We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kabira Country Club
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
JHB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

From the outside, not to bad, nice gym, pool,
However, bar and restaurant very dark at night, not enough light, can barely see what you are eating.
Noisy, if you get the rooms on street & generator side.
No cctv cameras in passages, no electronic keylocks on doors. Expensive electronic equipment stolen from room whilst at supper. Was out of the room for 1 1/2 hours.
Hotel has not bothered to return emails nor calls in regards to the matter.
Hotel owners park all their personal cars out in front, Bentley convertibles, Range rovers, Mustangs, Mercs, a very nice collection, all family run with personalised registrations, SR, SR 1,JR, JR 1 etc etc,
Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAKush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Kabira Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    40
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
46
26
27
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Its was my 1st trip and nice stay at Kabira. Food was nice. Excellent friendly staff behavior.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Kabira Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

this now the second time I have stayed here, The rooms are clean and comfortable, it can be a bit noisy on the road side, but then it is built on a busy road, the facilities are good nice airy bar area, great pool with gardens, good gym with latest machines, the food is good. i found the service and attention from the staff excellent, I had no problems, and there are cheaper and more convenient ( if you are going into town a lot ) places to stay, but I like the Kabira and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevegEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Kabira Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Noisy. Freezing cold pool. Constant smell of greasy food being cooked. Some of the worst service I've had in Africa. Rude staff, constantly checking if I'm authorised to use the members only hotel pool. Incredibly overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Serena or Sheraton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephenAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Kabira Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Kabira is a highly over priced hotel, very noisy and with a poor quality of service. The food at the restaurant is greasy and disgusting.
the rooms above the restaurants have, on top of that, a permanent smell of food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juliet1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Kabira Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I had seen the place on hrs.com and decided to stay here, it is a lovely property and the managers led my Amit go out of the way to see the comfort of the guests. Since i am a hotelier, i can definitely see standards, also as a international standard this is a 4 star property missing a spa. Yet it was very good to see a senior hospitality colleague in Mr Vikram Singh who has just joined this group as a group gm, so shall be great to see this place in a few months and what he does with this as compared to some of the magic he has done earlier with a few other properties.
Overall a very nice experience

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H0spitalityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Kabira Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I stayed 10 days at this hotel, room was nice, clean but a little bit noisy with the road. The swimming pool is really amazing. One big surprise was that their Indian food is really excellent, I ate that for dinner every day.
It is true that the Hotel invites payment in local currency for a bill at the end quoted in dollars with an exchange rate "home made" .

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seldarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Kabira Country Club, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
3.5 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#12 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabira Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabira Country Club

Property: Kabira Country Club
Address: Plot 63, Old Kira Rd | Bukoto, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kabira Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Bantu languages of Uganda, 'Kabira' translates as ‘little forest’. It is home to several rare species of flora and tropical birds, such as the African Grey Parrot and Blue Turncoats, and we ardently preserve this natural haven and wildlife habitat. Kabira Country Club is a family owned, full-service hotel, offering elegance and comfort in a relaxed atmosphere in Kampala's northern suburb of Bukoto within close proximity of the Central Business District with convenient access to all parts of the city and essential social amenities like shopping centers, prime residential and International diplomatic neighborhoods, International schools and the golf course. With stunning views of the greater Kampala cityscape, Kabira Country Club combines gracious hospitality with contemporary style. The family run nature of the hotel delivers a truly personal service. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, with 95 luxurious guest-rooms and exceptional amenities, Kabira Country Club has all you could possibly need in a modern, comfortable hotel. We’re also the location for East Africa’s most prestigious and well equipped, health, fitness and leisure club, and a prestigious events and conference venue, offering exceptional state-of-the-art conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HRS, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kabira Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabira Country Club Hotel Kampala
Kabira Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing