We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable Breakfast!”
Review of Fairway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairway Hotel
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a little over two weeks in June to early July 2011.
Everything was ok (not great but ok) except breakfast. The breakfast was so miserable. This is the first time that I have stayed in a hotel where they do not provide sausages, bacon and boiled eggs or different types of bread. Overall, there was hardly any choice at breakfast for fruits, hot food and drinks. On most mornings, they provided baked beans and boiled bananas (called matoke in Uganda). They often spoiled our mornings.
Very disappoined indeed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enersto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Since I was travelling alone, I had pre booked the hotel on line and when I arrived at Entebbe Airport, Hotel Shuttle was waiting for my arrival. When we arrived at the Hotel in Kampala, front desk staff were nice and the room was clean. The price also includes breakfast.
On my arrival I was not feeling well and all the staff from the Managing Director to the Bell Boy – Joseph, checked to make sure that I was ok. I ordered food from room serve and also eat at the restaurant on site. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to Kampala

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anni2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Excellent location, clean, very friendly staff, great food and recently renovated. I really enjoyed my stay at the Fairway and I am confident you would too!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amykassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed here for couple of nights. A budget class hotel. A dull, lousy atmosphere.
Although the staff and management were helpful, the services generally are very poor. Poor choice of food in Restaurant too. Most appalling was the sight of giant cockroaches in the bathrooms. When reported this to the management, they would send a member of staff who would pick the cockroach and take it out of the room.

Poor on health and safety issues.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reviews-by-MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

The staff were very friendly. Rooms are fairly run down but clean. Location is great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shiroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Conveniently located close to the city centre but not in it. The rooms on the back side, with sit out area look out on an enclosed garden area. Good size rooms , clean, internet at reasonable cost. Friendly & helpful staff.

You can eat at the in house restaurant if stuck in the hotel. The garden restaurant has people coming in for an evening out.

Renovation work - hotel lobby in progress.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikramMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed at the Fairway hotel for several weeks this year.
We negotiated a low rate with management and it was well worth what we paid. Everyone was incredibly nice and we always felt safe. The room and bathroom were older but comfortable. A/C. Large balcony. King size bed. Food was great. Location is awesome.
The negatives we ran into were that the cleaning staff started cleaning EARLY in the AM were not quiet, so if you're trying to sleep in forget it. Also, there were often parties being held on the weekend next door and it was quite noisy. There was nothing the hotel could do as it was not on their property but it didn't cause some trouble sleeping a couple of times. We had trouble with our water heater several times but the staff always got it fixed. Rooms and bathrooms could use updates for sure, but it is a clean, safe place to stay in a great location, with good food. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaitiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 107 in Kampala
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 107 in Kampala
221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#24 of 107 in Kampala
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#22 of 107 in Kampala
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $83 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing