We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kampala Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Mityana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friday Tea”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I went to have a quiet evening after a long day and i enjoyed it all. the tea was very very good and the service was with a smile and very clean place with good environment.

Room Tip: i was there for the evening to have tea and dinner so didnt get to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilliandrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    166
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
41
79
42
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Hotel is really nice and has n excellent service. We stayed only short unfortunately.
But our execttions where exceeded.
Very nice rooms and faclities
Excellent Kitchen and diffrent restaurants
Internet, great room service and excetional dry cleaning and laundry service comming from Gorilla trekking, all you need and can wish for.
Seeems to be also one of the main Business hubs in Kampala.
Distance to airort is about 45 minutes but quite central in the city close to some high end shoping eareas and the business district.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Serena in Kampala is a great choice of hotel for it's location, good service (despite being extremely busy and security heavy as our stay was in the midst of the stay of the president) and lovely grounds. Luxurious but cosy, the rooms were a pleasure to stay in - beds gave us a really good sleep, nice bathrooms. The mist bar was very nice. The food was ok, not so great in the Explorers restaurant but the waiter handled our comments very professionally. Breakfast spread/food was fantastic. Connecting to wifi was a bit of a problem - disappointing when you're trying to work, and the issue did not get resolved. Room service was extremely prompt. Staff in the spa very helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I just spent five nights at the Serena on my first (but hopefully not last) visit to Uganda. It was a wonderful experience. The rooms have every amenity you need and are very quiet. The service is excellent and the breakfast is delicious. The grounds are lovely and the location is quite central in the city. Charges for laundry and business center are reasonable.

A minor quibble: the wifi was a bit spotty and the connectivity slow.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

You can't get better than this hotel in Kampala. Great rooms, service is great, as is the spa!
The location of the hotel is very central.

I definitely recommend this hotel for stays in Kampala.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Serena, Kampala is a lovely hotel with commendable service and a functional location. It is by far the best I have stayed in through all of Uganda. Rates are fair and I highly recommend it for the cleanliness and facilities. Best bar in Kampala.
My problem is that the structure should have been torn down and rebuilt from scratch. In the 1970's and into the 80's this hotel, then known as the Nile Mansions, doubled as a main torture centre for Idi Amin and then the regime of Milton Obote. Needless to say, no amount of renovation can ever erase the horrors hidden in its history.
Sorry to say but February was my last visit to the ( now ) lovely Serena, in honour of those who perished there.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the bottom 2 floors .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuktukcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

After a one hour trip to the hotel, you are given a very warm welcome and are dealt with very efficiently and quickly. The basic rooms are excellent and I give the hotel 10 stars for the best pillows in Africa! I have stayed at the hotel 5 times over the past 4 years and have always found it a great place to stay. Central location for all of my meetings. The prices have risen a little more steeply that I would have preferred and the place is now higher in price than my budget allows, but still a lovely place, good ambiance and a great breakfast for th business traveller.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1businesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#13 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Serena Hotel

Property: Kampala Serena Hotel
Address: P. O. Box 7814, Kintu Road, Kampala 256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kampala Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspirational blend of 5-star polish and pan-African panache, this world-class hotel will showcase the cream of Ugandan culture while delivering the ultimate in personalized service, international cuisine, social style and business reliability.Drawing its architectural inspiration from the abundance of Uganda's lakes and rivers, the hotel has been created around a central water theme, which manifests itself both in the extensive water gardens and in the hand-carved panels and shimmering mosaics with which it is decorated. The hotel has free wireless internet as well as international cuisine spiced up with an African cuisine served up at the stunning gourmet fine-dining restaurant, The Pearl of Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kampala Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing