We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #10 of 88 Hotels in Kampala
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a great location. Some areas are in need of an upgrade, and the bathroom in my room certainly was.
Don't expect much of the gym, the equipment is old and not much variety in terms of cardio.
Nice grounds.
Staff is generally helpful, breakfast is good and the Indian restaurant is really excellent.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review and appreciate us. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you an even much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    75
    36
    18
    16
See reviews for
8
19
16
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at the Fairway Hotel in May this year for a work trip - I found the hotel staff very welcoming and helpful. My room's balcony door did not have a lock & it was fixed asap. The location is fine; and the restaurant is nice (try the goat) and good for meetings; the pool was nice too. the rooms are fine - I had mosquito nets, hot water, good wifi etc. Breakfast was ok - toast, cakes, and some hot food options.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was on a business trip from Europe to Kampala and did not really have big expectations as it was my first trip to eastern Africa.
I had a long flight and checked in late, the staff was still there and welcomed us with fresh juice even in the night when everyone was sleeping :)

They had some AC problems in some of the rooms but were friendly enough to give you a better room. I hade the room in the top floor with good view.

In the morning you get a very nice breakfast buffet with the same man making your special omelet, while you start with the fresh fruit.

The hotel also have a nice pool and gym. The gym actually was bigger than i have seen in many other hotels, so its good if you work out while your on vacation or business trip.

Also it is close to a shopping mall if you feel shopping.

Their restaurant have some of the BEST indian dishes i have tasted ever! Please do your self a favour and eat the indian dinner, its fantastic!! End it with a great african tea spiced with ginger ! You will thank me later! :)
I will come back any day to this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DkLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and reviewing us here. We are honored that you enjoyed your stay here. Our goal is to give our guests the best experience through our warm African hospitality and excellent services and we are glad we achieved that with you.
We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in Kampala and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The reception area looks promising and I found the staff to be welcoming and attentive but the bedrooms are not up to the standard that would be expected of a budget chain in the UK. This is Africa after all and is where just enough is good enough. The outside areas are well maintained and the pool looked tempting although I didn't go in. If you're looking for a relatively low cost base for a couple on nights then this hotel is fine, just don't set your expectations too high.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nauntongolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you staying with us and reviewing us here. It is our pleasure to offer you the best services. We are currently renovating our rooms in order to give our guests a great experience during their stay.
We hope to host you again and give you much better memories of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hotel looks nice but don't be fooled by the entrance and the reception. The rooms and in fact the entire building says 1970s. Its a big property and they seriously need to do some face lift here! There are ants in the room...water gets clogged in the bath tub...couple of lights in my room are not working...the linen and towels are rough/hard in texture..maybe because its too old or its been washed in a cheap detergent..and of the ones working..hey are so dim that I can hardly see anything at night in my room.
The staff is no doubt friendly and for those of you looking for some "action" just go to the bar in the hotel and I'm sure you will find some good company.
Overall I would not like to stay here again, as I have visited Kampala before and stayed at much better hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashdeep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review us here. We apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay with us. You are indeed right and we take great pride in the fact that our hotel is over 40 years old. We value a great customer experience for all our guests and that is why we are currently in another phase of room renovations that will correct the issues you have mentioned.
We surely hope you will return again so we can give you a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of my assignment in Iganga. It was heaven to have a hot shower and non-stop electricity after the guest lodge in Iganga. The staff at Fairway are excellent; breakfast was wonderful (I taught the chef about a Hawaiian omelet.) Suggest rooms in the Annex will be quieter. Rooms are very large and well maintained.

Room Tip: If you need sleep, ask for a room in the Annex wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaDSwenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are honoured that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to give our guests the best experience during their stay with us
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The first thing that met me at the Fairway hotel was an unorganized reception. When we reffered to our booking number we where all given a form to fill in and then tried charging us for $90 per person. It than became clare for us that they had not bothered checking our reservation. After making them avare of the situation they used 30 minutes to get our rooms ready.
When arriving at the room it was very smoky and not possible to stay at. I had to change rooms 3 times in order to find a somewhat clean and decent room. The staff at the reception was not able to keep their tounge and made unfitting remarks as well.

The breakfast was a poor sight, they had one chef making omelets, however he seemed irritated and gave out the impression that it bothered him that we asked for this.

In fact, the whole experience with this hotel makes it impossible for me to come back. Paying $120 for a double room that is dirty, worn down and smoky is not a deal I will take again.

The hotel has a great location and the potenial to become a nice hotel, but they have to train their staff in customer service and uppgrade the rooms to reflect the lobby. Untill then, I will be staying at a different hotel when in Kampala.

Room Tip: Get a room that is updated, preferebly with a view towards the entrance and the chinese resturant lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_N85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for having chosen to be our guest and taking time to review our hotel. It is through your feedback that we are able to continuously improve our guests’ experience. We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had during your stay with us. We can assure you that this is not our standard and therefore feel very discomfited when our guests like you, have such an experience. All your complaints have been forwarded to the relevant departments for corrective action to be taken immediately. We are have also commenced another phase of room renovations that will correct some of the issues you mentioned.
We hope you will return and give us another chance to give you the best services you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#5 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
2.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 88 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#13 of 88 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
#14 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#16 of 88 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing