We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wanted to spent new years eve there....”
Review of Hotel Diplomate

Hotel Diplomate
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diplomate
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wanted to spent new years eve there....”
Reviewed September 17, 2007

... cold food, warm drinks, expensive entrance fee, no music, unfriendly servants .....
spent new years eve in 2006, it was marvellous, the reason I went there again.
but: never again
except: during daytime and evening (sunset and view to kampala) you will never forget... ask for cold beer !





  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wim100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
3
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

I had the best holiday in Ugganda and by staying at the Diplomate Kampala I was able to sample Ugandas best hospitality in total. The staff at the Diplomate is exceptionally polite and helpfull. I recomend every visitor to Kampala should never miss the best view of the whole city.
Brown Steve
Oxfordshire UK

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watooto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2006

I have traveled with a group for the past several years and for some unknown reason the person in charge keeps coming back to this dump. First of all you can't sleep in a view. These rooms are hazardous to ones health I happen to have asthma it rarley flares up as soon as I walked into this room I had to get an inhaler. The stinch in the room called the penthouse was so bad I had to move from that room only to move to one equally as bad, just without the stinch. These rooms should be remodeled. The carpet is so old that it can be torn with your hands.The help was very kind and friendly but what thas that to do with your health? I can say from fact that this place has gotten worse every year not one penny could possibly have been put back into this business. I think they need to step up to the plate and not participate in making a bad name for such a beautiful nation. I am now in charge of making the arrangements for the new groups and we will not even go near that place. The food was good and the ambience in the common areas was very nice, but for sleeping no thanks.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

It's probably worth staying here for the views of Kampala and Lake Victoria alone! The hotel is located at the top of Tank Hill, one of seven hills the city is built on. It's a nice area with embassies and NGO offices nearby. I think the room prices are reasonable for Kampala, they start at $35 for standard. We had a 'superior' at $45. I believe the honeymoon suite is $75. In our cottage (as they called it) we had a smallish bedroom with attached bathroom and a small sitting area (with a couple of easy chairs and a TV). Our room did not have a window view of the city, but some of the rooms do.

Not such good things: - TV had bad reception and really only one channel was worth watching, even though they have satellite.
- The bedroom and sitting area was covered with a grotty carpet which also bizarrely covered the toilet cistern!
- Very small double bed
- Music played nearby in their outdoor eating area was quite loud throughout the day

Car parking at the hotel is safe but be careful where you park in Kampala. We went out for dinner and parked in the street (Gaba Road) and someone pinched our side lights!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#49 of 100 in Kampala
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Grande Hotel
La Grande Hotel
#58 of 100 in Kampala
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Miltu Hotel
Casa Miltu Hotel
#36 of 100 in Kampala
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unik Hotel
Unik Hotel
#66 of 100 in Kampala
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
#45 of 100 in Kampala
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomate

Property: Hotel Diplomate
Address: 971 Muyenga Tank Hill, Diplomate Road, Plot | P O Box 6968, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel with the best view of Kampala city and Lake Victoria. Located on the highest hill, Tank Hill. Family owned by the Katatumba Group of companies. We provide complimentary airport transfers on request. All major credit cards and personal cheques accepted. A Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Diplomate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing