We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like staying at a friend's house when they are out of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emin Pasha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emin Pasha Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like staying at a friend's house when they are out of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The Emin Pasha is an oasis of calm in a busy city. The staff are kind and thoughtful, the rooms attractive and the gardens a joy. Add to this a refreshing pool and excellent food and you'll never want to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    14
    13
    4
See reviews for
19
28
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location, amenities and staff all above the others, a boutique hotel that sets an example to the rest. Setting in town is tranquil and decor is unique. The restaurant, Fez, will satisfy most palates with their varied and the lounge there is great for sundowner business meetings or early morning breakfasts.

Room Tip: Anywhere the location of rooms are well apart from main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotiafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Conveniently located on one of Kampala's seven hills, Nakasero. Only about 20 rooms nicely decorated. Mosquito netted beds. Lovely discreet garden, plenty of quiet places to relax in, good for private meetings. Popular with local VIPs, restaurant has new SAfrican chef and food is excellent. restaurant busy at weekends. Local band plays good soft jazz certain evenings...

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are very nice, but all te rooms are comfortable. Sometimes have plumbing issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Little treasure with boutique style decor and great service attitude.
The rooms are spacious and originally decorated.
Facilities are top with wonderful garden and great restaurants.
On a side note the Fez restaurant, which attracts plenty of outside guests also, serves a wonderful meal in great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 22, large and spacious and very conveniently located on the same floor as reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoffeeHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel and grounds are beautiful. You feel as if you've walked in to the Garden of Eden. When I first checked in the staff were expecting me and already knew my name. I was taken to my large room (Room 5) and was welcomed by a personalized letter addressed to me by the Manager and fresh cookies.
The double bed was enclosed by a mosquito net, but the 'double bed' was actually two twin beds pushed together. The beds were very hard as well.
The room was furnished with a big plush chair, a desk, mini fridge, A/C, and TV (with about 20 stations). The WiFi in the rooms was also excellent, and free (thank you very much!).
The bathroom was also large and supplied with bath robe, slippers, shampoo, soap, and lotion. The shower was lovely (no tub).
All in all, Room 5 was lovely and large! That said, I left Kampala for a couple days and returned for one more night at Emin Pasha. This time I was placed in Room 9. It was tiny and the only place to watch television was on the bed (the chairs couldn't be moved because the room was too small). The bathroom was tiny as well and didn't have a shower (only a tub). If I stay here again I'll be sure to ask for Room 5. (Although I had a smaller room, it was the same price as the large one! It would have been nice to pay less as this place isn't cheap.)
The restaurant had delicious foods, but a bit limited. I would have liked to see a vegetarian main entree, for example. But the meals I did have were rich and delicious. They have a set menu for breakfast. Again, very good, but would have liked to have just a fruit option instead of all the heavier items.
The service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
I also would recommend the spa. I received a wonderful massage. Well worth the money! The pool area is also a must. I enjoyed a nice day by the pool before getting my massage. It was the perfect way to spend a Sunday.
It's also close to the middle of town, so while you'll still have to deal with Kampala traffic jams, maybe you'll spend less time in them because of the good location of Emin Pasha.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at Emin Pasha and hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Didn't stay here but made use of the spa day package they offer.

For 65,000 UGX you get:

- 25min back, arm and head massage
- 25k of food/drink from the restaurant (I.e a sandwich and a drink)
- use of the hotel pool all day

A great deal!

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Its not bad, but for that price, they can do a lot better. I stayed in December 2012 for 1 week.
The staff is very friendly but not very efficient. The restaurant is OK but nothing exceptional, the menu is very limited so don't use the restaurant every night and lunch. Breakfast is not good, they have a set menu and some sort of buffet (mainly bread and muffins). So you can't do the usual hotel BF mix.
Internet works fine, rooms are quite large and well equipped (had a coffee machine in my room) but the bed was very hard, I had terrible back pains every morning and I never have any issues with my back.
THEY CHARGE 7% FEE ON CREDIT CARDS !!! That's just crazy, not sure it's even legal. That is one good reason NOT to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#10 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emin Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emin Pasha Hotel

Property: Emin Pasha Hotel
Address: 27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kampala
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emin Pasha Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Emin Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emin Pasha Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing