We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic view, away from the bustle of Kampala”
Review of Hotel Diplomate

Hotel Diplomate
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diplomate
Ranked #76 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, away from the bustle of Kampala”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We read the few reviews about Hotel Diplomate and were unsure about whether or not to stay here so we went a looked at a couple of the rooms as the hotel we were already staying at was nearby. We stayed in a room that cost around $35 US and were really happy with it - it had a little balcony with a view, it was clean with a mosquito net. The only bad aspect was the hot water in the shower - a little dodgy but we just went without hot water which was absolutely fine. The staff were really friendly and a generous breakfast was included. The best part to this hotel is that it feels more African than a lot of the hotels, it's just on the edge of the chaos of Kampala but close enough that you can walk to bars and restaurants (about 15minutes down the hill, a 2 min cab ride up the hill). We loved having breakfast looking over the city, or having a beer at the end of a hot day watching the sunset. Would definitely stay here again, were surprised that there were so few guests there at the time.

Room Tip: the penthouse at the top - we had a look but it wasn't worth the extra money compared to the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
3
4
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2007

... cold food, warm drinks, expensive entrance fee, no music, unfriendly servants .....
spent new years eve in 2006, it was marvellous, the reason I went there again.
but: never again
except: during daytime and evening (sunset and view to kampala) you will never forget... ask for cold beer !





  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wim100000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

I had the best holiday in Ugganda and by staying at the Diplomate Kampala I was able to sample Ugandas best hospitality in total. The staff at the Diplomate is exceptionally polite and helpfull. I recomend every visitor to Kampala should never miss the best view of the whole city.
Brown Steve
Oxfordshire UK

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watooto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 8, 2006

I have traveled with a group for the past several years and for some unknown reason the person in charge keeps coming back to this dump. First of all you can't sleep in a view. These rooms are hazardous to ones health I happen to have asthma it rarley flares up as soon as I walked into this room I had to get an inhaler. The stinch in the room called the penthouse was so bad I had to move from that room only to move to one equally as bad, just without the stinch. These rooms should be remodeled. The carpet is so old that it can be torn with your hands.The help was very kind and friendly but what thas that to do with your health? I can say from fact that this place has gotten worse every year not one penny could possibly have been put back into this business. I think they need to step up to the plate and not participate in making a bad name for such a beautiful nation. I am now in charge of making the arrangements for the new groups and we will not even go near that place. The food was good and the ambience in the common areas was very nice, but for sleeping no thanks.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

It's probably worth staying here for the views of Kampala and Lake Victoria alone! The hotel is located at the top of Tank Hill, one of seven hills the city is built on. It's a nice area with embassies and NGO offices nearby. I think the room prices are reasonable for Kampala, they start at $35 for standard. We had a 'superior' at $45. I believe the honeymoon suite is $75. In our cottage (as they called it) we had a smallish bedroom with attached bathroom and a small sitting area (with a couple of easy chairs and a TV). Our room did not have a window view of the city, but some of the rooms do.

Not such good things: - TV had bad reception and really only one channel was worth watching, even though they have satellite.
- The bedroom and sitting area was covered with a grotty carpet which also bizarrely covered the toilet cistern!
- Very small double bed
- Music played nearby in their outdoor eating area was quite loud throughout the day

Car parking at the hotel is safe but be careful where you park in Kampala. We went out for dinner and parked in the street (Gaba Road) and someone pinched our side lights!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#50 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unik Hotel
Unik Hotel
#68 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macsedo Resort Hotel
Macsedo Resort Hotel
#67 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Grande Hotel
La Grande Hotel
#47 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomate

Property: Hotel Diplomate
Address: 971 Muyenga Tank Hill, Diplomate Road, Plot | P O Box 6968, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diplomate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel with the best view of Kampala city and Lake Victoria. Located on the highest hill, Tank Hill. Family owned by the Katatumba Group of companies. We provide complimentary airport transfers on request. All major credit cards and personal cheques accepted. A Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diplomate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing