We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate for a work trip”
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate for a work trip”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

It's inexpensive (for Kampala), the rooms are clean, the staff friendly and helpful, it's located near the UN and there's WiFi and a pool. What more do you really need? The main restaurant is a bit grim (too big and the food isn't fabulous) but the terrace Indian cafe is great and the food comes quickly.
WiFi is quite slow but reliable IF you get the right room.
Service is kind and helpful but can be slow. Don't expect anything done in a hurry. This is NOT New York.
Tip: Paying by credit or debit card incurs a mark-up so pay in cash if this is important to you.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has good internet access. Ask and check on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clownface10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    93
    44
    20
    17
See reviews for
11
23
21
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mbarara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Looking for a room for a couple of day stay, I ended up at this hotel. The roomprice, so I was told, would be $85, too much for me so I told the staff I would leave. But sir, this includes meals. Quick thinking on my side, asking if the meals were really included so dinner and lunch? Yes sir...Ok, I decided to stay. Spent some nights and was ready for check out. Surprise! All meals appeared on my invoice. Of course reception told me that they never told me about full board. I asked to see a manager but the managers were still sleeping so I ended up paying the asked amount. However, I took a card with the hame of the general manager and decided to sent him an email. Two actually for I never got a response. Let's try here: Mr Azhar, please answer my email! (At least, this was the name reception gave me).
Concerning the rest of the stay: the food in the Indian/Chinese restaurant is very good and tast, very friendly waiters, attentive, fast. Breakfast is definitely not good: no variation, hardly choice, no sausages, good coffee. The room on the 4th floor was somehow very old and needs maintenance. Poor television, one leg of the bed broken, greasy blanket, bad shower....all just too unmaintained. The premises of the hotel could be ok but.....poor maintenance, very messy with all kinds of structures like out of order fountains, chairs with staff laundry, buckets and stuff everywhere. The pool looked clean, nice chairs, sleeping poolguy. Lockerrooms are a disgrace.
The bellboys at reception are a highlight, the askaris at the gate should wake up earlier to open for early departures.
All in all, $85 is far too much and I am still waiting for a reply on my complaint what I consider pretty rude. Coming again: I do not think so.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonesomecowboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

When you arrive at the hotel, you are greeted by one of the friendly Bellmen who will offer you a shot glass of chilled Orange juice while you check in. There are some local art sculptures and painting to admire within the tastefully designed lobby area and a row of paintings line the hallway leading to the Restaurant on the Third floor where a buffet breakfast is served. The rooms have balconies, some with a nice view of Kampala Golf Course and the Palm trees within the hotel Gardens. I discovered that the Suites reasonably priced at $125 all have this view and depending on availability, you might be able to reserve a single or double room with this same view. Single rooms are $86 and doubles $105 all inclusive of breakfast. For Lunch or Dinner, there is a restaurant/cafe on the first floor across the lobby entrance called the Garden Cafe, which serves excellent Chinese and Indian Food. The restaurant fills up fast on nights when they have a live band performing. And for a late night cocktail, ask one of the wait staff at the restaurant to direct you to the Ice Lounge bar, tucked away across from the Garden Cafe Restaurant.
There is a swimming pool, Gym with aerobics classes, sauna, and saloon. You may find that you don’t have to leave the hotel premise at all.

The closest shopping centre is called Garden City, which is within walking distance from the hotel or a short Taxi ride away. To purchase some African art, the Art and Crafts Village at the National Theatre and downtown Kampala are within a 10 minute drive from the hotel. However tempting it might be to walk after dark opt to take a taxi instead

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

For $86 a night, the hotel needs to up its game! It is unkempt with aging carpets, seats and beddings. I wonder when it was last renovated as it has several leaks along the corridors and the bathrooms are also very scary! The mattress was also very hard. Honestly, it was a disappointment and I doubt will ever go there again! Either the owners just dont care or they have cash flow problems hence are not able to do much but this would be a lame excuse either way...If the owners are reading this, they need to style up or Fairway will turn into a cheap lodging!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twistax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I recently went on holiday in East Africa and stayed at the Fairway while I was in Kampala, Uganda. It was an excellent resort to stay at while I was visiting the various attractions the city and it's suberbs had to offer. The staevnff were very hospitable and the food was great! I very much enjoyed my stay at the Fairway, with its picturesque views of the warm African sun waking me up in the morning to the various ammenities in their refreshing pool and complementary trainers at their gym. The rooms were also very nice, fully equiped with fridges, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, balcony's and even mosquito nets should the need arise. The entertainment at the Fairway was a beutiful insight into authentic African culture and was loads of fun to sing, drink, eat and dance to! While I was there working out in the gym I was even able to watch a wedding cerimony which the hotel had catored and set up for the geuests. It was simply beutiful. The hotel's on sight massage therapists were also very well trained and extremely accomodating, a feature I took full advantage of during my rest and relaxation stay at the Fairway. I intend to return to Africa many times over the years to come and can say without hesitation that I will be staying at the Fairway.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel I found have an amazing sunrise unlike any other I have seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ismail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I loved my stay at fairway hotel. The price was amazing for what you get. The last time i stayed here was a couple of years ago, and in that time it has absolutely transformed. The new design and construction has made it truly the best bang for your buck in kampala. I found the staff were always helpful and friendly. The food was exquisite! The chicken lollipops at the garden cafe are a must try. As well you cannot beat their location. You can walk or hop on a boda and be wherever you want in a matter of minutes. Had a great stay i highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have been staying at the Fairway , 2 weeks at a time , twice a year for 17 years, I have never stayed in a more friendly hotel anywhere in the world. It may be a little old fashioned but that is the charm of the place, it is not pretending to be something it isn't, it is a wonderful African hotel

Room Tip: Any room facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainRevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 101 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Property: Fairway Hotel
Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing