We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kampala Serena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is amazing! there are 4+ places to eat on site plus 24/7 room service. The food is healthy and tasty. Internet is included and pretty good. there is also a 24 hour business center that is well staffed.
The hotel has a separate conference center. A really nice spa. As well the gym is definitely the best hotel gym that I have ever seen. There is a trainer onsite to assist as well, the gym has at least 2 classes per day Mon-Friday.
Rooms are kept clean and well maintained. Pool is gorgeous.
Service was beyond belief.
on the downside, excessively posh especially for a development worker, which the hotel seems to cater to largely. My colleague had an interesting incident when one of the hotel staff showed up at her room late at night to ask if she needed turn down service.
Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel for its location, customer service and great amenities.

Room Tip: Also try Pearl of Africa restaurant in the hotel on the 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amergalinpretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    150
    17
    12
    4
See reviews for
35
75
38
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had a very quick stop-over in Kampala for a business event. After 5 nights at the Serena Nairobi, I was definitely impressed by Kampala. The have an incredibly large property, which allows for fantastic grounds, pools, recreation facilities, and other amenities. However, other elements which you would expect to be similar, such as rooms and service, were also a step-up from Nairobi or Mombasa Serena. The room was larger, but yet cleaner and more modern. I was also impressed by the exceptional quite in the rooms; no noise from outside, the elevators, or other rooms. A very nice place to get a good night’s sleep as a result. As I mentioned, no complaints whatsoever. I also always appreciate a hotel that has taxis available all the time, and can charge the room directly, which often makes things simpler when on a rushed trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoritzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ate and drank here in November on business. Dined at the Italian restaurant where I was served an extremely poor spaghetti carbonara which in fairness they did replace with a pizza when I sent it back after a few mouthfuls. The manager came out and they dealt with it very well, but a really poor dish was on the menu in the first place.

Before that, I had a very pleasant couple of drinks by the poolside. A good place to escape from the very shabby hotel my work had placed me in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed in Kampala twice, once at this hotel and once at another due to a 5am flight. This would be our choice in Kampala. Clean comfortable rooms, wonderful pillows! It was an easy check in, we had a lovely dinner in one of the restaurants, and a fabulous breakfast the next morning. We only wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the property, the pool, the beautiful grounds. All in all lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is in the business area of kampala.

My wife and myself stayed for 3 nights in Kampala serena hotel in december 2012. When we arrived late at 9pm from Kigale, the saga started. Our booking was not there despite me having confirmation number from the serena website. The poor receptionist could not find our booking and i had to show her from my Ipad. That was not enough. I had to email to her and his manager and finally after one hour we got a room

the suite we stayed was excellent and had all the amenities and a working desk, with nice settings. The garden and the swimming pool is one of the best i have ever seen. You should spend sometime admiring these facilities and use them

There are many restaurants to choose and all of them have good food. However, the service needs to be improved. it took 2 hrs to get an empty cup (they forgot to leave coffee cups)

Apart from booking mishap, the hotel is highly recommended and will stay here again.

Room Tip: rooms with garden view higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwamtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at Serena Kampala because its one of our cooperate appointed hotel. All was well until I had dinner on my last night.
I feel so sick.
The next 48 hours were longest of my life as I prepared to depart.
I loved Serena so much but my experience with the food has made me never want to go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Travelled to Kampala on a business trip. Arrived very late (0500) after the airline had lost my luggage. Hotel staff was very friendly and helped me replace all of my sundry items and then helped me get my luggage back. The restaurants were wonderful, much more enjoyable than I had expected going in. My experience at the Serena was the highlight on my trip and I would truly recommend in to anyone traveling to Kampala.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMcNeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#5 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#16 of 93 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#10 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Property: Kampala Serena Hotel
Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing