We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kampala Serena Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ruch(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairway Hotel(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveler rating
474
188
19
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
188
19
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslakes restaurantleading hotels of the worldthe pearlfive star hotelbeautiful hoteleast africamain gatebusiness tripbusiness centerbusy cityairport transferbreakfast buffet isbeautiful groundsmain restaurantan oasisthe food is greatroom service is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 700 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel - clearly the best in Kampala. Lovely building and magnificent grounds, including a lovely pool. The bedrooms are large and the bathroom great - nice strong shower, good products. What let the hotel down was the service and attention to detail. I've stayed in many "Leading Hotels of the World" members and this was the worst: it was competent, certainly - but didn't excel. Most staff were indifferent and pretty unfriendly, starting from check-in when we didn't even reveive a "hello" or "welcome". I'd put this hotel in the 4-star category rather then 5-star. But then this is Uganda - so compared to everything else in town, it's pretty good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front, overlooking the pool Eat in the garden area of the Explorers Restaurant - great setting
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adampies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful hotel, it is spacious and inviting and very upmarket. It is definitely the top presented Serena in East Africa. Staff are friendly and helpful and the curio shop is awesome and stocked with curios. I couldn't find wooden gorillas in the Rwanda Serena...

The gym is the best yet, and the pool is gorgeous and tranquil. Birds and Chicadas are my favourite city noises...

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleaShle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights for business and had a very enjoyable stay. This hotel is commensurate with our Serena hotels across Africa. Serena offers a very good quality brand and I choose to stay at a Serena property if there is one in the city I am visiting. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. Staff was pleasant and friendly. Food quality at the restaurants, pool cafe, and room service is all good. Prices for food are also reasonable.

Yes, I would recommend this hotel and yes I would stay here again. Not sure why this property is LHW though. While very nice, it is not fantastic like a LHW property should be in my opinion. Nevertheless, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

an excellent place to stay. Very good quality of service, very reliable. With a fantastic swimming pool, a good gym, and all the facilities. Pricey, but good value for the service you get. The buffet for breakfast and lunch is quite good. Definitely by far the best place to stay in Kampala.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "lake view" side are quiter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had been traveling and working in Uganda for a couple of weeks prior and needed a break (ok really wanted towels that were dried in a dryer...) seriously I was feeling the weight of traveling in this part of the world. I spent two nights at the Serena and they were perfect. The staff was amazing, and helpful... It was Ugandan Independence, and I had no problems. The room was clean and relaxing, the pool a great spot for a swim. I would recommend and will go back.

Room Tip: I imagine that all the rooms are nice...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews