We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent the weekend in one of the newly renovated rooms and was very impressed. The food at the restaurant was good and the hotel is centrally located making it quick and easy to get to meetings. Am recommending this hotel too all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you again and giving you even more pleasant memories of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 260 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

My one week stay was made all the more enjoyable with a personalized greeting each morning at the breakfast room, and with the morning chef remembering my preferance for scrambeled eggs. Likewise at the reception, they greeted me by name. All staff are friendly and helpful. The managing director circulates about the pleasant premisesto enquire how guests are enjoying their stay. The location is convenient for a 15' walk to 2 shopping malls . It is a welcoming hotel and one feels part of a large, freindly family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101AEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so for taking the time to review our hotel. We are honored that you chose to stay with us. One of the ways we show our guests that we value them is by providing personalized service - we are glad you experienced that.
We look forward to hosting you again and making your stay even more memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Yesterday in the rush to make it to the airport, i forgot to carry my laptop and left it on the restaurant chair where i was seated,before we had gone far my taxi driver got a call from the hotel asking if his clients had left a latop we then turned back and picked up the laptop.Words are not sufficient to express my gratitude considering that i would only have discovered my loss when i reached the airport as my passport was inside the laptop bag. Thanks a million to the proactive staff at Fairway hotel Kampala.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. Our goal is to not only give our guests excellent services but to also exceed their expectations. We are glad to have been able to return your laptop back to you on time.
We are looking forward to hosting you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the oldest hotels in Kampala so definitely not the most modern, but it has everything to offer what you look for in a hotel. Initially the room I was put in was bad but on request they did change my room and I was thoroughly satisfied with the changes one. Hotel is located in a beautiful neighborhood, beside the Kampala golf course and waking distance to shopping and other needs. No lift and as I said an old construction, but the staff and the courteous behavior is much more then a reason to stay at this hotel then having no lifts or an old construction being an excuse. Asian fusion restaurant abs live music being played over there is a plus but the food needs a lot of improvement. I was not a big fan of the food there. Also breakfast options needs some gearing up to be done. Apart this I had a wonderful stay there and do look forward to stay with them more often. Special thanks to Hareesh, the other guy with glasses whose name I do not recall; thank you for making my stay a pleasant one.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank vkpatodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and reviewing our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to give our guests a positive lasting impression of our services. We have taken note of the areas where we need improvement and have forwarded them to the necessary department for immediate action.
We look forward to hosting you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Reading the reviews before I went, I saw that some seem to love this hotel, while others are very critical. With such contradictions I was interested to see how the hotel would turn out for our conference. The location is great. Close to a shopping centre and the open space of the golf course. The outdoor areas are good too and interesting - is the front garden based on Alice's Adventures in Wonderland? Sitting in the teapot for coffee one morning was different. The hotel has its quirks. It does not have the perfect finish of most modern hotels, nor is the décor very modern, but everywhere is very clean. The lighting in the rooms is rather dim, but the balcony was great for watching the comings and goings. There was no hot water in the sink but very hot water in the bath, so I filled the sink with the shower attachment. Problem solved. The hotel has no lifts, and as the architect seemed to want to create as many levels as possible, access for the disabled is a real problem. So why would I prefer to go back to this hotel rather than any other I have stayed in Africa? It is because any short comings are more than made up for by the welcome of the staff, their helpfulness and the speed and efficiency with which things happen when a request is made. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is excellent, especially the mid morning and afternoon snacks that are very tasty and plentiful. We were made to feel very much at home by all the staff, from the manager to the chamber maids. The gym is not modern, but it has good equipment and a very helpful personal trainer. The swimming pool is a bonus, lovely for cooling down after a session in the gym. So idiosyncratic but charming and I will be back next year I hope.

Room Tip: Looking towards the golf course is good. The rooms have balconies so you can sit outside and see wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and reviewing our hotel. It is our goal to give our guests the best experience when they stay with us and we are glad we achieved that with you. We are continuously doing renovations and improving our services so we can guarantee, your next stay will be even more memorable.
Looking forward to hosting you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My former husband and I were guests of the Fairway Hotel back in 1996 whilst he was re-claiming family heritage property after the end of the Idi Amin regime.
We decided to take a room there over the Speke hotel because we could get a room with a double bed at the time
Based on the current photos taken by travelers, I find that very few upgrades have been done to the rooms. There was no swimming pool in 1996 neither was there a bar/nightclub back then. There had been a nice garden area at the back/side of the hotel with flowering plants and where huge noisy storks, sounding like helicopters, would take off and land. There were also 2 parrots in single tiny cages kept outside the workers complex.
Uganda is becoming an eco tourism mecca and a prospering business centre as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetmircha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. Fairway Hotel is indeed a very old hotel and much as we take great pride in that, we are also carrying out renovations gradually to keep up with the changing times. What you are seeing in the travellers’ photos are rooms/areas that are yet to be renovated as well - it is a work in progress. However we have a section of our rooms, restaurants, bars, gardens that are renovated and we hope you will experience that when you consider visiting us again.
Looking forward to hosting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Fairway is not the Serena, but it's prices aren't of that level either. I have always found it to be comfortable and clean. The staff are attentive and the rooms are very large. Food is excellent and the welcome is great. I would recommend the hotel to business travellers in particular.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCCMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing to stay with us. We are always delighted to here that our guests have enjoyed our services.We are continuously improving our hotel and its services so we hope to make you next stay even more memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 105 in Kampala
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 105 in Kampala
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#21 of 105 in Kampala
27 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 105 in Kampala
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 105 in Kampala
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $95 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing