We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and healthy atmoshere”
Review of Hotel Africana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Africana
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and healthy atmoshere”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I am staying in Africana hotel for the past 2 months and that prompted me to write some comments on the hotel.First of all this hotel is located in the heart of the Kampala city and the hotel has got very good ambiance.F & B service is excellent and room service as well.Food served in hotel is very good and tasty .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajashekhar_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    72
    64
    31
    8
See reviews for
6
15
21
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed recently at the Hotel Africana in Kampala city on the 9th floor facing the pool. We could get clear views of the western part of the city from the hotel, but it was quite noisy and hence we couldnt keep the french windows open. The curtains were badly hung and they kept coming off the hooks. The mosquito nets in the room are merely fashionable and seem to have lot of holes in them.

The staff are quite warm and are eager for comments that can help them improve.

The breakfast spread that comes free with the room is not very impressive but not bad either. We stayed for two days and both days there were quite a few veggie dishes. They ran out of papaya on both days. We asked the waitress to make some coffee for us and we realised that was a mistake - she made milk coffee so dark we could hardly drink it.

The a-la-carte menu lacks choice and there is hardly anything to eat except pizzas which one can get cheaper at the pizza corner at Oasis Mall round the corner from the hotel.

The lift from the main lobby works only till the third floor and the other elevator to the rest of the floors is on the other end of the corridor totally hidden from view. The elevators stink of old carpets.

In the email when booking the room they had said $50 for airport pick up and return but only after reaching here did we know it was $50 per person and it was a shuttle service which hardly had any space for our luggage.

The lady at the reception made a mistake with charges for the airport pick up but she rectified it when it was pointed out.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor and above have good views especially on the western side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSeetharaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been impressed by Hotel Africana's staff courtesy which went beyond to ensure that the workshop that we had was well accomodated. For example, we didnt inform them of the changes in numbers which was over 25% increase but they ensured that all the participants got lunch...I must say that if you really need accomodative services, Hotel Africana is the place...Kudos to the staff!!!!!!! Josephine N. , Kampala

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had never stayed at Hotel Africana before and only stayed there because my favorite hotel was fully booked. Upon arriving at the airport, I was requested by the pick up guy to wait at the Hotel Africana's airport Lounge as there was another guest from my flight going to the same hotel. I had not even sat for 2 minutes when a huge cockroach fell on me! Well, I thought that was just it only for me to be welcomed by another cockroach in my room's bathroom. The hotel's management seems to have forgotten that they need to keep investing in it to keep the standards up. For $120 per night, Hotel Africana should do much more. Whether they'll change or not, I guess I will get never to find out as I am never going back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twistax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Africana several times recently on business.

The hotel is big, with relatively few elevators/lifts and extremely long corridors.

The rooms are large and spacious, with a mosquito-netting curtain that surrounds the entire bed.

The hotel feels very outdated and fraying around the edges, but retains some charm.

The restaurant, on the other hand, is best avoided: the food there was among the worst hotel restaurant food I've had in Eastern Africa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flensdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rooms are spacious but old. Spend five nights in three periods there during last 1,5 weeks, three different rooms. Safety didn't work in any of the three rooms. Cleanliness - pretty okay, nothing special. Small insects in room number 601. Had to call many times to room service to get my laundry done. Restaurant - you cannot eat here, because they don't have everything on the list, and making a dinner for maximum 8 people takes over an hour. Soups are watery. People in front desk are pretty okay, but for example gave a wrong room number and the key to another customers room. Both were quite surprises - the resident and a person from our group. Felt a bit unsafety after this kind of experience. The keys were deactivated regularly, so you needed to run to the reception to open the door. In the hotel there were big parties during our stay. The music ended by 3 o'clock. Those were long hours, to wait to get some sleep. I am sure there are better choises in Kampala.

Room Tip: The rooms facing to conference center are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This seems to be primarily a conference venue. From that standpoint, it's adequate. Meeting rooms are adequate by East African standards, conference service is poor to average. But you really don’t want to stay in the hotel. The rooms are survivable, but run-down. The service is terrible. The restaurant can barely manage to serve dinner, with food that is edible at best. I was required to pay for my entire stay in advance, with no recourse if the room was not satisfactory. The entire complex feels institutional, almost prison-like. I’d rather choose a decent hotel and commute through Kampala’s awful traffic than stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 100 in Kampala
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.9 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
4.8 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 100 in Kampala
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Metropole Hotel Kampala
#24 of 100 in Kampala
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Africana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Africana

Property: Hotel Africana
Address: Plot 2-4 Wampewo Avenue | P.O. Box 10218, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Africana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Africana is Uganda 's Premier luxury Hotel. The hotel has over 14 fully furnished well air-conditioned conference halls with seating capacities ranging from 20 - 3000 participants. Our Venue can provide seating for over 2500 people, making it ideal for conferencing, workshops, mega wedding receptions, exhibitions and concerts. Hotel Guests receives access to health facilities including Gym, Massage, Sauna, Swimming Pool, Steam Bath & access to famous kampala Golf club. Hotel Africana offers weekend entertainment featuring live popular bands and pulsating traditional dance music shows along with repeat live performance from our pianist. With option of Ngeye & Kibs restaurant, our gusts can enjoy variety of dishes, freshly made by our experienced chefs. Our coffee shop & live bakery provides enough ways to enjoy uganda coffee beans along with cakes & breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africana Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing