We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
Nearby Hotels
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Suites(Kampala)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
$189
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$56
$49
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$103
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
5
18
11
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
18
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet gardenother hotelsmosquito netfredbathcorridortvfacilitiesinternetusd
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 40 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have come to this hotel for about the past 4 years; I wouldn't think of going to any other! The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive. You get a big welcome here and the rooms are really clean and comfortable; the showers are great!. For breakfast there is a great choice, its really good food and you can see the food being prepared. The amenities are good here as is the location.
I can not recommend this hotel enough; if you are looking for a great, friendly, clean place to stay, then I'd book this place today!

Room Tip: Many rooms have A/C
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Rooms are basic but clean. I stayed here on two occasions, each for over one week. pretty little garden, pleasant staff, never had a mosquito problem. Yes there are openings at the top of the bathroom wall adjoining the outside corridor that treats any passer-by to the sound of your ablutions - but not the big problem alluded to in earlier reports. Very convenient location. Use of Kampala club facilities permitted including bar- but pay attention to dress code (esp females) as it maintains the traditions of colonial days gone-by albeit with 100% Ugandan membership these days. My biggest criticism is the breakfast (yes I know it's free) which is sparse in variety and clearly provided on a meagre budget. If I could recommend one change it would be to spend a little more on free-range eggs as opposed to the industrial grade battery eggs where the yolk is almost indistinguishable in colour from the white. otherwise no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeadowStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shangri2013, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

We are happy that our guests appreciate the services that we offer to them, and when ever there has been some loopholes, we have tried to close it.

The Uganda market is filled with eggs with the white York and yellow are scarce,

Breakfast is not on budget really, our hotel is small it has got only 13 rooms we just try to provide what is enough for the 15 rooms,
If the guest have special item he/she wants can also be provided as long as you inform our receptionist on time.

thanks
fred
for the managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Not wishing to spend $180+ per night (Sheraton et al), I happily spent several weeks here in 2013, having earlier tried various other hotels in the centre of town (including the cheaper but somewhat charmless nearby Mosa Court). It's like a dormy house within the precincts of the Kampala Club, with just 12 rooms on two floors, possibly conceived originally as a place where upcountry members could spend the weekend on visits to the city. It's right in the centre of the city, opposite the entrance to the Sheraton, and within walking distance of a number of restaurants.

The rooms are reasonably spacious and well equipped, with good desk space and free wi-fi, and the window netting does a good job of keeping out any night-time mosquitos. The bathrooms have a full size bath.

What makes the difference though is the charming and unassuming welcome offered by Fred the manager and all his colleagues, together with the extraordinary cleanliness of the place - never have I witnessed room maids mop, scrub and dust more scrupulously anywhere! And the free laundry service is a useful bonus.

A bit of investment in refurbishment would certainly do no harm - some windows don't shut and flap about in the wind, and the odours that occasionally invade the corridors from the bathroom windows are two issues that need to be addressed.

Breakfast in the garden is a very pleasant way to start the day, with an adequate choice of fresh fruits, egg dishes etc. Hotel guests have access to many of the Kampala Club facilities, including the cheapest bar in town and the swimming pool. The Chinese restaurant on the premises is cheap and not good (the Khyber Pass Indian restaurant at the Speke Hotel, a short walk away through the Sheraton grounds is excellent; the Sheraton pretty indifferent).

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 are under the noisy electric water pump that comes on as soon as anyone uses a tap
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a small hotel very centrally located in Kampala. Although the hotel itself has very limited facilities gusts can use the Kampala Club, which it shares the site with, this gives access to the club bar, pool anf fitness facilities. The only restaurant available is th Shanghai Chinese, exceptionally good value but a little monotonous after a couple of weeks. Rooms are comfortable and excepionally clean. The staff are very friendly and frankly make the place. Breakfast in the garden is excellent as is the free laundry service.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms at the far end of either the ground or first floors
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourismplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I had stayed twice in this hotel. On my second trip i noticed they upgraded the rooms with New AC and new showers. Usual breakfast near lawn garden is refreshing in the morning. Laundry and Wifi is free. Also can use their computer and printers free. Staff was helpful. They have a Chinese restaurant and tired once. overall, its worth for the money they offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malgudiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews