We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool spot great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
toronto
2 reviews
“Cool spot great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed at the Fairway for a week by myself and it was pretty good. I am a solo female traveler so safety is priority and Fairway was great for that. It's an older hotel but clean, comfortable and I met a lot of people there at the diff. restos. (I am a foodie ...the FOOD there IS AMAZING!) They also have a pool which is nice, and the service is great. (The owner is kinda cute too!)
Check it out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and choosing to stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed our food and your stay with us. We hope you will return so we can make your next stay even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    89
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
11
23
19
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights on a business trip. The outside of the hotel and the grounds look good, but the inside is very poor. The hotel is totally run down. The only pleasant place inside was the main restaurant where they served an OK continental breakfast. The room was horrible, old, and the bathroom looked like it was repaired 40 plus years ago. The service was absolutely unacceptable - we asked for a conference room, and followed us on it with a number of e-mails, but the hotel absolutely forgot about it, and we had to wait for them to arrange the room for us in a hurry. Look at the pictures and judge for yourself. This place needs major repairs and likely a change of management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VitaliyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We truly understand your frustrations with our services and we sincerely apologize for it. We will give your feedback to our team and use this as a platform for correction. Our hotel is over 40 years old and we take great pride in making sure our guest have a good experience. The hotel is carrying out renovations gradually, hence the reason why some areas/rooms look better than others - it is a work in progress. But we hope to finish up very soon.

We hope you will return for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel offers amenities and a piece of mind that are an absolute treat in the fast paced city of Kampala. It is tucked away on a corner, and has its own atmosphere, which is calm and pleasant. The staff is friendly and cordial, always available to cater to the various needs of the customer. The food is top notch, and when I say this, I am referring to the BEST Indian cuisine in the city. The rooms were clean and tidy, and all the applications and accessories were in top working order. I highly recommend this to any new comer or regular patron of the city, a well run hotel.

-Kyle

Room Tip: 523 is the perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geno604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for four weeks and loved it. Location was good. The room was large and clean, the service was very good the staff was friendly. There was free WiFi.
The breakfast was very good with a good selection of fresh fruit, an omelet station and various hot dishes.
The Africanfusion restaurant on the grounds was a bonus, there was live music and some of the best Indian foods especially the Barbeque and the Biryani.
We will go back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Accessibility with private means is very easy
It offers free internet and i would grade it to mid-range hotel with fair price.
We tried out a new chinese dish at the Indian/Chinese restaurant, it was rather tasty and we were pleased with the favor.
I recommend it to travelers who do not want to go basic , but not for high end. There better places for this category of people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugandasafaris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked Fairway for a group of 5 (a triple room and a double room), and I would not say I was very impressed. While the grounds were very pretty (this was clearly quite a nice hotel in another decade) and the location was good, the rooms themselves were quite run down. It took about 25 minutes for the water to get hot (I actually called to get it repaired, which was how we discovered that if you just left it running for an obscene amount of time it worked), the beds were not very comfortable, and the internet was spotty. I also would be a bit concerned about security - I had $50 taken from an envelope of USD. At first I thought I must have misplaced it (even though it was there when I left the room, and not when I returned, and was the only $50 bill in an envelope of $20s, so I know I didn't just miscount), but I've heard from other travelers that it is actually quite a common tactic - someone will take just a little bit of money from a larger amount, because then you are less likely to report the theft, assuming it is just your mistake. I followed up with the hotel to ask about it and they never got back to me. They also tried to charge me a ridiculous exchange rate (substantially less advantageous than the one posted) when I tried to pay for my room in Ugandan shillings rather than USD.

In any case, the balconies were nice, the rooms were big, the location was good, but I would not recommend the Fairway Hotel - the security issues and spotty basics (internet and hot water) were really a problem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are clean and big. I was given a room with a balcony from where i can see the entrance of the hotel and the main road. It has a nice Indian restaurant attached to the hotel. We can walk up to shopping center (20 minutes walk from the hotel). The hotel offers internet connectivity and shuttle to the airport for cost. service charges are extra if payments are made through credit cards. It has trained and well mannered staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rduraikannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are honored that chose us to host you and delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality. We would be more than glad to host you again for your next visit to Uganda and provide you with even better services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#15 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing