We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice open place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice open place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Been to Uganda a few years ago, a lot of things have changed. This was my first time to the Fairway. It has a very nice reception and grounds, very open and serene. There are some beautiful fountains in the front courtyard and some nice art pieces around. They also have an art exhibition there every Saturday where local artists come and display their work, I got some good buys, prices are mostly fixed but they had a nice selection.

Rooms are a little dated but they are a decent size. I liked how the hallways faced the back gardens, i don't like hotels with dark stuffy halls.

The Breakfast room looked to be redone, they had some good cakes. The egg man was very friendly.

Overall not a bad place, especially for the price, i paid $95 for a single room

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    89
    44
    19
    16
See reviews for
11
23
19
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Upon arriving at the Fairway we realized that nothing they advertised on their website was to be found exactly as stated. We booked a triple room 2 weeks before the intended dates. When the front desk was showing us to our room I thought they were leading us into a prison cell rather than a hotel room. The hall ways were dark, damp, and under construction. We are volunteers from rural communities in the busoga reguon pf Uganda and we had trouble accepting this walk to our room. When we had finished braving the walk to our room we arrived at what can only be described as a rent-by-the-hour room. The beds sagged in the middle, the nets were brown with age, the fluorescent lights flickered for a solid 15 minutes before finally dying, and the bathroom looked worse than most staff bathrooms in restaurants I've used. There was not even a shower head, just a broken, hand held nozzle. If that werent bad enough, then there was the balcony that they so proudly advertised on their site. The balcony was on the bottom floor, so it would more properly be called a thrives access door. The view from our balcony was of the moldy walls encasing the Interior of the hotel and the broken fountain that looks as if it was stolen and placed there overnight as a joke. Worst of all was the food. Not only was it horrible, but it was over priced and the wait staff even tried to rip us off even more, claiming the prices had changed since we ordered. Don't go there. For te same price you can afford the trip to jinja and stay at one of their b&bs. 2 friends or surjios

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snawadn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Fairway for 3 years running now, usually at the beginning and end of charity work up country.

Always a warm welcome, we have got to know the owner and manager well now, in fact, in 2010 when Kampala was targetted by terrorists, we had booked the rugby club (subsequently bombed) for a closing ceremony for the end of a project, the manager at the Fairway stepped in and let us use his gardens (usually hired out for weddings) for free for our event.

The rooms are a little dated and the finish leaves a lot to be desired, but what do you expect? If you want luxury head for the Sheraton. The outside terrace restaurant serves THE best indian food I have tasted, the indoor restaurant not quite to so good, and considering Kampala has some of the best coffee shops (1000 cups) the coffee at the Fairway is dreadful and even the tea tastes like coffee.

I wouldnt stay anywhere else when visiting Kampala ....

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with balconies overlooking the city and outside terrace restaurant/bar, the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

It's inexpensive (for Kampala), the rooms are clean, the staff friendly and helpful, it's located near the UN and there's WiFi and a pool. What more do you really need? The main restaurant is a bit grim (too big and the food isn't fabulous) but the terrace Indian cafe is great and the food comes quickly.
WiFi is quite slow but reliable IF you get the right room.
Service is kind and helpful but can be slow. Don't expect anything done in a hurry. This is NOT New York.
Tip: Paying by credit or debit card incurs a mark-up so pay in cash if this is important to you.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has good internet access. Ask and check on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clownface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbarara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Looking for a room for a couple of day stay, I ended up at this hotel. The roomprice, so I was told, would be $85, too much for me so I told the staff I would leave. But sir, this includes meals. Quick thinking on my side, asking if the meals were really included so dinner and lunch? Yes sir...Ok, I decided to stay. Spent some nights and was ready for check out. Surprise! All meals appeared on my invoice. Of course reception told me that they never told me about full board. I asked to see a manager but the managers were still sleeping so I ended up paying the asked amount. However, I took a card with the hame of the general manager and decided to sent him an email. Two actually for I never got a response. Let's try here: Mr Azhar, please answer my email! (At least, this was the name reception gave me).
Concerning the rest of the stay: the food in the Indian/Chinese restaurant is very good and tast, very friendly waiters, attentive, fast. Breakfast is definitely not good: no variation, hardly choice, no sausages, good coffee. The room on the 4th floor was somehow very old and needs maintenance. Poor television, one leg of the bed broken, greasy blanket, bad shower....all just too unmaintained. The premises of the hotel could be ok but.....poor maintenance, very messy with all kinds of structures like out of order fountains, chairs with staff laundry, buckets and stuff everywhere. The pool looked clean, nice chairs, sleeping poolguy. Lockerrooms are a disgrace.
The bellboys at reception are a highlight, the askaris at the gate should wake up earlier to open for early departures.
All in all, $85 is far too much and I am still waiting for a reply on my complaint what I consider pretty rude. Coming again: I do not think so.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonesomecowboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

When you arrive at the hotel, you are greeted by one of the friendly Bellmen who will offer you a shot glass of chilled Orange juice while you check in. There are some local art sculptures and painting to admire within the tastefully designed lobby area and a row of paintings line the hallway leading to the Restaurant on the Third floor where a buffet breakfast is served. The rooms have balconies, some with a nice view of Kampala Golf Course and the Palm trees within the hotel Gardens. I discovered that the Suites reasonably priced at $125 all have this view and depending on availability, you might be able to reserve a single or double room with this same view. Single rooms are $86 and doubles $105 all inclusive of breakfast. For Lunch or Dinner, there is a restaurant/cafe on the first floor across the lobby entrance called the Garden Cafe, which serves excellent Chinese and Indian Food. The restaurant fills up fast on nights when they have a live band performing. And for a late night cocktail, ask one of the wait staff at the restaurant to direct you to the Ice Lounge bar, tucked away across from the Garden Cafe Restaurant.
There is a swimming pool, Gym with aerobics classes, sauna, and saloon. You may find that you don’t have to leave the hotel premise at all.

The closest shopping centre is called Garden City, which is within walking distance from the hotel or a short Taxi ride away. To purchase some African art, the Art and Crafts Village at the National Theatre and downtown Kampala are within a 10 minute drive from the hotel. However tempting it might be to walk after dark opt to take a taxi instead

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

For $86 a night, the hotel needs to up its game! It is unkempt with aging carpets, seats and beddings. I wonder when it was last renovated as it has several leaks along the corridors and the bathrooms are also very scary! The mattress was also very hard. Honestly, it was a disappointment and I doubt will ever go there again! Either the owners just dont care or they have cash flow problems hence are not able to do much but this would be a lame excuse either way...If the owners are reading this, they need to style up or Fairway will turn into a cheap lodging!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twistax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
2.0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#15 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing