We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel ever in kampala uganda”
Review of Emin Pasha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emin Pasha Hotel
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Erce, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best hotel ever in kampala uganda”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

this is the best hotel so far in uganda people the green gardens alone make you want to stay in Uganda for like ages and then the quietness as if that's not enough the classic food great food and the smiling faces of the people around. then back in my room there is this fast running internet and all over the hotel. i also had a chart with the new general manager (Hennie it was lovely meeting) who informed that the rooms by October 2012 they will have coffee machines and and i pads for the suits pple emin pasha hotel is then one of the best i just cant believe if you doubt me please try and stay for one night.

Room Tip: rooms on the southside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    45
    15
    13
    4
See reviews for
20
28
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My second visit to Emin Pasha was even more wonderful than my first. This time, I returned to see all the friends there on the staff who had been so kind on my first visit.

Apart from the warmth of its hospitality the hotel is still a lovely place to be...chic and calm, with so many separate living/sitting areas both indoors and out...lovely pool and gardens, all very elegant and peaceful yet homely and comforting too.

And the food... so, so good. Nile perch, East African curries...wonderful fruit...all very African - modern and superb.

I travel a lot in both South and North Africa and rack-up numerous hotel stays in both: Uganda can be proud that in a in a country which is far less trodden by tourists than say, South Africa or Morocco, it has this world class hotel, and one which can certainly compare with the best hotels in Cape Town and Marrakech, in its capital city.

Thank you Emin Pasha.

I can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Set in peacefull and stylish garden on embassy street. On one of the hills in Kampala, old sharm combined with smiling service and great food. Colonial style interiors, with intersting artwork everywhere. Fab Art shop inside hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PashaOslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed one night having a conference in Kampala and having heard this was the best hotel in the city......if only. I understand they have a new manager, I had no sight of her.
It is pricey. The room was comfortable if small but well organised, it was almost impossible to get a comfortable water temperature in the shower - scalding or freezing. Met some local friends in the wonderfully appointed bar, service was ok until our waiter began soliciting my local friends for a job, citing dissatisfaction with the new manager.
In the morning I had to leave early, so arrived for breakfast at 6.50am (they advertise this as served from 6.30) to be greeted by sullen and disinterested wait staff, an omelette ordered immediately had not arrived half-an-hour later by the time I left.
The taxi-cab I had requested the night before had not arrived on time, and the reception staff got my bill totally wrong.
Overall a disaster, especially at this price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Late-Epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have to say that we only visited the Emin Pasha for a meal which was superb. The waiters are dressed very smartly echoing the era of the Raj. Service is really good, expect to pay a bit above the norm but it is well worth visiting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithRansome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Located off the beaten path on Nakasero hill the Emin Pasha is a small 20 room boutique hotel. It has all the charm and elegance of colonial Africa mixed with superb service and modern conveniences. The grounds of the hotel are like a small botanical garden and encourage you to sit outside on one of the many lounges and read a book. Don't be surprised if a yellow billed hawk or hornbill lands on a branch above you as the hotel's garden attracts many beautiful birds. The rooms are moderately sized and are decorated tastefully with huge rainwater showers. The hotel offers guests free WiFi throughout the premises including the rooms and has satellite TV with several English news channels.There is a medium sized pool on the grounds. The restaurant, Fez has delicious food and reasonable prices. There are also several great restaurants within walking distance including; Mamba Point, Yujo sushi, Mama Ashanti, Ariang Korean, and Buguma which specializes in local food.The hotel hosts local bands on Wed and Fri. The venue is very small and intimate and makes for an amazing music experience. I recently brought my family to Kampala with me and the staff were excellent with my two kids. I have been traveling to Uganda for over two years and won't stay anywhere else when I'm in Kampala.

Room Tip: Rooms 23, 25, and 30 are nice with double french doors that open into a central courtyard. Try to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan-Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I love this hotel!! It is a small hotel, I think there are only 30 room or less. My room was on the ground floor in the back, very cute, safe and comfortable, I had room 5 and my friend room 3, they face each other with a little courtyard in between. They have a lot of light and greenery around.
The service is outstanding, everyone was very helpful and always had a good attitude, which is very important.
I stayed there 5 days, had a lot of meals at Fez, the hotel's restaurant, very good, but a bit slow because everything is made fresh when you order.
One evening had the steak, it was so tender, I could almost cut it with the fork. They bake their own breads. On the weekends they have live music, very pleasant, you seat outside in the garden area have a drink or try the African spice tea (milk, black tea, fresh ginger and spices) I was addicted to it! When out and visit The Serena and the Sheraton, too big and full of people, noisy, I was very happy that I wasn't staying in neither of them.

Room Tip: I like the room we stayed in 3 and 5. The rooms facing the garden are nice also, some have a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ready2go9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#10 of 100 in Kampala
653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 100 in Kampala
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emin Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emin Pasha Hotel

Property: Emin Pasha Hotel
Address: 27 Akii Bua Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Kampala
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emin Pasha Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Emin Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emin Pasha Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing