectations. Arrival was a smooth experience, from the airport pick-up, to a friendly and efficient check-in. I was shown to a nice room with a good view. It was fairly close to the elevator but I was never bothered by hallway noise. The bathroom was spacious and stocked with high end amenities. During my 10 day stay I tried all the restaurants and room service. I recommend you pay a bit more to eat at the "Pearl of Africa"--it was a worthy indulgence and I was treated like royalty despite being a single diner. The fitness area makes for a great workout and pool area is very nice as well. Unlike many hotels, it's a bit tucked away from the main areas, and while it has bar, you don't have hundreds of people stare at you if you take a dip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltheworldusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Our esteemed guest,

We are very humbled by your AMAZING! rating and glad that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us.

Thank you so much for taking time to leave a comment and we assure you of our continuous commitment to always make your stay with us the most relaxed and a comfortable.

I thank you once again for your patronage of our hotel and I do look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Kampala.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a wedding in this hotel all I can say its a very fantastic place to be. I loved their garden with a themed river through it, and the plants they incorporated. The hotel looks great and executive, if looks are anything to go by this hotel is super luxury, rich. The atmosphere is wonderfully enjoyable and very relaxing.
The food was perfect and we all had our full, I love their deco. The staff were warm friendly and polite

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uganda-Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Our esteemed guest,

We are very humbled by your AMAZING! rating and glad that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent wedding celebration.

Thank you so much for taking time to leave a comment and i assure you of our continuous commitment to always make your visit or stay with us most relaxed and a comfortable.

I thank you once again and I do look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Kampala.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was my fourth trip to Kampala. I had always stayed at the Sheraton so when the client mentioned this hotel I was a bit skeptical.

I had no reason to worry. From the moment we drove through the landscaped property and walked into the lobby I knew I was in for a pleasant stay. Everyone from the security, doorman, front desk staff and housekeeping are pleasant and professional.

The rooms are clean and well appointed. The bathrooms are spacious with a full-sized tub and a shower enclosure.

The internet was pretty solid with a few dropouts but nothing major. Plus it's free. If you are using the attached conference center the WiFi network extends over there so you are always connected.

The restaurant is excellent. The staff and chefs really do an excellent job of accommodating any palate. The a la carte menu is always available plus there is usually a themed buffet (try the Asian-themed buffet. Perfection!)

Overall I have nothing bad to say. This hotel will stack up with any 4-star hotel in the first world. The fact that it's in Africa makes me give an extra star. The management of this property are to be commended.

Room Tip: When in Uganda do not stay anywhere but here.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertStewartJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Mr. Stewart

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Kampala Serena Hotel as your preferred place of residence during your resent visit to Kampala.

We are very delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations of a “Five Star” Hotel in all aspects. I assure you of our continuous commitment to always make your stay with us the most relaxed and a comfortable

I thank you once again for taking time to leave a very positive and energizing comment, I do look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Kampala.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Chege,
Kampala Serena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A great hotel to stay in the center of Kampala. It has a very good appeal to the eyes especially the beautiful landscape and the water fountains. The rooms are in very good condition and also have a homely touch i.e. not too artificial. The internet speeds are way above average and I could comfortably do most of my work in the room. The service from the staff was prompt and excellent. I had an issue with the bath tub and within 10 mins the problem was resolved! Wifi connectivity in the other locations of the hotel were fast and swift. The food was fantastic with a variety of choices. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Kampala.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrispusNzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Kampala Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Nzano,

We highly appreciate you taking time to rate us and share your AMAZING! comments about you recent stay with us. I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We assure you of our continuous commitment to always make your stay most relaxed and comfortable.

We do look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Kampala.

Kind regards

Anthony Chege
Kampala Serena Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel was so nice with lovely rooms and compound made us forget that it was conviniently located in between the city (up town) which is more organised than the down town which is more chaotic but still safe for the locals...
And the hotel view of kampala was fair atleast up to 180' which i did not expected..
Gen.Iddi Amin and Dr. Apollo Milton Obote R.I.P(i heard that they are the ones who constructed it in their regimes,,if not clear me please!)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is an oasis of quality and comfort in a city which is mostly poor. The staff are courteous, friendly and polite, and the rooms are top quality as is the service. The swimming pool was also lovely but some chemicals in the water turned my daughter's hair green! The management did provide a bottle of wine with one dinner in compensation. There were issues with paying with a credit card on checking out, but I think this was more African than the hotel. Other than the pool, it was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piers J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 103 in Kampala
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $300 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing