We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great staff, buildings need a serious refurb!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Africana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Africana
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Kampala
Virginia
Level Contributor
342 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great staff, buildings need a serious refurb!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

It's hard for me to write a negative review about Hotel Africana since I feel so strongly that they have one of the best staff out there.

Each person from the bell hops to the front desk to the swimming pool treats you like a valued guest and a special person. I can't count how many times I was asked, "Is everything to your liking? Is there anything we can do?"

Unfortunately, it's an old hotel in need of a lot of TLC. The decor would be very attractive... if it were 1976. The carpet is worn, the fixtures are falling off, and the wall tiles and flooring need a total overhaul. There was also only one working elevator, which took forever.

The room had a tiny old TV that only got about 5 or 6 channels. The close the gate to the first floor elevator at 7pm each night which is super weird since they don't warn you. If you go from dinner to your room, you need to go up to the second floor, walk the length of the hotel and take the elevator from there. Strange.

It's quite loud on weekends. I would not stay here again unless I knew I would have an 8th floor room or higher. On my second stay I was on the 11th floor, which was good enough to avoid the thumping bass and party-goers in the event center.

The WiFi is incredibly inconsistent. It would go on and off all the time and there were plenty of dead spots. Including the entire 11th floor. I would just pretend that it is not supposed to have WiFi and be pleasantly surprised if you caught it working.

The dinner buffet was seriously lacking and is incredibly overpriced. The garden restaurant is much better. They have great samosas and pretty good strip steak. Breakfast buffet is sufficient with fresh fruit, great omelet station, coffee, tea, passion juice, potatoes, baked beans, local Ugandan dishes.

The room A/C unit was a bit tricky as the remote was in Chinese. My second room had one in English, but the unit didn't cool the room sufficiently.

I haven't stayed in any other hotels in Kampala, so I can't say for sure that others in this price range are any better.

Room Tip: Definitely above the 8th floor due to noise! The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manilapacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    66
    55
    23
    8
See reviews for
6
15
19
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is a large busy hotel with spacious, well furnished and clean rooms.

As previous reviewers have said, the hotel is popular for weddings and conferences, with music in the gardens going on well into the night. We had a room on the 11th floor of the tower block which really helped as the noise was far below us, so with the balcony doors closed during the night it didn't cause too much of a problem. I think if you are on one of the lower floors you might need to pack ear plugs...

Another benefit of being higher up is the view of Kampala - fantastic to wake up to!

We didn't have dinner there (instead we went to one of the restaurants in the gardens next to the hotel) so I can't comment on that but breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms higher up in the tower block - these are newly refurbished (I think), clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DL09UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

While the rest of Hotel Africana is on the tired side, the rooms are beautifully furnished, spacious, clean and comfortable. There is a mosquito net curtain around the bed which gives a wonderful feel. The views are great, you can see right across Kampala and see the traffic jams in the morning and the city lights by night.

The only negatives at this hotel are noise and the food. Sound carries and if you are a light sleeper or are disturbed by noise, you may want to avoid it on Saturday night when the noise from nearby party spots will disturb. I was also a bit disappointed by the food which was below average and expensive.

However, right next door is Centenary Park which hosts 4-5 garden restaurants and I'd suggest travellers go there to eat because the options are good and you'll pay less than at the hotel.

The rooms, however, are the real sale point.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZimKait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja, Uganda
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms are spacious and clean. Room service is good and the customer service is wonderful. However, the noise can be deafening. I happened to go on a weekend where there was some sort of party or conference. No sleep for the weary. Music blared until almost 5am. It would be nice if the informed guests while they are booking that there will be something like that. I went for a rest but ended up being more exhausted when I left.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilingDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

The Hotel is near to the Market, its OLD and have a Unique smell....

The Staff are friendly , the food is the best you can have in Africa (Banan's are in any dish !).

You need to have something for the Mosquitoes !!!

Enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlAAZAGHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Its a well desined Hoter,with good cairing staffmembers,fair price good sweemingpool,
good cervices,conference rooms good and good food too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namukasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is a good hotel with fantastic staff that go out of their way to please. When I asked for a place to cut my hair, the lady at the reception came out and took me to the hotel's hairdresser. Then, during our three-day conference, I asked for many things to be moved around, for taxis, laundry, food that was not in the menu, etc. and all my demands were met and with a smile.
Will stay there again for sure in March 2011.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicanPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
0.8 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#13 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
1.1 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Africana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Africana

Property: Hotel Africana
Address: Plot 2-4 Wampewo Avenue | P.O. Box 10218, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Africana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Africana is Uganda 's Premier luxury Hotel. The hotel has over 14 fully furnished well air-conditioned conference halls with seating capacities ranging from 20 - 3000 participants. Our Venue can provide seating for over 2500 people, making it ideal for conferencing, workshops, mega wedding receptions, exhibitions and concerts. Hotel Guests receives access to health facilities including Gym, Massage, Sauna, Swimming Pool, Steam Bath & access to famous kampala Golf club. Hotel Africana offers weekend entertainment featuring live popular bands and pulsating traditional dance music shows along with repeat live performance from our pianist. With option of Ngeye & Kibs restaurant, our gusts can enjoy variety of dishes, freshly made by our experienced chefs. Our coffee shop & live bakery provides enough ways to enjoy uganda coffee beans along with cakes & breads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Africana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africana Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing