We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average hotel as per per Kampala”
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Torn and worn out very old rooms , Nobody cares to refill toiletries , Breakfast is always terrible , only good thing is location and Indian food , which is provided in resturant ,

quite pricey at USD 95

Room Tip: try to take new rooms in new wing
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanju67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we truly value your opinion.
We are glad you chose to stay at our hotel and greatly apologize for not giving you will the excellent services you expected. We have forwarded your room and breakfast complaints to the respective departments in order for corrective measures to be taken immediately.
Looking forward to another chance to host you so you can experience the true and excellent African hospitality here at Fairway Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Fairway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 253 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed one night after returning from northern Uganda. Location was excellent -- near shopping center and yet relatively quiet location. The price was very good compared to other nearby hotels. The breakfast was fantastic with an omlette bar, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, breads, etc. Will stay here again when in Kampala. Staff is very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randy_howarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well maintained hotel considering how old it is, and the refurbished parts look great. Rooms are a good size, the staff are very friendly, and really tasty food at the Indian restaurant. Very central location, which is useful for getting around town, and is walking distance from Garden City and Nakumatt.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Maryam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

For an over 40yr hotel, this hotel is doing a great job!The gardens r very beautiful,the rooms are clean, staff are friendly and the food is amazing and yet it's at an affordable price.There's all this renovation goin on so i believe the hotel is only goin to get better! Will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We received a room with the door exiting onto the inner court yard where there was rubbish lying around... The room itself was not very pretty, yet clean, but very dark, especially the bathroom hardly had light. The staff was friendly, and the experience overall ok, but think it is way to expensive for what you're getting!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Good service, rooms not lavish but well maintained..helping staff..good indian food in restaurant..stayed for more than a month..other than minor glitches no complaints..you have to be a bit patient at times..but its definitely worth the rate charged

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yogesh_Gadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

first of all, great location..and I loved the spa.. other than that every thing was average, except for the price..What made my stay less enjoyable was the tv cable, which has only 3 channels and the cold swimming pool which gave me a nasty cold afterwards..

Room Tip: insist on lower floor rooms, as there is no elevator..we had to climb a flight of stairs every day t...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippa_sossagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 103 in Kampala
26 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 103 in Kampala
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $107 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing